$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
142 reviews
pleasantly Suprised

It was great! we will tell friends and family and will return, the staff especially the front desk... See full review

  • Grandma Ruth
  • May 22, 2014
Hotel is like a dream!

Wow. From first walking in the door we were completely amazed. Concierge provides cool towels and... See full review

  • Matt Oz
  • Apr 7, 2014
Small Playa del Carmen hotel with inner courtyard, rooftop pool
The Illusion Boutique Hotel is located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story, 41-suite beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests, a rooftop freshwater swimming pool and sunbathing area and poolside bar.
Highlights:
  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
Rooms:

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Features:

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. Relaxing is easy with a massage in the spa, overlooking the ocean. The rooftop dipping pool deck is another favorite relaxation spot at Illusions Boutique Hotel.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)
Business­
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only Rooms

Mirage
330 sq. ft. 1 king size bed or 2 queen beds available upon request, window, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Mirage with Balcony
330 sq. ft. with 1 king bed, balcony 5th Avenue view or ocean view, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Prestige
426 sq. ft. with 1 king bed and a convertible futon, terrace, pool and ocean view, high-speed Internet, 20" TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan, wake up calls on request, microwave oven and coffee maker.
Cabana Vision
Each room is decorated uniquely with a flare of Indonesian furniture. The 5th floor offers 440 sqft luxury rooms with a king size bed, spacious terrace and solarium with wet bar and pool only a few steps away. Enjoy the privacy and breath taking ocean front view. Large sliding glass doors for you to embrace the Caribbean. All guestrooms have remote control A/C, ceiling fan, 20" TV with remote control, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, VOIP phone, radio clock/Ipod base, in room safe, mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities. High speed internet access is also available

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

20.6256 -87.0724
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, Isla Mujeres, Cancun, Xcaret, Xplor, Xelha, Tulum, Puerto Aventuras, Playacar.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes.
Area description
Located in the heart of the cosmopolitan Playa del Carmen, at the intersection of the famous "Quinta Avenida" Fifth Avenue and 8th Street North, both a packed with upscale fashionable stores, boutiques, cafes and restaurants bars. * A few yards from the pristine sand beach and turquoise sea waters. * In the entertainment district. * Full-service health spa in walking distance. * Close to Banks and ATM machines. * Nearby the most popular walking shopping street "5th Avenue".

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Golden bull
Los Angeles, CA
May 3, 2010

Great location and service

Came to Playa del Carmen for a wedding. We bought the airfare and hotel deal. This hotel was great. Steps away from the beach, comfortable room and continental breakfast every morning. The hotel is centrally located, it was an easy walk to our wedding party hotels and its also 4 blocks from the ADO bus station. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The best Mexican food restaurant in the city. Cheap, tasty and not touristy. El Fogon is on 30th Ave between 6th and 8th streets. Just a 10 minute walk. The food is great!

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Apr 17, 2010

We loved this hotel.

We loved staying at the Illusion. It was an absolute perfect location with a beautiful view from the rooftop terrace. The added free computer use in the lobby area was an unexpected bonus. They have a little exchange library that was also a nice touch. We enjoyed the free continental breakfast which included toast and a pastry and coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice. It was all we needed to start the day. The housekeeping staff always left our room perfect with nice towel art (which we always enjoy). Beach towels were readily available at the front desk and we were always greeted when passing through the lobby. This trip was with my sister but I look forward to staying there next year with my husband. It's a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Learn to use the public transportation. You will save lots of money traveling to the extended areas like Tulum and Akumal and Puerto Morelos.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Apr 17, 2010

We loved this hotel.

We loved staying at the Illusion. It was an absolute perfect location with a beautiful view from the rooftop terrace. The added free computer use in the lobby area was an unexpected bonus. They have a little exchange library that was also a nice touch. We enjoyed the free continental breakfast which included toast and a pastry and coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice. It was all we needed to start the day. The housekeeping staff always left our room perfect with nice towel art (which we always enjoy). Beach towels were readily available at the front desk and we were always greeted when passing through the lobby. This trip was with my sister but I look forward to staying there next year with my husband. It's a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Learn to use the public transportation. You will save lots of money traveling to the extended areas like Tulum and Akumal and Puerto Morelos.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Apr 5, 2010

loved this hotel

This hotel was amazing. Perfect location and staff were very friendly. My sister and I stayed here during springbreak and couldnt have chosen a better hotel. We got conned by a mexican travel agent on 5th avenue who ran off with our money and our hotel owner ([...]) did everything to help us and try get it back. There is a really nice pool on the top level overlooking the ocean. The breakfast included is also nice toasted bread and pastries. I definitely reccommend staying here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to COCOBongos on a friday night if you're there to party.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Apr 5, 2010

loved this hotel

This hotel was amazing. Perfect location and staff were very friendly. My sister and I stayed here during springbreak and couldnt have chosen a better hotel. We got conned by a mexican travel agent on 5th avenue who ran off with our money and our hotel owner ([...]) did everything to help us and try get it back. There is a really nice pool on the top level overlooking the ocean. The breakfast included is also nice toasted bread and pastries. I definitely reccommend staying here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to COCOBongos on a friday night if you're there to party.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Irvine, CA
Apr 3, 2010

Illusion Hotel Review

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, always asking about our day and jumping right in to ask how our vacation was going (not just our stay at the hotel), gave us tips, directions, and helped us out when we screwed up the safe combination! The hotel restaurant was meh, but who cares, we shouldn't have eaten at the hotel restaurant on our vacation anyway. It was ridiculously inexpensive given its proximity to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

See everything first

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Irvine, CA
Apr 3, 2010

Illusion Hotel Review

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, always asking about our day and jumping right in to ask how our vacation was going (not just our stay at the hotel), gave us tips, directions, and helped us out when we screwed up the safe combination! The hotel restaurant was meh, but who cares, we shouldn't have eaten at the hotel restaurant on our vacation anyway. It was ridiculously inexpensive given its proximity to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

See everything first

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ogden, UT
Mar 31, 2010

Great Place!

The hotel is situated between 5th ave and the ocean yet it was surprisingly quiet. It was well kept and very clean. the staff was nice and did not try to sell anything-just helpful advice. They have a restaurant attached that brewed weak coffee so i went down one block to a Starbucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not eat on 5th if your looking to save money. Eat at "el Fugon" on the southwest street next to Walmart- great local food.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ogden, UT
Mar 31, 2010

Great Place!

The hotel is situated between 5th ave and the ocean yet it was surprisingly quiet. It was well kept and very clean. the staff was nice and did not try to sell anything-just helpful advice. They have a restaurant attached that brewed weak coffee so i went down one block to a Starbucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not eat on 5th if your looking to save money. Eat at "el Fugon" on the southwest street next to Walmart- great local food.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Menomonie, WI
Mar 29, 2010

A great hotel for the money

My wife and I traveled to Playa on March 21 and stayed a week at the Illusion Botique. We can't say enough about this wonderful, little home away from home. The staff was great and helped us with every question we had. The only thing that we thought would be better was if the hotel put umbrellas around the pool for shade from the sun. We would definitely stay at this hotel again if we went to Playa. We had everything we wanted or needed that we have ever had at any other hotel. Overall, our trip was a great one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top