$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
88 reviews
pleasantly Suprised

It was great! we will tell friends and family and will return, the staff especially the front desk... See full review

  • Grandma Ruth
  • May 22, 2014
Hotel is like a dream!

Wow. From first walking in the door we were completely amazed. Concierge provides cool towels and... See full review

  • Matt Oz
  • Apr 7, 2014
Small Playa del Carmen hotel with inner courtyard, rooftop pool
The Illusion Boutique Hotel is located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story, 41-suite beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests, a rooftop freshwater swimming pool and sunbathing area and poolside bar.
Highlights:
  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
Rooms:

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Features:

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. Relaxing is easy with a massage in the spa, overlooking the ocean. The rooftop dipping pool deck is another favorite relaxation spot at Illusions Boutique Hotel.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)
Business­
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available

Hotel Map

20.6256 -87.0724
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, Isla Mujeres, Cancun, Xcaret, Xplor, Xelha, Tulum, Puerto Aventuras, Playacar.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes.
Area description
Located in the heart of the cosmopolitan Playa del Carmen, at the intersection of the famous "Quinta Avenida" Fifth Avenue and 8th Street North, both a packed with upscale fashionable stores, boutiques, cafes and restaurants bars. * A few yards from the pristine sand beach and turquoise sea waters. * In the entertainment district. * Full-service health spa in walking distance. * Close to Banks and ATM machines. * Nearby the most popular walking shopping street "5th Avenue".

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only Rooms

Mirage
330 sq. ft. 1 king size bed or 2 queen beds available upon request, window, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Mirage with Balcony
330 sq. ft. with 1 king bed, balcony 5th Avenue view or ocean view, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Prestige
426 sq. ft. with 1 king bed and a convertible futon, terrace, pool and ocean view, high-speed Internet, 20" TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan, wake up calls on request, microwave oven and coffee maker.
Cabana Vision
Each room is decorated uniquely with a flare of Indonesian furniture. The 5th floor offers 440 sqft luxury rooms with a king size bed, spacious terrace and solarium with wet bar and pool only a few steps away. Enjoy the privacy and breath taking partial ocean view. Large sliding glass doors for you to embrace the Caribbean. All guestrooms have remote control A/C, ceiling fan, 20" TV with remote control, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, VOIP phone, radio clock/Ipod base, in room safe, mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities. High speed internet access is also available

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
May 26, 2009

Ok, but not again

There was no complimentary breafast or even coffee. When I asked about it, they looked at me like I was crazy. It was just a room stay in. Nothing more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PV vacationer
Business
Shelton Washington
May 2, 2009

Playa Del Carmen

Our hotel was in a perfect location in Playa Del Carmen, we were 1/2 block from the beach and a 1/2 block from 5th street. The staff at the Illusions hotel are very helpful with helping us make arrangements for tours and where to eat,[...]is a good source of information, he also helped us make reservations for our aniversary dinner. We were there for 14 nights each day we had a different towel arrangement on our bed when we returned to our room. The pool on the roof is small and not very deep, however it was relaxing,very few other hotel guests used the pool area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
snewt
Business
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2009

Not the relaxing beach stay expected

Behind the desk was an aggressive real estate lady who literally hounded us every time we walked by the desk to go on a "free" trip in exchange for attending a time share meeting. Luckily, we had been forewarned about these events, as we heard it was a nightmare. This woman would not take NO for an answer. So it literally was uncomfortable to pick up and leave our key every time we left the hotel. Also, the pool was small and not a real pool...maybe a wading pool, about 4 times the size of a bathtub. The images on Orbitz and their website are misleading by the way they are shot. The "complimentary" cocktail is a can of beer. Our chain lock on the door was also broken, but I felt safe since it was a loud/happening part of town. The other thing we did not realize is that beachfront is allocated to hotels and this particular hotel is in front of a part of the beach that is rocky and hard to swim at, whereas there were lots of other beachfronts surrounding/hotel sections that did not have this issue. Also, no parking with this hotel was a big hassle the first night we arrived, probably try to arrive in daylight if you are coming by car and staying here. Overall, I would not recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington, dc
Mar 3, 2009

Can't wait to go back!

I stayed at the Illusion for all 10 days of my trip to Playa with my boyfriend based on orbitz reviews and glad I did. I strolled past several of the other places I had considered and they definitely lacked the location, comfort, service and rooftop pool offered at Illusion. I was greeted by Cesar upon arrival , check in was easy, $50 deposit and away we were. [...] works the desk at night and very helpful. We also took advantage of the $30 massages. I think everyone should be aware that the first week of January is a House music festival and you can definitely hear the street/club music depending on your location. Also, for first timers, there is a comfortable bus shuttle from the airport to playa for $9 per person. or you can take a shared van for $28 per person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cave Junction
Dec 22, 2008

Friendly and Quiet

The Illusion Boutique Hotel in Playa is in an excellent location for all of Playa's activities. It is a very short walk to the beach, and close to the ferry terminal (to Cozumel). Even though it is centrally located, the rooms are quiet and comfortable. The hotel is nicely decorated and has a roof top terrace with bar and pool. The roof top provides a wonderful view of the ocean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I will stay at the Illuision Boutique when I return to Playa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

located right off 5th avenue where all the shops and dining are.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kelowna
Oct 18, 2008

Far Exceeded Expectations !

The Illusion Boutique was everything & more ! The hosts...genuine & welcoming to the extreme ! Room was fastidiously clean at all times...Roof top pool/lounge area offered wonderful ambience & amazing views...Never crowded....Just steps to phenomenal beaches & all the action on the famous Quinta Avienda shopping area...Loved everything about The Illusion & wouldn't hesitate to return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Favorite new hang-out on the beach @ Fusion...great bar/dining establishment on 6th...Great food ! Great service ! Prices more than reasonable & a live Reggae band most of the week...Just get there early to grab the prime tables right in the sand & watch the surf come in ! An absolute postcard setting !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin
Sep 4, 2008

Lovely boutique hotel

The Illusion Hotel was wonderful. The rooms were spacious, the water and a/c worked well, the rooftop terrace was beautiful. There were only a few people in the hotel (due to hurricane season and a bad economy) and the front desk had my dinner delivered up to the rooftop terrace so I could watch the sunset. The food at the restaurant was very tasty and reasonably priced. The only problem I had was when I asked to check out late (at 2 p.m., rather than noon). They tried to charge me $20 extra to stay 2 more hours-- and there were only a handful of people in the hotel to start with! I was very disillusioned by that. However, overall, my experience was a very positive one. They are in the best location in Playa. Right next to a gorgeous beach. I'd recommend this hotel. Just make sure you get their policies stated up front!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 4, 2008

Nice hotel, great location

Excellent location, less than one block from 5th towards the ocean. You can walk anywhere in less than 10 mins. The beach is less than 1 min! Nice size room, would be nice to have a few more drawers to put clothes for longer stays. We stayed 7 days & made it work. Small but useable balcony. Nice sized shower with plenty of HOT water! Continental breakfast is average or you can have eggs / omlette cooked to order pretty inexpensive. We did this a few days then found other breakfast options to change things up. Nice rooftop views, pool, & bar, we didn't really use this much though. No noise issues from the activities on 5th ave. Currently construction accross the street, but should be short lived & they didn't start too early. Overall very nice stay & would go back or recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All kinds of shopping, dining etc. all within 1-10 mins. from hotel. Ask around & don't be afraid to venture off of 5th ave. for some excellent native/mexican food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 25, 2008

Close to everything

The Illusion Boutique hotel was a great find! You really cannot get better in Playa del Carment for the price and location. The hotel is just off the strip known as Avenida Quinta and literally a half block walk to the ocean. The rooms were clean with warm water, good pressure and a working air conditioner. There was a refrigerator and microwave which is great for bringing take out, water and cervezas home. Our bed was a bit on the firm side but that is the only complaint I have. The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating. We especially found Dorel and Javier great hosts who helped us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 11, 2007

Perfect for the solo traveler

What a find!!!! Especially for the price. Room was more than just comfortable and extremely clean. Staff was extremely helpful in selecting and arranging a tour plus recommendations for dinner. For women traveling alone, it was and 'felt' safe, especially considering the downtown location. I will return...and bring family & friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

..plan in advance how to get to Playa from the airport in Cancun. I took the Gray Line Bus/Van for $25 and a taxi upon return for $45.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top