$105 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 25, 2015

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
View map of Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Tom
Charlotte, NC
Oct 8, 2012

Friendly staff in convenient location for walking

My 2nd time staying in this hotel. Really enjoyed the location and the staff is very attentive, friendly, and accomodating. 24 hour security as well. Steps to the beach and excellent beach clubs, as well as all the shops & restaurants on 5th Ave. Also, if you take the nice $9 ADA bus from the airport, you can walk the 5 blocks to the hotel from bus station easily, then just cab back to the airport on your return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Highly recommend many restaurants off the streets running from 5th Ave, and also on 10th Ave... explore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati Ohio
Mar 30, 2011

Great Botique Hotel, amazing location

Amazing location, right off main street of 5th Avenue, feet from the beach and a few blocks walk from the bus station and a block from the taxi areas. The rooms are nice with huge two person shower, I can not believe I am saying this but the shower water pressure was almost to powerful !! Unbelievealby clean hotel, nice and quiet. The bed was ok, it was no heavenly bed !! Beautiful new flat screen tv with some english tv channels, free Wifi, and a fridge with a stocked mini bar if you need it, and a coffee machine in the room as well. Great service at the front deak, [...]ROCKED !!!!!!!and made us feel like we where staying at someones house not a hotel !! The resort has a nice sun bathing area and a pool, but this is a small two feet deep pool, to hang out in not a huge swimming pool. The tables around the hotel are perfect for enjoying time in Mexico, great hotel, we will stay here again !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wickys..the beach bar they may recommend has amazing bacon wrapped shrimp !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daddybear
Business
edmonton canada
Jun 20, 2011

great location &I friendly helpful staff

I stayed at Illusion Hotel while on vacation with family that were staying at a 5 star resort down the road. after seeing there rooms I was glad I was not able to book a room there. I enjoyed the location 1/2 block to beach 1/2 block to 5 Ave. with great shopping, restaurants, street entertainment, great to just people watch, I hope to return again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the upper rooms are a little nicer 3rd 4th floor.especially the pool level as your room has plenty of light and are not facing into the court yard. I upgraded to the 3rd floor as the lower rooms were to closed in for me. All room are clean and well kept. only short coming is the pool is a wading pool 3ft deep,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
québec
Mar 21, 2011

wonderful

Wonderful place located by the 5 avenue and 30 sec walk from the playa del carmen beach! Beautiful spot, safe, quiet and perfect to spend a week! Breakfast included was great too! Little pool on the roof, perfect spot to come in the aternoon! Hoo yeah and the Staff are the most friendly and helpful I've seen! See you soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenean loved playa del carmen!
Business
cancun
Apr 15, 2011

The Illusion hotel is a wonderful place

The location was perfect for the beach, shopping and dining. The staff was very polite and attentive. The hotel was very clean. We had a good stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeMaltMan
Business
NYC
Mar 28, 2011

Perfectly adequate hotel, great location

The hotel:* perfect location (just off the 5th Ave action, 1 block from beach, 5 blocks to ADO bus station, 8 blocks to ferry)* free wifi (good speeds)* friendly staffMy room:* firm King bed* AC + ceiling fan* safe deposit box* futon (~queen)* 19" tube w/ cable* fridge (had some soft drinks, not free)* decent restroom -- good shower, no bath* enough AC plugs around to charge my junk* no bugs[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carboncitos (4th Street | Between 5th and 10th Avenues) has an amazing happy hour (3p or 4p til 6p): 2 tacos, chips, salsa, margarita for 36 pesos (that's $5 w/ tip). YUM!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida
Apr 5, 2011

Excellent cust.services,location,clean

I highly recommended if you want to relax,great location,no far from the beach,very clean,excelent customer services. Near the main street where you could find restaurants and stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We ate at the restaurant from the hotel and services,food and prices were acceptable, compare to another restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine xo
Business
Maine
Mar 7, 2011

Location, comfort, and staff

This pretty hotel is in the heart of it all, but just enough away to make it a peaceful setting. It's small, tropical ambiance gave me the feeling of coming home at the end of my explorations. The beach is just steps from the entrance. Ave. 5 where great food, shopping, bars are steps away and at your fingertips. I won't hesitate to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Feb 13, 2011

Great location

Located a few yards from a beautiful beach. Very close to 5th street where you find a great selection of shops and places to eat. Neat rooms and beautiful arquitecture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Menomonie, WI
Mar 29, 2010

A great hotel for the money

My wife and I traveled to Playa on March 21 and stayed a week at the Illusion Botique. We can't say enough about this wonderful, little home away from home. The staff was great and helped us with every question we had. The only thing that we thought would be better was if the hotel put umbrellas around the pool for shade from the sun. We would definitely stay at this hotel again if we went to Playa. We had everything we wanted or needed that we have ever had at any other hotel. Overall, our trip was a great one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Apr 17, 2010

We loved this hotel.

We loved staying at the Illusion. It was an absolute perfect location with a beautiful view from the rooftop terrace. The added free computer use in the lobby area was an unexpected bonus. They have a little exchange library that was also a nice touch. We enjoyed the free continental breakfast which included toast and a pastry and coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice. It was all we needed to start the day. The housekeeping staff always left our room perfect with nice towel art (which we always enjoy). Beach towels were readily available at the front desk and we were always greeted when passing through the lobby. This trip was with my sister but I look forward to staying there next year with my husband. It's a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Learn to use the public transportation. You will save lots of money traveling to the extended areas like Tulum and Akumal and Puerto Morelos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top