$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
View map of Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seasoned Playa Traveler
Business
Minneapolis MN
Feb 21, 2010

Adequate but their showers could use hel

Staff was very friendly. Great location. Rooms were very clean. The shower preasure was weak and the water was either very cold or very hot. It was tought to find warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Feb 13, 2010

Perfect hotel for the price

-The staff was very friendly and trust-worthy. -The free breakfast was simple, small and the same every day, which was perfect for us since we're not big breakfast eaters, but if you enjoy large, varied breakfasts, you will be disappointed. -The beautiful rooms on the website are the honeymoon rooms. The rest of the rooms are dark and kind of musty, as they do not get any fresh air. The only windows look out into the hall/central patio area of the hotel, thus making them unsafe to keep open (the actual window or shades). -The FREE built-in safe in room, which you set the code for, was much appreciated! -Wish they had a sliver of beach space and set up some chairs. Otherwise, you have to camp out w/ your towels or PAY to sit in a beach chair of a neighboring hotel or bar. -Convenient location- close to all in Playa del Carmen 5th Ave. strip. -Overall, great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JKH
Business
NJ
Jan 23, 2010

Nice Value Hotel

Very nice and friendly. 1/2 block to beach but during the week we were there all 15 blocks of town were under beach restitution. Looked great as we were leaving. Our room was noisy with occasional kitchen noise, loud neighbors. Roof pool was nice but needed umbrellas. Continental breakfast was simple but good with eggs as an additional cost. This place is in the center of the best parts of Playa del Carmen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Felmingham
Business
Australia
Jan 3, 2010

Great location great value

Got great value [...]only $88 bargaingreat location and room was very comfortable with king bed and air condso close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit 12 th street for best nightlife!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germany
Dec 16, 2009

Nice Hotel for a good price

There is not many to say. The Hotel and the rooms were clean, not the best location but very near to the beach. The Continental Breakfrast was not realy Continental, only a bit bad bread, a little bit of jam, one cup of coffee and juice. The Staff were friendly. Check in not possible before 3:00 o clock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jlooney
Business
St. Louis, MO
Dec 14, 2009

Loved it...

I loved the Illusion. It's location is perfect - we walked the 30-50yds to the beach and rented amazingly comfortable beds from the Mosquito Beach people. The only minor thing is the pool - it's tiny. I mean really, really small and only 2 ft deep. But we didn't go to Mexico to lay by a pool so not really a big deal. For the price we paid this was an amazing trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mexifan
Business
ohio
Dec 10, 2009

Great Clean Good location

This hotel is a great deal. very clean with super nice management

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very many good restaurants within blocks of hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Nov 23, 2009

Small & charming but under construction

The good stuff first - this is a charming little hotel in a perfect location and friendly staff. Free internet and wi-fi. The not-so-good - The pool is MUCH smaller than it looks in the picture and reeks of chlorine so we did not use it. Part of the hotel was under construction throughout our stay (day AND night)which made it a noisy stay. They did accomodate us with a baby crib and the breakfast is a nice perk. Don't go for the upgrade to a room with a private balcony - they all have it... Overall we would recommend this hotel but only on the 4th floor and check regarding the construction ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

100% Natural is our favorite restaurant - healthy yummy food and great service/prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mariacpro
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Nov 10, 2009

Great boutique hotel in a great area

We stayed at Illusion Boutique hotel because the reviews I've read were good and the location is great. I am so glad we stayed there! The staff is friendly and professional. The room had a great balcony with a view of the ocean. The hotel is off Avenida 5, which we spent every single night strolling. WalMart is not even five blocks away, which was good for us. We went to Cozumel twice because the ferry terminal is walking distance from the hotel and on our way back to Cancun intl airport, we took the ADO bus because of the convenience and close proximity to the hotel. We booked a Chichen Itza tour with the hotel and couldn't have been more pleased. Our tour guide picked us up in the hotel lobby on time and made our day trip memorable. They offer the best rates on tours, so don't be pressured to buy online. We will definitely return to Playa Del Carmen. A wonderful place and a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy your tours through the hotel. You save money and travel securely.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DWO
Business
Houston, TX and Villahermosa, MX
Oct 27, 2009

Great Stay

Great Place! Excellent Staff! Very Helpful! Perfect Location for cost! Will Return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go have a meal on the beach! It is a very short walk and the staff at the surrounding hotels, resturants and bars were very friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top