$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
View map of Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPRick
Business
Australia
Nov 17, 2011

Four day getaway from Belize

We were disappointed with the room we booked when we arrived. We'd imagined a bigger balcony, i.e. something wider than one seat, and not of an ordinary Street. SO we upgraded to a Suite. It was amazing and not expensive. That made our stay. Well, that and the staff. The first room, and the one we ended up with, were clean, new and very well presented. Every day the towels were shaped into different animals. It's a small thing, but emblematic of the nice service we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the beach in front of the hotel in the evening. And the clubs along the beach. It's a lovely beach, and plenty of music to choose from there.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KathrynM
Business
Reno, NV, USA
Oct 30, 2011

Great Location, Great Value!

My husband and I selected this hotel for our first trip to Playa del Carmen. First, the location is fantastic! It is on Calle 8 between the beach and 5th Ave which is where all of the shops and restaurants are loc ated. Just take the ADO bus from the airport and walk north on 5th Ave to Calle 8 then turn right. We were greated nicely at the front desk and offered two bottles of ice cold water when we checked in...nice touch! Our room was large by Mexico standards, clean, and had a refrigerator and a safe. There was a purified water dispenser on every floor of the hotel to keep our water bottles full, another nice touch. There was also a tea/coffee station in the lobby throughout the day and evening. The hotel is "adults only" which my husband and I prefer. My only gripe about the service was one night when a group of guests were sitting outside talking very loudly until 2am. I was very frustrated that the hotel staff didn't bother to do anything about them, and I finally had to approach the group myself and ask them to please go inside a room. Other than that, the staff were very knowlegable and friendly, and Playa del Carmen is a wonderful place to vacation. My husband and I spent a day in Cozumel which was a waste in my opinion unless you're going snorkeling or fishing. Tulum was amazing...I suggest downloading a podcast and touring at your own pace because the guided tour is expensive (my husband and I are budget travellers!) Our vacation was limited a little by the threat of hurricane Rina (which ended up being a tropical storm) so we are planning on going back and going to Xcaret and Chichen Itza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cchamb
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Good location and room for the price, but the amentities need improvement

I just got back from a 5 night stay at the illusion boutique hotel in playa del carmen and stayed in the luxury rooftop room. The staff was very friendly and helpful and our room was nice and spacious. We were on the top floor so our glass door opened to the patio which had suntanning chairs and a small pool. If it weren't for the room i probably would have given this hotel a worse review, but since it was big and had the large bed, futon, refrigerator and microwave i was happy with my hotel choice. Other than the room, the pool was small and was only 2 feet deep, they claim to have a bar (which they do) but it is not open yet so there is no one working at it and there is no option to buy drinks or food. the breakfast was small and was nothing more than a loaf of bread for toast, a fruit plate, and sometimes small boxes of cereal or yogurt. for the extra 8 or so dollars per day per person it is definitely not worth it. They do have wireless internet throughout the hotel which is nice and they have a computer next to the lobby for public use but it is old so do not expect to be able to do anything other than surf the internet. The staff and location were both great. the hotel is right on the corner of 8th street and 5th ave which is right in the middle of everything going on. Overall, the location and staff were both great but the hotel has a lot of things missing that would have made our stay much more enjoyable. if you are looking for nothing more than a decent room to stay in without spending a lot of money then i would recommend this hotel if you are planning on booking a luxury rooftop room. otherwise, if you want a hotel with additional amenities i would keep looking even if it means staying in a nicer hotel but getting a standard room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to eat at restaraunts or buy from shops that are a little off of 5th ave instead of directly on 5th ave. The price drops significantly and you will get much more for your money in almost anything you are planning on buying.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY NY
Jul 22, 2011

Perfect location, clean, friendly staff

Excellent value for the money. Just a few doors down from the beach and 5th Avenue, but still quiet. A few blocks from the main bus stop and the ferry to Cozumel. Rooms were very clean and comfortable with great, big showers. Staff was very nice and helpful. Free passes to 2 different beach clubs with minimum bar/food purchase.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
emili
Business
new york
Jun 26, 2011

Perfect for the price

Best location to the beach and 5th avenue. Hotel was clean and the staff Was friendly. Good price for the location, you got what you paid for. I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daddybear
Business
edmonton canada
Jun 20, 2011

great location &I friendly helpful staff

I stayed at Illusion Hotel while on vacation with family that were staying at a 5 star resort down the road. after seeing there rooms I was glad I was not able to book a room there. I enjoyed the location 1/2 block to beach 1/2 block to 5 Ave. with great shopping, restaurants, street entertainment, great to just people watch, I hope to return again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the upper rooms are a little nicer 3rd 4th floor.especially the pool level as your room has plenty of light and are not facing into the court yard. I upgraded to the 3rd floor as the lower rooms were to closed in for me. All room are clean and well kept. only short coming is the pool is a wading pool 3ft deep,

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, Mn
May 4, 2011

Awesome Hotel

The Illusions Hotel was everything we had hoped for and more! The hotel was beautiful yet casual feel.Our room was perfect. We would likely rent one of the rooftop rooms next time. The pool and lounge area also on the rooftop was lovely. The pool is small, but just perfect for cooling off while enjoying the incredible oceanview!The entire staff at the Illusions hotel was great!! They were freindly and helpful every day that we were there. We especially enjoyed [...]the Hotel manager who typically works the 3-11 pm shift. He made sure we were enjoying our stay at the Hotel each and everyday. The location is 1 block to all the action on 5th Avenue and steps away to the beach.We had a wonderful 5 day trip and will definitely be back to stay at this Hotel. I would like to add that though we were right off the beach and a block away from all the action we still were able to enjoy the peacefulness this Hotel offers. Illusions is not a loud and crazy place, but if you want that it's just steps away!!! This Hotel was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining was just steps away from the Hotel. Prices varied; we thought overall prices were a little high, BUT if you spend a little time walking up and down 5th Avenue you can find all sorts of food types and prices. Just shop around if price is a big concern.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenean loved playa del carmen!
Business
cancun
Apr 15, 2011

The Illusion hotel is a wonderful place

The location was perfect for the beach, shopping and dining. The staff was very polite and attentive. The hotel was very clean. We had a good stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida
Apr 5, 2011

Excellent cust.services,location,clean

I highly recommended if you want to relax,great location,no far from the beach,very clean,excelent customer services. Near the main street where you could find restaurants and stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We ate at the restaurant from the hotel and services,food and prices were acceptable, compare to another restaurant.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati Ohio
Mar 30, 2011

Great Botique Hotel, amazing location

Amazing location, right off main street of 5th Avenue, feet from the beach and a few blocks walk from the bus station and a block from the taxi areas. The rooms are nice with huge two person shower, I can not believe I am saying this but the shower water pressure was almost to powerful !! Unbelievealby clean hotel, nice and quiet. The bed was ok, it was no heavenly bed !! Beautiful new flat screen tv with some english tv channels, free Wifi, and a fridge with a stocked mini bar if you need it, and a coffee machine in the room as well. Great service at the front deak, [...]ROCKED !!!!!!!and made us feel like we where staying at someones house not a hotel !! The resort has a nice sun bathing area and a pool, but this is a small two feet deep pool, to hang out in not a huge swimming pool. The tables around the hotel are perfect for enjoying time in Mexico, great hotel, we will stay here again !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wickys..the beach bar they may recommend has amazing bacon wrapped shrimp !!!

Back to menu Return to top