Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
View map of Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
77 reviews
Ok room, great location!

Rooms are pretty basic, although having the fridge was very nice. Our bathroom had ants on the... See full review

  • Jamn
  • Feb 3, 2015
Hotel is like a dream!

Wow. From first walking in the door we were completely amazed. Concierge provides cool towels and... See full review

  • Matt Oz
  • Apr 7, 2014

The Illusion Boutique Hotel is strategically located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests. Property has a rooftop that has a spectacular large terrace with magnificent view over the Mexican Caribbean, a relaxing plunge pool, and a holistic room for enjoying massages.

Rooms

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Property features

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. The rooftop features a large terrace with beautiful views of the Caribbean Sea. Guests can also have soothing massages on site or savor delicious breakfast every morning, at Nuestra Casa restaurant.

Highlights
  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
  • Close to the beach and shopping outlets at 5th Avenue
Nearby attractions
  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only Rooms

Mirage
Features:

  • 330 sq. ft. 1 king size bed or 2 queen beds available upon request
  • High-speed Internet
  • TV with cable/satellite
  • Refrigerator
  • A/C with remote control
  • Hairdryer
  • In-room safe deposit box
  • Ceiling fan
  • Mirage with Balcony
    Features:

  • 330 sq. ft. with 1 king bed
  • High-speed Internet
  • TV with cable/satellite
  • Refrigerator
  • A/C with remote control
  • Hairdryer
  • In-room safe deposit box
  • Ceiling fan
  • Prestige
    Features:

  • 426 sq. ft. with 1 king bed and a convertible futon
  • Terrace
  • Partial ocean view
  • TV with cable/satellite
  • Refrigerator
  • A/C with remote control
  • Hairdryer
  • In-room safe deposit box
  • Ceiling fan
  • Wake up calls on request
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cabana Vision
    Each room is decorated uniquely with a flare of Indonesian furniture..
    The 5th floor offers:
  • 440 sqft luxury rooms with a king size bed
  • Remote control A/C
  • VOIP phone
  • In room safe
  • Mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities
  • High speed internet access is also available
  • Ceiling fan
  • Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Solarium
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    In-Room Safe
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    WiFi

    Hotel Map

    20.6255 -87.0726
    Area served
    Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, Isla Mujeres, Cancun, Xcaret, Xplor, Xelha, Tulum, Puerto Aventuras, Playacar.
    Nearby airports
    Cancun International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes.
    Area description
    Located in the heart of the cosmopolitan Playa del Carmen, at the intersection of the famous "Quinta Avenida" Fifth Avenue and 8th Street North, both a packed with upscale fashionable stores, boutiques, cafes and restaurants bars. * A few yards from the pristine sand beach and turquoise sea waters. * In the entertainment district. * Full-service health spa in walking distance. * Close to Banks and ATM machines. * Nearby the most popular walking shopping street "5th Avenue".

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (77)

    Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Overall score

    4.1 / 5
    5.01.0
    77 out of 77
    Amenities:
    3.6
    Cleanliness:
    4.5
    Hotel staff:
    4.6
    Comfort:
    4.2
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    4.3

    92% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Couples
    qu├ębec
    Mar 21, 2011

    wonderful

    Wonderful place located by the 5 avenue and 30 sec walk from the playa del carmen beach! Beautiful spot, safe, quiet and perfect to spend a week! Breakfast included was great too! Little pool on the roof, perfect spot to come in the aternoon! Hoo yeah and the Staff are the most friendly and helpful I've seen! See you soon!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    jenean loved playa del carmen!
    Friends
    cancun
    Apr 15, 2011

    The Illusion hotel is a wonderful place

    The location was perfect for the beach, shopping and dining. The staff was very polite and attentive. The hotel was very clean. We had a good stay there.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    MikeMaltMan
    Single
    NYC
    Mar 28, 2011

    Perfectly adequate hotel, great location

    The hotel:* perfect location (just off the 5th Ave action, 1 block from beach, 5 blocks to ADO bus station, 8 blocks to ferry)* free wifi (good speeds)* friendly staffMy room:* firm King bed* AC + ceiling fan* safe deposit box* futon (~queen)* 19" tube w/ cable* fridge (had some soft drinks, not free)* decent restroom -- good shower, no bath* enough AC plugs around to charge my junk* no bugs[...]

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Single

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Carboncitos (4th Street | Between 5th and 10th Avenues) has an amazing happy hour (3p or 4p til 6p): 2 tacos, chips, salsa, margarita for 36 pesos (that's $5 w/ tip). YUM!

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Friends
    Miami, Florida
    Apr 5, 2011

    Excellent cust.services,location,clean

    I highly recommended if you want to relax,great location,no far from the beach,very clean,excelent customer services. Near the main street where you could find restaurants and stores.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    We ate at the restaurant from the hotel and services,food and prices were acceptable, compare to another restaurant.

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Christine xo
    Single
    Maine
    Mar 7, 2011

    Location, comfort, and staff

    This pretty hotel is in the heart of it all, but just enough away to make it a peaceful setting. It's small, tropical ambiance gave me the feeling of coming home at the end of my explorations. The beach is just steps from the entrance. Ave. 5 where great food, shopping, bars are steps away and at your fingertips. I won't hesitate to go back.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Single

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Couples
    Chicago
    Feb 13, 2011

    Great location

    Located a few yards from a beautiful beach. Very close to 5th street where you find a great selection of shops and places to eat. Neat rooms and beautiful arquitecture.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Couples
    Menomonie, WI
    Mar 29, 2010

    A great hotel for the money

    My wife and I traveled to Playa on March 21 and stayed a week at the Illusion Botique. We can't say enough about this wonderful, little home away from home. The staff was great and helped us with every question we had. The only thing that we thought would be better was if the hotel put umbrellas around the pool for shade from the sun. We would definitely stay at this hotel again if we went to Playa. We had everything we wanted or needed that we have ever had at any other hotel. Overall, our trip was a great one!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Family
    Minnesota
    Apr 17, 2010

    We loved this hotel.

    We loved staying at the Illusion. It was an absolute perfect location with a beautiful view from the rooftop terrace. The added free computer use in the lobby area was an unexpected bonus. They have a little exchange library that was also a nice touch. We enjoyed the free continental breakfast which included toast and a pastry and coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice. It was all we needed to start the day. The housekeeping staff always left our room perfect with nice towel art (which we always enjoy). Beach towels were readily available at the front desk and we were always greeted when passing through the lobby. This trip was with my sister but I look forward to staying there next year with my husband. It's a great place.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Learn to use the public transportation. You will save lots of money traveling to the extended areas like Tulum and Akumal and Puerto Morelos.

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Friends
    San Diego
    Apr 5, 2010

    loved this hotel

    This hotel was amazing. Perfect location and staff were very friendly. My sister and I stayed here during springbreak and couldnt have chosen a better hotel. We got conned by a mexican travel agent on 5th avenue who ran off with our money and our hotel owner ([...]) did everything to help us and try get it back. There is a really nice pool on the top level overlooking the ocean. The breakfast included is also nice toasted bread and pastries. I definitely reccommend staying here

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    Go to COCOBongos on a friday night if you're there to party.

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    ah-rrrron
    Couples
    Portland, OR
    Mar 6, 2010

    Good, but could EASILY be better.

    The location couldn't be better! The pool is on the roof, is tiny-small and shallow, but because the perfect beach is literally just steps out the door, we never even considered spending any time at the pool, and likely wouldn't have even if it was "a great pool." What made us a little upset about the place was that there was no clock in our room (alarm clock SHOULD come standard in even the worst MOTELS). We did ask for a wake up call at 7:15 am one morning and woke up about an hour later because we never got a wake up call! I was pretty upset because we were getting up so early to go on a trip to Xelha that morning, but had to do it another day thanks to them. I let the lady know at the front desk and she was unapologetic and tried emplying that I never asked for the wake up call, which made me even more upset. Also, the place is naturally loud because of the attrium with a restaurant at the bottom (plates and forks constantly clinking, occasional belly-laughs, loud voices, etc). But this could also be easily remedied by adequately installing "sound barriers" between the door and the door jams. There is sooo much space between the door and the jam that it made me really question why they didn't spend the $20 per room to properly seal the doors. ANYWAYS, besides that, the place IS great, staff IS friendly/helpful overall, location couldn't be better, and the value is good too. We'd go back, but ONLY if we are certain if there's a standard $4 alarm clock and sound buffers installed in the door jams.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    I hate shopping at Wal-Mart, but somehow felt it was okay in Mexico. It is only 5 blocks down the road, and was really handy. Also, El Fogon is right just 1 block from that. El Fogon is a truely authentic Mexican restaurant that we enjoyed more than almost ALL other restaurants on 5th (the main tourist drag). It doesn't LOOK that nice, but is reasonably priced (unlike so many places on 5th), and sooo good!

    Back to menu Return to top