Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
View map of Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
77 reviews
Ok room, great location!

Rooms are pretty basic, although having the fridge was very nice. Our bathroom had ants on the... See full review

  • Jamn
  • Feb 3, 2015
Hotel is like a dream!

Wow. From first walking in the door we were completely amazed. Concierge provides cool towels and... See full review

  • Matt Oz
  • Apr 7, 2014

The Illusion Boutique Hotel is strategically located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests. Property has a rooftop that has a spectacular large terrace with magnificent view over the Mexican Caribbean, a relaxing plunge pool, and a holistic room for enjoying massages.

Rooms

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Property features

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. The rooftop features a large terrace with beautiful views of the Caribbean Sea. Guests can also have soothing massages on site or savor delicious breakfast every morning, at Nuestra Casa restaurant.

Highlights
  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
  • Close to the beach and shopping outlets at 5th Avenue
Nearby attractions
  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only Rooms

Mirage
Features:

  • 330 sq. ft. 1 king size bed or 2 queen beds available upon request
  • High-speed Internet
  • TV with cable/satellite
  • Refrigerator
  • A/C with remote control
  • Hairdryer
  • In-room safe deposit box
  • Ceiling fan
  • Mirage with Balcony
    Features:

  • 330 sq. ft. with 1 king bed
  • High-speed Internet
  • TV with cable/satellite
  • Refrigerator
  • A/C with remote control
  • Hairdryer
  • In-room safe deposit box
  • Ceiling fan
  • Prestige
    Features:

  • 426 sq. ft. with 1 king bed and a convertible futon
  • Terrace
  • Partial ocean view
  • TV with cable/satellite
  • Refrigerator
  • A/C with remote control
  • Hairdryer
  • In-room safe deposit box
  • Ceiling fan
  • Wake up calls on request
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cabana Vision
    Each room is decorated uniquely with a flare of Indonesian furniture..
    The 5th floor offers:
  • 440 sqft luxury rooms with a king size bed
  • Remote control A/C
  • VOIP phone
  • In room safe
  • Mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities
  • High speed internet access is also available
  • Ceiling fan
  • Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Solarium
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    In-Room Safe
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    WiFi

    Hotel Map

    20.6255 -87.0726
    Area served
    Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, Isla Mujeres, Cancun, Xcaret, Xplor, Xelha, Tulum, Puerto Aventuras, Playacar.
    Nearby airports
    Cancun International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes.
    Area description
    Located in the heart of the cosmopolitan Playa del Carmen, at the intersection of the famous "Quinta Avenida" Fifth Avenue and 8th Street North, both a packed with upscale fashionable stores, boutiques, cafes and restaurants bars. * A few yards from the pristine sand beach and turquoise sea waters. * In the entertainment district. * Full-service health spa in walking distance. * Close to Banks and ATM machines. * Nearby the most popular walking shopping street "5th Avenue".

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (77)

    Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Overall score

    4.1 / 5
    5.01.0
    77 out of 77
    Amenities:
    3.6
    Cleanliness:
    4.5
    Hotel staff:
    4.6
    Comfort:
    4.2
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    4.3

    92% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Friends
    Irvine, CA
    Apr 3, 2010

    Illusion Hotel Review

    The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, always asking about our day and jumping right in to ask how our vacation was going (not just our stay at the hotel), gave us tips, directions, and helped us out when we screwed up the safe combination! The hotel restaurant was meh, but who cares, we shouldn't have eaten at the hotel restaurant on our vacation anyway. It was ridiculously inexpensive given its proximity to the beach.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    See everything first

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Couples
    Ogden, UT
    Mar 31, 2010

    Great Place!

    The hotel is situated between 5th ave and the ocean yet it was surprisingly quiet. It was well kept and very clean. the staff was nice and did not try to sell anything-just helpful advice. They have a restaurant attached that brewed weak coffee so i went down one block to a Starbucks.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    do not eat on 5th if your looking to save money. Eat at "el Fugon" on the southwest street next to Walmart- great local food.

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Couples
    Menomonie, WI
    Mar 29, 2010

    A great hotel for the money

    My wife and I traveled to Playa on March 21 and stayed a week at the Illusion Botique. We can't say enough about this wonderful, little home away from home. The staff was great and helped us with every question we had. The only thing that we thought would be better was if the hotel put umbrellas around the pool for shade from the sun. We would definitely stay at this hotel again if we went to Playa. We had everything we wanted or needed that we have ever had at any other hotel. Overall, our trip was a great one!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Couples
    Wisconsin
    Mar 24, 2010

    Clean, quiet, close to beach

    The King size bed was the ticket after a nice sunny hot day on the beach. The remote for the air conditioner came in really handy at night. The restraunt is connected and really very good. The desk clerk told us on the second day our package didn't include so we couldn't have anymore free continental breakfast. The paperwork I had along did not specify but I discovered back home that the package I chose on [...] did include free continental breakfast.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Don't forget to get beach passes at front desk in morning!

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Mamie HV
    Couples
    Canada
    Mar 18, 2010

    Nice location

    Very good location, nice staff, breakfast not so bad: toast with strawberry jam, coffee and orange juice. The bed was very hard. I'm not sure if i'll return there.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Family
    Brainerd, MN
    Mar 11, 2010

    Great Location

    The hotel had a great location, 1/2 block from beach and 1/2 block from 5th street.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Prices go down further you go inland. Watch for wear all the locals eat them selves.

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    ah-rrrron
    Couples
    Portland, OR
    Mar 6, 2010

    Good, but could EASILY be better.

    The location couldn't be better! The pool is on the roof, is tiny-small and shallow, but because the perfect beach is literally just steps out the door, we never even considered spending any time at the pool, and likely wouldn't have even if it was "a great pool." What made us a little upset about the place was that there was no clock in our room (alarm clock SHOULD come standard in even the worst MOTELS). We did ask for a wake up call at 7:15 am one morning and woke up about an hour later because we never got a wake up call! I was pretty upset because we were getting up so early to go on a trip to Xelha that morning, but had to do it another day thanks to them. I let the lady know at the front desk and she was unapologetic and tried emplying that I never asked for the wake up call, which made me even more upset. Also, the place is naturally loud because of the attrium with a restaurant at the bottom (plates and forks constantly clinking, occasional belly-laughs, loud voices, etc). But this could also be easily remedied by adequately installing "sound barriers" between the door and the door jams. There is sooo much space between the door and the jam that it made me really question why they didn't spend the $20 per room to properly seal the doors. ANYWAYS, besides that, the place IS great, staff IS friendly/helpful overall, location couldn't be better, and the value is good too. We'd go back, but ONLY if we are certain if there's a standard $4 alarm clock and sound buffers installed in the door jams.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    I hate shopping at Wal-Mart, but somehow felt it was okay in Mexico. It is only 5 blocks down the road, and was really handy. Also, El Fogon is right just 1 block from that. El Fogon is a truely authentic Mexican restaurant that we enjoyed more than almost ALL other restaurants on 5th (the main tourist drag). It doesn't LOOK that nice, but is reasonably priced (unlike so many places on 5th), and sooo good!

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Seasoned Playa Traveler
    Couples
    Minneapolis MN
    Feb 21, 2010

    Adequate but their showers could use hel

    Staff was very friendly. Great location. Rooms were very clean. The shower preasure was weak and the water was either very cold or very hot. It was tought to find warm.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Couples
    NY, NY
    Feb 13, 2010

    Perfect hotel for the price

    -The staff was very friendly and trust-worthy. -The free breakfast was simple, small and the same every day, which was perfect for us since we're not big breakfast eaters, but if you enjoy large, varied breakfasts, you will be disappointed. -The beautiful rooms on the website are the honeymoon rooms. The rest of the rooms are dark and kind of musty, as they do not get any fresh air. The only windows look out into the hall/central patio area of the hotel, thus making them unsafe to keep open (the actual window or shades). -The FREE built-in safe in room, which you set the code for, was much appreciated! -Wish they had a sliver of beach space and set up some chairs. Otherwise, you have to camp out w/ your towels or PAY to sit in a beach chair of a neighboring hotel or bar. -Convenient location- close to all in Playa del Carmen 5th Ave. strip. -Overall, great value for the money.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Felmingham
    Couples
    Australia
    Jan 3, 2010

    Great location great value

    Got great value [...]only $88 bargaingreat location and room was very comfortable with king bed and air condso close to everything

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    Visit 12 th street for best nightlife!

    Back to menu Return to top