$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
View map of Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cchamb
Couples
Orlando, FL, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Good location and room for the price, but the amentities need improvement

I just got back from a 5 night stay at the illusion boutique hotel in playa del carmen and stayed in the luxury rooftop room. The staff was very friendly and helpful and our room was nice and spacious. We were on the top floor so our glass door opened to the patio which had suntanning chairs and a small pool. If it weren't for the room i probably would have given this hotel a worse review, but since it was big and had the large bed, futon, refrigerator and microwave i was happy with my hotel choice. Other than the room, the pool was small and was only 2 feet deep, they claim to have a bar (which they do) but it is not open yet so there is no one working at it and there is no option to buy drinks or food. the breakfast was small and was nothing more than a loaf of bread for toast, a fruit plate, and sometimes small boxes of cereal or yogurt. for the extra 8 or so dollars per day per person it is definitely not worth it. They do have wireless internet throughout the hotel which is nice and they have a computer next to the lobby for public use but it is old so do not expect to be able to do anything other than surf the internet. The staff and location were both great. the hotel is right on the corner of 8th street and 5th ave which is right in the middle of everything going on. Overall, the location and staff were both great but the hotel has a lot of things missing that would have made our stay much more enjoyable. if you are looking for nothing more than a decent room to stay in without spending a lot of money then i would recommend this hotel if you are planning on booking a luxury rooftop room. otherwise, if you want a hotel with additional amenities i would keep looking even if it means staying in a nicer hotel but getting a standard room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to eat at restaraunts or buy from shops that are a little off of 5th ave instead of directly on 5th ave. The price drops significantly and you will get much more for your money in almost anything you are planning on buying.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seasoned Playa Traveler
Couples
Minneapolis MN
Feb 21, 2010

Adequate but their showers could use hel

Staff was very friendly. Great location. Rooms were very clean. The shower preasure was weak and the water was either very cold or very hot. It was tought to find warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mamie HV
Couples
Canada
Mar 18, 2010

Nice location

Very good location, nice staff, breakfast not so bad: toast with strawberry jam, coffee and orange juice. The bed was very hard. I'm not sure if i'll return there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Dallas, TX
May 26, 2009

Ok, but not again

There was no complimentary breafast or even coffee. When I asked about it, they looked at me like I was crazy. It was just a room stay in. Nothing more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
snewt
Friends
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2009

Not the relaxing beach stay expected

Behind the desk was an aggressive real estate lady who literally hounded us every time we walked by the desk to go on a "free" trip in exchange for attending a time share meeting. Luckily, we had been forewarned about these events, as we heard it was a nightmare. This woman would not take NO for an answer. So it literally was uncomfortable to pick up and leave our key every time we left the hotel. Also, the pool was small and not a real pool...maybe a wading pool, about 4 times the size of a bathtub. The images on Orbitz and their website are misleading by the way they are shot. The "complimentary" cocktail is a can of beer. Our chain lock on the door was also broken, but I felt safe since it was a loud/happening part of town. The other thing we did not realize is that beachfront is allocated to hotels and this particular hotel is in front of a part of the beach that is rocky and hard to swim at, whereas there were lots of other beachfronts surrounding/hotel sections that did not have this issue. Also, no parking with this hotel was a big hassle the first night we arrived, probably try to arrive in daylight if you are coming by car and staying here. Overall, I would not recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Dallas, TX
Nov 26, 2010

The Illusion is an Illusion

First of all, there is not a restaurant. The breakfast is coffee, juice and pastries at a bistro table. That is it. There is not an ice machine working at this time. Rooms were clean. Walls are paper thin and I mean paper thin. You have to have a key in a lock on the wall to have the electricity on in the room. Not really a problem except one day my girlfriend did not feel good and since they will only give you one key, I either had to have someone at the front desk go unlock the door or I had to knock & wake her up. The hotel was not full but ran out of beach towels several times. The internet does not work very well so wifi is unpredictable at this property. Overall the biggest problem for us is there is just nothing here other than a room and for the money, we could have stayed where there is at least some excitement

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New York, NY
Sep 25, 2009

Where were the amenities?

This hotel had potential. It was in a great location near restaurants and shops and less than a block from the beach...but it went downhill from there. All of the amenities listed on the Orbitz site were either lacking or non-existent. The pool on the roof was tiny and dirty because the filter was never turned on. Yes there was a poolside bar, but it was empty and there was never any staff there to serve anyone. Restaurant?? none. Spa?? none. Room Service?? none. Internet?? yes...there was one computer in the non-air-conditioned lobby. My room was bleak with no furniture except a rattan tv stand. There wasn't even a chair to sit in. As for security...I never saw anyone. In fact we saw guests go behind the desk in the lobby to get their own keys to their rooms when there was no one manning the desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top