$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
88 reviews
pleasantly Suprised

It was great! we will tell friends and family and will return, the staff especially the front desk... See full review

  • Grandma Ruth
  • May 22, 2014
Hotel is like a dream!

Wow. From first walking in the door we were completely amazed. Concierge provides cool towels and... See full review

  • Matt Oz
  • Apr 7, 2014
Small Playa del Carmen hotel with inner courtyard, rooftop pool
The Illusion Boutique Hotel is located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story, 41-suite beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests, a rooftop freshwater swimming pool and sunbathing area and poolside bar.
Highlights:
  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
Rooms:

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Features:

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. Relaxing is easy with a massage in the spa, overlooking the ocean. The rooftop dipping pool deck is another favorite relaxation spot at Illusions Boutique Hotel.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)
Business­
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available

Hotel Map

20.6256 -87.0724
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, Isla Mujeres, Cancun, Xcaret, Xplor, Xelha, Tulum, Puerto Aventuras, Playacar.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes.
Area description
Located in the heart of the cosmopolitan Playa del Carmen, at the intersection of the famous "Quinta Avenida" Fifth Avenue and 8th Street North, both a packed with upscale fashionable stores, boutiques, cafes and restaurants bars. * A few yards from the pristine sand beach and turquoise sea waters. * In the entertainment district. * Full-service health spa in walking distance. * Close to Banks and ATM machines. * Nearby the most popular walking shopping street "5th Avenue".

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only Rooms

Mirage
330 sq. ft. 1 king size bed or 2 queen beds available upon request, window, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Mirage with Balcony
330 sq. ft. with 1 king bed, balcony 5th Avenue view or ocean view, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Prestige
426 sq. ft. with 1 king bed and a convertible futon, terrace, pool and ocean view, high-speed Internet, 20" TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan, wake up calls on request, microwave oven and coffee maker.
Cabana Vision
Each room is decorated uniquely with a flare of Indonesian furniture. The 5th floor offers 440 sqft luxury rooms with a king size bed, spacious terrace and solarium with wet bar and pool only a few steps away. Enjoy the privacy and breath taking partial ocean view. Large sliding glass doors for you to embrace the Caribbean. All guestrooms have remote control A/C, ceiling fan, 20" TV with remote control, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, VOIP phone, radio clock/Ipod base, in room safe, mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities. High speed internet access is also available

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Tom
Charlotte, NC
Oct 8, 2012

Friendly staff in convenient location for walking

My 2nd time staying in this hotel. Really enjoyed the location and the staff is very attentive, friendly, and accomodating. 24 hour security as well. Steps to the beach and excellent beach clubs, as well as all the shops & restaurants on 5th Ave. Also, if you take the nice $9 ADA bus from the airport, you can walk the 5 blocks to the hotel from bus station easily, then just cab back to the airport on your return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Highly recommend many restaurants off the streets running from 5th Ave, and also on 10th Ave... explore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ah-rrrron
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 6, 2010

Good, but could EASILY be better.

The location couldn't be better! The pool is on the roof, is tiny-small and shallow, but because the perfect beach is literally just steps out the door, we never even considered spending any time at the pool, and likely wouldn't have even if it was "a great pool." What made us a little upset about the place was that there was no clock in our room (alarm clock SHOULD come standard in even the worst MOTELS). We did ask for a wake up call at 7:15 am one morning and woke up about an hour later because we never got a wake up call! I was pretty upset because we were getting up so early to go on a trip to Xelha that morning, but had to do it another day thanks to them. I let the lady know at the front desk and she was unapologetic and tried emplying that I never asked for the wake up call, which made me even more upset. Also, the place is naturally loud because of the attrium with a restaurant at the bottom (plates and forks constantly clinking, occasional belly-laughs, loud voices, etc). But this could also be easily remedied by adequately installing "sound barriers" between the door and the door jams. There is sooo much space between the door and the jam that it made me really question why they didn't spend the $20 per room to properly seal the doors. ANYWAYS, besides that, the place IS great, staff IS friendly/helpful overall, location couldn't be better, and the value is good too. We'd go back, but ONLY if we are certain if there's a standard $4 alarm clock and sound buffers installed in the door jams.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I hate shopping at Wal-Mart, but somehow felt it was okay in Mexico. It is only 5 blocks down the road, and was really handy. Also, El Fogon is right just 1 block from that. El Fogon is a truely authentic Mexican restaurant that we enjoyed more than almost ALL other restaurants on 5th (the main tourist drag). It doesn't LOOK that nice, but is reasonably priced (unlike so many places on 5th), and sooo good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 24, 2010

Clean, quiet, close to beach

The King size bed was the ticket after a nice sunny hot day on the beach. The remote for the air conditioner came in really handy at night. The restraunt is connected and really very good. The desk clerk told us on the second day our package didn't include so we couldn't have anymore free continental breakfast. The paperwork I had along did not specify but I discovered back home that the package I chose on [...] did include free continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't forget to get beach passes at front desk in morning!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, CA
Apr 3, 2010

Illusion Hotel Review

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, always asking about our day and jumping right in to ask how our vacation was going (not just our stay at the hotel), gave us tips, directions, and helped us out when we screwed up the safe combination! The hotel restaurant was meh, but who cares, we shouldn't have eaten at the hotel restaurant on our vacation anyway. It was ridiculously inexpensive given its proximity to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

See everything first

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ogden, UT
Mar 31, 2010

Great Place!

The hotel is situated between 5th ave and the ocean yet it was surprisingly quiet. It was well kept and very clean. the staff was nice and did not try to sell anything-just helpful advice. They have a restaurant attached that brewed weak coffee so i went down one block to a Starbucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not eat on 5th if your looking to save money. Eat at "el Fugon" on the southwest street next to Walmart- great local food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Feb 13, 2010

Perfect hotel for the price

-The staff was very friendly and trust-worthy. -The free breakfast was simple, small and the same every day, which was perfect for us since we're not big breakfast eaters, but if you enjoy large, varied breakfasts, you will be disappointed. -The beautiful rooms on the website are the honeymoon rooms. The rest of the rooms are dark and kind of musty, as they do not get any fresh air. The only windows look out into the hall/central patio area of the hotel, thus making them unsafe to keep open (the actual window or shades). -The FREE built-in safe in room, which you set the code for, was much appreciated! -Wish they had a sliver of beach space and set up some chairs. Otherwise, you have to camp out w/ your towels or PAY to sit in a beach chair of a neighboring hotel or bar. -Convenient location- close to all in Playa del Carmen 5th Ave. strip. -Overall, great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brainerd, MN
Mar 11, 2010

Great Location

The hotel had a great location, 1/2 block from beach and 1/2 block from 5th street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Prices go down further you go inland. Watch for wear all the locals eat them selves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mexifan
Business
ohio
Dec 10, 2009

Great Clean Good location

This hotel is a great deal. very clean with super nice management

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very many good restaurants within blocks of hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Felmingham
Business
Australia
Jan 3, 2010

Great location great value

Got great value [...]only $88 bargaingreat location and room was very comfortable with king bed and air condso close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit 12 th street for best nightlife!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jlooney
Business
St. Louis, MO
Dec 14, 2009

Loved it...

I loved the Illusion. It's location is perfect - we walked the 30-50yds to the beach and rented amazingly comfortable beds from the Mosquito Beach people. The only minor thing is the pool - it's tiny. I mean really, really small and only 2 ft deep. But we didn't go to Mexico to lay by a pool so not really a big deal. For the price we paid this was an amazing trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germany
Dec 16, 2009

Nice Hotel for a good price

There is not many to say. The Hotel and the rooms were clean, not the best location but very near to the beach. The Continental Breakfrast was not realy Continental, only a bit bad bread, a little bit of jam, one cup of coffee and juice. The Staff were friendly. Check in not possible before 3:00 o clock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top