$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
90 reviews
pleasantly Suprised

It was great! we will tell friends and family and will return, the staff especially the front desk... See full review

  • Grandma Ruth
  • May 22, 2014
Hotel is like a dream!

Wow. From first walking in the door we were completely amazed. Concierge provides cool towels and... See full review

  • Matt Oz
  • Apr 7, 2014
Playa del Carmen boutique hotel with inner courtyard, rooftop pool
The Illusion Boutique Hotel is strategically located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story, 41-suite beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests, a rooftop freshwater swimming pool and sunbathing area and poolside bar.
Highlights:
  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
  • Close to the beach and shopping outlets at 5th Avenue
Rooms:

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Features:

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. The rooftop features a large terrace with beautiful views of the Caribbean Sea. Guests can also have soothing massages on site or savor delicious breakfast every morning, at Nuestra Casa restaurant.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)
Business­
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only Rooms

Mirage
330 sq. ft. 1 king size bed or 2 queen beds available upon request, window, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Mirage with Balcony
330 sq. ft. with 1 king bed, balcony 5th Avenue view or ocean view, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Prestige
426 sq. ft. with 1 king bed and a convertible futon, terrace, pool and ocean view, high-speed Internet, 20" TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan, wake up calls on request, microwave oven and coffee maker.
Cabana Vision
Each room is decorated uniquely with a flare of Indonesian furniture. The 5th floor offers 440 sqft luxury rooms with a king size bed, spacious terrace and solarium with wet bar and pool only a few steps away. Enjoy the privacy and breath taking partial ocean view. Large sliding glass doors for you to embrace the Caribbean. All guestrooms have remote control A/C, ceiling fan, 20" TV with remote control, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, VOIP phone, radio clock/Ipod base, in room safe, mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities. High speed internet access is also available

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Felmingham
Business
Australia
Jan 3, 2010

Great location great value

Got great value [...]only $88 bargaingreat location and room was very comfortable with king bed and air condso close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit 12 th street for best nightlife!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germany
Dec 16, 2009

Nice Hotel for a good price

There is not many to say. The Hotel and the rooms were clean, not the best location but very near to the beach. The Continental Breakfrast was not realy Continental, only a bit bad bread, a little bit of jam, one cup of coffee and juice. The Staff were friendly. Check in not possible before 3:00 o clock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jlooney
Business
St. Louis, MO
Dec 14, 2009

Loved it...

I loved the Illusion. It's location is perfect - we walked the 30-50yds to the beach and rented amazingly comfortable beds from the Mosquito Beach people. The only minor thing is the pool - it's tiny. I mean really, really small and only 2 ft deep. But we didn't go to Mexico to lay by a pool so not really a big deal. For the price we paid this was an amazing trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mexifan
Business
ohio
Dec 10, 2009

Great Clean Good location

This hotel is a great deal. very clean with super nice management

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very many good restaurants within blocks of hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Nov 23, 2009

Small & charming but under construction

The good stuff first - this is a charming little hotel in a perfect location and friendly staff. Free internet and wi-fi. The not-so-good - The pool is MUCH smaller than it looks in the picture and reeks of chlorine so we did not use it. Part of the hotel was under construction throughout our stay (day AND night)which made it a noisy stay. They did accomodate us with a baby crib and the breakfast is a nice perk. Don't go for the upgrade to a room with a private balcony - they all have it... Overall we would recommend this hotel but only on the 4th floor and check regarding the construction ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

100% Natural is our favorite restaurant - healthy yummy food and great service/prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mariacpro
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Nov 10, 2009

Great boutique hotel in a great area

We stayed at Illusion Boutique hotel because the reviews I've read were good and the location is great. I am so glad we stayed there! The staff is friendly and professional. The room had a great balcony with a view of the ocean. The hotel is off Avenida 5, which we spent every single night strolling. WalMart is not even five blocks away, which was good for us. We went to Cozumel twice because the ferry terminal is walking distance from the hotel and on our way back to Cancun intl airport, we took the ADO bus because of the convenience and close proximity to the hotel. We booked a Chichen Itza tour with the hotel and couldn't have been more pleased. Our tour guide picked us up in the hotel lobby on time and made our day trip memorable. They offer the best rates on tours, so don't be pressured to buy online. We will definitely return to Playa Del Carmen. A wonderful place and a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy your tours through the hotel. You save money and travel securely.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DWO
Business
Houston, TX and Villahermosa, MX
Oct 27, 2009

Great Stay

Great Place! Excellent Staff! Very Helpful! Perfect Location for cost! Will Return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go have a meal on the beach! It is a very short walk and the staff at the surrounding hotels, resturants and bars were very friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
*G*
Business
houston,tx
Sep 26, 2009

good value

Hotel was clean, had a fridge, and good water pressure. It was right in the middle of everything. Very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

try to book a car through the site you booked your hotel on. Its cheaper that way. Many of these guys will charge you a higher rate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 25, 2009

Where were the amenities?

This hotel had potential. It was in a great location near restaurants and shops and less than a block from the beach...but it went downhill from there. All of the amenities listed on the Orbitz site were either lacking or non-existent. The pool on the roof was tiny and dirty because the filter was never turned on. Yes there was a poolside bar, but it was empty and there was never any staff there to serve anyone. Restaurant?? none. Spa?? none. Room Service?? none. Internet?? yes...there was one computer in the non-air-conditioned lobby. My room was bleak with no furniture except a rattan tv stand. There wasn't even a chair to sit in. As for security...I never saw anyone. In fact we saw guests go behind the desk in the lobby to get their own keys to their rooms when there was no one manning the desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jillayn
Business
La Crosse, WI
Sep 23, 2009

Unbeatable accomadations for cost

This is a quaint hotel in the heart of Playa but not on such a busy street. It was steps away from the beach and other attractions. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The hotel is clean and charming and I would definitely recommend it. I felt that this was a very safe hotel as I was traveling alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top