$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
View map of Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jlooney
Business
St. Louis, MO
Dec 14, 2009

Loved it...

I loved the Illusion. It's location is perfect - we walked the 30-50yds to the beach and rented amazingly comfortable beds from the Mosquito Beach people. The only minor thing is the pool - it's tiny. I mean really, really small and only 2 ft deep. But we didn't go to Mexico to lay by a pool so not really a big deal. For the price we paid this was an amazing trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germany
Dec 16, 2009

Nice Hotel for a good price

There is not many to say. The Hotel and the rooms were clean, not the best location but very near to the beach. The Continental Breakfrast was not realy Continental, only a bit bad bread, a little bit of jam, one cup of coffee and juice. The Staff were friendly. Check in not possible before 3:00 o clock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DWO
Business
Houston, TX and Villahermosa, MX
Oct 27, 2009

Great Stay

Great Place! Excellent Staff! Very Helpful! Perfect Location for cost! Will Return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go have a meal on the beach! It is a very short walk and the staff at the surrounding hotels, resturants and bars were very friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RomanticGetaway
Business
Providence, RI
Aug 18, 2009

Clean, Simple, Friendly

Hotel staff is friendly and keep the rooms very clean. Location is fantastic, out the door one direction leads directly to the beach and to the center of the main strip in the other. Each is a (literally) 30 second walk. Pool is small but relaxing. Lacks in ameneties (we did go late in the season, mid august). No bartender at the pool, no fitness center. Its basically just a room, but thats all you will need in this area!! Overall a fantastic experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Barter! You'll wish you brought back more tequila.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will Travel to Dive
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 2, 2009

Great 3Star Hotel

Location is great, walk 20 steps inland to the pedestrian street so you have total convenience without the noise or traffic. Or walk 20 steps toward the ocean and you hit the beach. Room was spacious and comfortable. The furniture wasn't fancy but everything was clean. All the staff were very friendly. Just don't go there for the pool. It's pretty small. But with gorgeous warm, clean blue water next door you don't need the pool. A great bonus we didn't know about til we got there was that you get a voucher each day to use beach beds and canopies on the beach, right at the edge of the lapping waves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Frutiyogurth is a great place to take a break from tacos and tortas. They've got great fresh fruit shakes and salads that are a little lighter fare to balance the meat and tortilla you get at other local places. Most of the people that go there are locals. The price is low and the quality is high. on Avenida 10 Norte between Calle 8 and 10. And if you are there to scuba dive we highly recommend Scuba 10. Gerardo just opened the shop in June and he's experienced, skilled, and very friendly. He caters the dives to your interests and makes your having fun his personal mission, especially in the cenotes. He's on Avenida 10 Norte between Calle 10 and 12.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PV vacationer
Business
Shelton Washington
May 2, 2009

Playa Del Carmen

Our hotel was in a perfect location in Playa Del Carmen, we were 1/2 block from the beach and a 1/2 block from 5th street. The staff at the Illusions hotel are very helpful with helping us make arrangements for tours and where to eat,[...]is a good source of information, he also helped us make reservations for our aniversary dinner. We were there for 14 nights each day we had a different towel arrangement on our bed when we returned to our room. The pool on the roof is small and not very deep, however it was relaxing,very few other hotel guests used the pool area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 27, 2007

great location

Excellent location. Perfect if you are planning no rental car. Nice staff and good breakfast. Rooms are clean but most don't have outside windows, they face the inside patio or hallways. A good place to enjoy Playa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A nice Italian mediterranean restaurant, great food and service. Also an independent coffe place on 5th, great fresh bread.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PDC fan for life
Business
Los Angeles (SFV), California
Jul 29, 2014

Nice place with a good location

Good location, 50 steps to Quinta Avenidai (5th Ave.), 90 steps to the Beach, between Fusion Beach Hotel and Mosquito Beach Hotel on 8 Calle. The room is nice, didn't have the best view on the balcony. The staff wanted to move us when there was a chance but my wife was fine and didn't want to move. We have a select number bed at home so the mattress here felt hard for us. There's a futon bed in the room, so we placed that mattress on top of the hard one and we were fine. All the staff is very welcoming and nice and helpful. Special thanks to Jorge, Saul and David at the front desk, and Ignacio the bartender at the pool (small cute pool upstairs), they made our stay here very satisfying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarkN
Business
Mexico D F
Nov 3, 2014

Close to the beach

Best bit is the location, close to the beach and the main street, bus station and ferry terminal. No parking though if you come with a car. Nice rooftop pool and rooms are good, although a bit pricey for what you get. The adults only title may seem like it is something different!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah1126
Business
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Nov 19, 2014

Exactly what I was hoping for and more

The staff at Illusion were very helpful and willing to meet our requests. The rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable, we didn't spend a ton of time in the room anyway. The hotel inner garden is just lovely and there is also a small pool on the rooftop with an ocean view. The location is what made this hotel so fantastic. We are less than a block from the beach and from 5th Avenue so we were able to walk everywhere! I would absolutely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't use the ATMs on 5th or worry about having US dollars, yup save money using pesos and the best rate to pull them out is at the bank on 8th and 10th right up the street from the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top