$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
142 reviews
pleasantly Suprised

It was great! we will tell friends and family and will return, the staff especially the front desk... See full review

  • Grandma Ruth
  • May 22, 2014
Hotel is like a dream!

Wow. From first walking in the door we were completely amazed. Concierge provides cool towels and... See full review

  • Matt Oz
  • Apr 7, 2014
Small Playa del Carmen hotel with inner courtyard, rooftop pool
The Illusion Boutique Hotel is located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story, 41-suite beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests, a rooftop freshwater swimming pool and sunbathing area and poolside bar.
Highlights:
  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
Rooms:

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Features:

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. Relaxing is easy with a massage in the spa, overlooking the ocean. The rooftop dipping pool deck is another favorite relaxation spot at Illusions Boutique Hotel.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)
Business­
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available

Hotel Map

20.6256 -87.0724
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, Isla Mujeres, Cancun, Xcaret, Xplor, Xelha, Tulum, Puerto Aventuras, Playacar.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes.
Area description
Located in the heart of the cosmopolitan Playa del Carmen, at the intersection of the famous "Quinta Avenida" Fifth Avenue and 8th Street North, both a packed with upscale fashionable stores, boutiques, cafes and restaurants bars. * A few yards from the pristine sand beach and turquoise sea waters. * In the entertainment district. * Full-service health spa in walking distance. * Close to Banks and ATM machines. * Nearby the most popular walking shopping street "5th Avenue".

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only Rooms

Mirage
330 sq. ft. 1 king size bed or 2 queen beds available upon request, window, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Mirage with Balcony
330 sq. ft. with 1 king bed, balcony 5th Avenue view or ocean view, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Prestige
426 sq. ft. with 1 king bed and a convertible futon, terrace, pool and ocean view, high-speed Internet, 20" TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan, wake up calls on request, microwave oven and coffee maker.
Cabana Vision
Each room is decorated uniquely with a flare of Indonesian furniture. The 5th floor offers 440 sqft luxury rooms with a king size bed, spacious terrace and solarium with wet bar and pool only a few steps away. Enjoy the privacy and breath taking ocean front view. Large sliding glass doors for you to embrace the Caribbean. All guestrooms have remote control A/C, ceiling fan, 20" TV with remote control, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, VOIP phone, radio clock/Ipod base, in room safe, mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities. High speed internet access is also available

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY NY
Jul 22, 2011

Perfect location, clean, friendly staff

Excellent value for the money. Just a few doors down from the beach and 5th Avenue, but still quiet. A few blocks from the main bus stop and the ferry to Cozumel. Rooms were very clean and comfortable with great, big showers. Staff was very nice and helpful. Free passes to 2 different beach clubs with minimum bar/food purchase.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY NY
Jul 22, 2011

Perfect location, clean, friendly staff

Excellent value for the money. Just a few doors down from the beach and 5th Avenue, but still quiet. A few blocks from the main bus stop and the ferry to Cozumel. Rooms were very clean and comfortable with great, big showers. Staff was very nice and helpful. Free passes to 2 different beach clubs with minimum bar/food purchase.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
emili
new york
Jun 26, 2011

Perfect for the price

Best location to the beach and 5th avenue. Hotel was clean and the staff Was friendly. Good price for the location, you got what you paid for. I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
emili
new york
Jun 26, 2011

Perfect for the price

Best location to the beach and 5th avenue. Hotel was clean and the staff Was friendly. Good price for the location, you got what you paid for. I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daddybear
edmonton canada
Jun 20, 2011

great location &I friendly helpful staff

I stayed at Illusion Hotel while on vacation with family that were staying at a 5 star resort down the road. after seeing there rooms I was glad I was not able to book a room there. I enjoyed the location 1/2 block to beach 1/2 block to 5 Ave. with great shopping, restaurants, street entertainment, great to just people watch, I hope to return again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the upper rooms are a little nicer 3rd 4th floor.especially the pool level as your room has plenty of light and are not facing into the court yard. I upgraded to the 3rd floor as the lower rooms were to closed in for me. All room are clean and well kept. only short coming is the pool is a wading pool 3ft deep,

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daddybear
edmonton canada
Jun 20, 2011

great location &I friendly helpful staff

I stayed at Illusion Hotel while on vacation with family that were staying at a 5 star resort down the road. after seeing there rooms I was glad I was not able to book a room there. I enjoyed the location 1/2 block to beach 1/2 block to 5 Ave. with great shopping, restaurants, street entertainment, great to just people watch, I hope to return again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the upper rooms are a little nicer 3rd 4th floor.especially the pool level as your room has plenty of light and are not facing into the court yard. I upgraded to the 3rd floor as the lower rooms were to closed in for me. All room are clean and well kept. only short coming is the pool is a wading pool 3ft deep,

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, Mn
May 4, 2011

Awesome Hotel

The Illusions Hotel was everything we had hoped for and more! The hotel was beautiful yet casual feel.Our room was perfect. We would likely rent one of the rooftop rooms next time. The pool and lounge area also on the rooftop was lovely. The pool is small, but just perfect for cooling off while enjoying the incredible oceanview!The entire staff at the Illusions hotel was great!! They were freindly and helpful every day that we were there. We especially enjoyed [...]the Hotel manager who typically works the 3-11 pm shift. He made sure we were enjoying our stay at the Hotel each and everyday. The location is 1 block to all the action on 5th Avenue and steps away to the beach.We had a wonderful 5 day trip and will definitely be back to stay at this Hotel. I would like to add that though we were right off the beach and a block away from all the action we still were able to enjoy the peacefulness this Hotel offers. Illusions is not a loud and crazy place, but if you want that it's just steps away!!! This Hotel was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining was just steps away from the Hotel. Prices varied; we thought overall prices were a little high, BUT if you spend a little time walking up and down 5th Avenue you can find all sorts of food types and prices. Just shop around if price is a big concern.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, Mn
May 4, 2011

Awesome Hotel

The Illusions Hotel was everything we had hoped for and more! The hotel was beautiful yet casual feel.Our room was perfect. We would likely rent one of the rooftop rooms next time. The pool and lounge area also on the rooftop was lovely. The pool is small, but just perfect for cooling off while enjoying the incredible oceanview!The entire staff at the Illusions hotel was great!! They were freindly and helpful every day that we were there. We especially enjoyed [...]the Hotel manager who typically works the 3-11 pm shift. He made sure we were enjoying our stay at the Hotel each and everyday. The location is 1 block to all the action on 5th Avenue and steps away to the beach.We had a wonderful 5 day trip and will definitely be back to stay at this Hotel. I would like to add that though we were right off the beach and a block away from all the action we still were able to enjoy the peacefulness this Hotel offers. Illusions is not a loud and crazy place, but if you want that it's just steps away!!! This Hotel was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining was just steps away from the Hotel. Prices varied; we thought overall prices were a little high, BUT if you spend a little time walking up and down 5th Avenue you can find all sorts of food types and prices. Just shop around if price is a big concern.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenean loved playa del carmen!
cancun
Apr 15, 2011

The Illusion hotel is a wonderful place

The location was perfect for the beach, shopping and dining. The staff was very polite and attentive. The hotel was very clean. We had a good stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenean loved playa del carmen!
cancun
Apr 15, 2011

The Illusion hotel is a wonderful place

The location was perfect for the beach, shopping and dining. The staff was very polite and attentive. The hotel was very clean. We had a good stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top