$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
View map of Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Tom
Charlotte, NC
Oct 8, 2012

Friendly staff in convenient location for walking

My 2nd time staying in this hotel. Really enjoyed the location and the staff is very attentive, friendly, and accomodating. 24 hour security as well. Steps to the beach and excellent beach clubs, as well as all the shops & restaurants on 5th Ave. Also, if you take the nice $9 ADA bus from the airport, you can walk the 5 blocks to the hotel from bus station easily, then just cab back to the airport on your return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Highly recommend many restaurants off the streets running from 5th Ave, and also on 10th Ave... explore.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
poppi
Business
puebla , mexico
Jul 16, 2012

excellent

The staff helped in everything and the location was excellent when you are a fan from the 5 da avenida.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Tom
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 11, 2012

Wonderful Staff in a great location for walking everywhere

Will definitely stay at this hotel again. Staff is amazing, all extremely friendly, and very attentive. Hotel is very clean and tidy, right near the middle of town & right off beach. Very secure as someone always at the desk when I entered even late night. Open air area in middle of hotel to sky and the roof, where a small wade pool and lounge chairs await. Opt for the contential breakfast that comes w/ juice, coffee, tea yogarts w/ topings, and attendents served fruit in a canister w/ bread and/or pastry on individual trays.. hearty enough to begin the day. Was surprised to return to my room one day and find it decorated w/ ballons all about my bed for my birthday. This hotel values their guest and it shows. Can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit the side streets as much there as well as was surprised to find so many places on those streets as well. Some open after midnight when the main Fifth Ave. starts to get deserted.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mguzman
Business
Chicago, Illinois
May 14, 2012

AWESOME!

Great service, friendly people. Loved the continetal breakfast. I recomend this hotel. We will go back for a second time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the action

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vands
Business
Austin, Texas
Apr 30, 2012

first romantic getaway

We chose this hotel as its very close to the 5th Avenue-playa del carmen's downtown and also because its close to the beach. Everything was pretty close and we didnt have to walk much for anything...Restaurants, travel reservations(for tulum/xel-ha/chitchen-itza etc., tours), shopping..Staff were friendly and they helped us in booking a cab going back..But our room didnt have much ocean view. We cared less as we were out most of the time..We paid a little extra for room with balcony but we realized later it was not necessary as we never really used it..There is a small pool on the top floor. Breakfast was ok..Not great..There is a bus station close to the hotel too..Minutes walk...So you can take a bus from airport to the bus station which is much cheaper than a cab...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

In Playa Del Carmen Downtown..Very close to the beach, playa's downtown and attractions and hotels....

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don Roberto
Business
Michigan, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Illusions Boutique Hotel

Fantastic location--steps away from the tacky restaurants and souvenir shops on Fifth Avenue and half a block from a great beach. The staff tries very hard to please, and usually does. Otherwise, this hotel is about on par with a decent, $60-a-night Best Western or La Quinta just off some interstate. The continental breakfast that came with our package consisted of toast, fruit, cereal and pound cake, and was disappointing. Contrary to advertising, the hotel does allow children and does not have its own beach club. Instead, it gives vouchers for the Mosquito Beach Hotel beach club, which is at the end of the block and is quite posh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Babe's, a Thai noodle place on 10th St. Further afield, we like Alux--so-so food, but a great setting--and La Cueva del Chango. The Chango has moved on, but the ambience is nice and the food is good.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alissaj
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Excellent Location!

Great value for the price! Just steps from the ocean and shops - Very helpful staff - Would NOT purchase the breakfast with the hotel - there are too many great restaurants to try in the area - FYI only ocean view rooms are an upgrade to the rooftop deck area - Worth the upgrade:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved our sunset dinner at "Fusion" located on the beach - Also great dinner on 5th at Venta

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scottiem
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Mar 1, 2012

long weekend

we loved the hotel. we stayed on the rooftop suites. the room was large and comfortable. it was close to everything. the staff was great! will definitely be back if

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Old Beach Bum
Business
Dallas, Texas
Dec 28, 2011

Playa del Carmen at it's best

Excellent loging experience. Everything well kept and clean. Stayed in a room with an ocean view. Not fancy or opulent, but not dull or dingy either. Half a block from the beach where we spent days and half a block from 5th avenue where we spent nights. Everything within walking distance including the ferry to Cozumel (4 blocks) and good old Walmart (3 blocks).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hate Cold Weather
Business
Berks, PA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

A Great Place

The motel was clean and beautiful. I loved the plants in the inner courtyard and the rooms were nice with a good shower and comfy bed. The pool was perfect for cooling off and the view was wonderful from the roof. We loved the location - so close to the beach and all the 5th Avenue action. We would definitely recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mwilk311
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Dec 22, 2011

Playa Trip

The rooms are clean and friendly staff. Not a 5 star hotel by any means but they certainly don't charge like they are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Spend your days on the beach at the Playa Maya. Excellent staff good food and great prices.

Back to menu Return to top