$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 20, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
View map of Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
poppi
puebla , mexico
Jul 16, 2012

excellent

The staff helped in everything and the location was excellent when you are a fan from the 5 da avenida.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Apr 17, 2010

We loved this hotel.

We loved staying at the Illusion. It was an absolute perfect location with a beautiful view from the rooftop terrace. The added free computer use in the lobby area was an unexpected bonus. They have a little exchange library that was also a nice touch. We enjoyed the free continental breakfast which included toast and a pastry and coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice. It was all we needed to start the day. The housekeeping staff always left our room perfect with nice towel art (which we always enjoy). Beach towels were readily available at the front desk and we were always greeted when passing through the lobby. This trip was with my sister but I look forward to staying there next year with my husband. It's a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Learn to use the public transportation. You will save lots of money traveling to the extended areas like Tulum and Akumal and Puerto Morelos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Apr 5, 2010

loved this hotel

This hotel was amazing. Perfect location and staff were very friendly. My sister and I stayed here during springbreak and couldnt have chosen a better hotel. We got conned by a mexican travel agent on 5th avenue who ran off with our money and our hotel owner ([...]) did everything to help us and try get it back. There is a really nice pool on the top level overlooking the ocean. The breakfast included is also nice toasted bread and pastries. I definitely reccommend staying here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to COCOBongos on a friday night if you're there to party.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ah-rrrron
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 6, 2010

Good, but could EASILY be better.

The location couldn't be better! The pool is on the roof, is tiny-small and shallow, but because the perfect beach is literally just steps out the door, we never even considered spending any time at the pool, and likely wouldn't have even if it was "a great pool." What made us a little upset about the place was that there was no clock in our room (alarm clock SHOULD come standard in even the worst MOTELS). We did ask for a wake up call at 7:15 am one morning and woke up about an hour later because we never got a wake up call! I was pretty upset because we were getting up so early to go on a trip to Xelha that morning, but had to do it another day thanks to them. I let the lady know at the front desk and she was unapologetic and tried emplying that I never asked for the wake up call, which made me even more upset. Also, the place is naturally loud because of the attrium with a restaurant at the bottom (plates and forks constantly clinking, occasional belly-laughs, loud voices, etc). But this could also be easily remedied by adequately installing "sound barriers" between the door and the door jams. There is sooo much space between the door and the jam that it made me really question why they didn't spend the $20 per room to properly seal the doors. ANYWAYS, besides that, the place IS great, staff IS friendly/helpful overall, location couldn't be better, and the value is good too. We'd go back, but ONLY if we are certain if there's a standard $4 alarm clock and sound buffers installed in the door jams.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I hate shopping at Wal-Mart, but somehow felt it was okay in Mexico. It is only 5 blocks down the road, and was really handy. Also, El Fogon is right just 1 block from that. El Fogon is a truely authentic Mexican restaurant that we enjoyed more than almost ALL other restaurants on 5th (the main tourist drag). It doesn't LOOK that nice, but is reasonably priced (unlike so many places on 5th), and sooo good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 24, 2010

Clean, quiet, close to beach

The King size bed was the ticket after a nice sunny hot day on the beach. The remote for the air conditioner came in really handy at night. The restraunt is connected and really very good. The desk clerk told us on the second day our package didn't include so we couldn't have anymore free continental breakfast. The paperwork I had along did not specify but I discovered back home that the package I chose on [...] did include free continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't forget to get beach passes at front desk in morning!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, CA
Apr 3, 2010

Illusion Hotel Review

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, always asking about our day and jumping right in to ask how our vacation was going (not just our stay at the hotel), gave us tips, directions, and helped us out when we screwed up the safe combination! The hotel restaurant was meh, but who cares, we shouldn't have eaten at the hotel restaurant on our vacation anyway. It was ridiculously inexpensive given its proximity to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

See everything first

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ogden, UT
Mar 31, 2010

Great Place!

The hotel is situated between 5th ave and the ocean yet it was surprisingly quiet. It was well kept and very clean. the staff was nice and did not try to sell anything-just helpful advice. They have a restaurant attached that brewed weak coffee so i went down one block to a Starbucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not eat on 5th if your looking to save money. Eat at "el Fugon" on the southwest street next to Walmart- great local food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Feb 13, 2010

Perfect hotel for the price

-The staff was very friendly and trust-worthy. -The free breakfast was simple, small and the same every day, which was perfect for us since we're not big breakfast eaters, but if you enjoy large, varied breakfasts, you will be disappointed. -The beautiful rooms on the website are the honeymoon rooms. The rest of the rooms are dark and kind of musty, as they do not get any fresh air. The only windows look out into the hall/central patio area of the hotel, thus making them unsafe to keep open (the actual window or shades). -The FREE built-in safe in room, which you set the code for, was much appreciated! -Wish they had a sliver of beach space and set up some chairs. Otherwise, you have to camp out w/ your towels or PAY to sit in a beach chair of a neighboring hotel or bar. -Convenient location- close to all in Playa del Carmen 5th Ave. strip. -Overall, great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brainerd, MN
Mar 11, 2010

Great Location

The hotel had a great location, 1/2 block from beach and 1/2 block from 5th street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Prices go down further you go inland. Watch for wear all the locals eat them selves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mexifan
Business
ohio
Dec 10, 2009

Great Clean Good location

This hotel is a great deal. very clean with super nice management

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very many good restaurants within blocks of hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Felmingham
Business
Australia
Jan 3, 2010

Great location great value

Got great value [...]only $88 bargaingreat location and room was very comfortable with king bed and air condso close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit 12 th street for best nightlife!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top