Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
90 reviews
pleasantly Suprised

It was great! we will tell friends and family and will return, the staff especially the front desk... See full review

  • Grandma Ruth
  • May 22, 2014
Hotel is like a dream!

Wow. From first walking in the door we were completely amazed. Concierge provides cool towels and... See full review

  • Matt Oz
  • Apr 7, 2014
Playa del Carmen boutique hotel with inner courtyard, rooftop pool
The Illusion Boutique Hotel is strategically located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story, 41-suite beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests, a rooftop freshwater swimming pool and sunbathing area and poolside bar.
Highlights:
  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
  • Close to the beach and shopping outlets at 5th Avenue
Rooms:

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Features:

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. The rooftop features a large terrace with beautiful views of the Caribbean Sea. Guests can also have soothing massages on site or savor delicious breakfast every morning, at Nuestra Casa restaurant.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)
Business­
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only Rooms

Mirage
330 sq. ft. 1 king size bed or 2 queen beds available upon request, window, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Mirage with Balcony
330 sq. ft. with 1 king bed, balcony 5th Avenue view or ocean view, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Prestige
426 sq. ft. with 1 king bed and a convertible futon, terrace, pool and ocean view, high-speed Internet, 20" TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan, wake up calls on request, microwave oven and coffee maker.
Cabana Vision
Each room is decorated uniquely with a flare of Indonesian furniture. The 5th floor offers 440 sqft luxury rooms with a king size bed, spacious terrace and solarium with wet bar and pool only a few steps away. Enjoy the privacy and breath taking partial ocean view. Large sliding glass doors for you to embrace the Caribbean. All guestrooms have remote control A/C, ceiling fan, 20" TV with remote control, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, VOIP phone, radio clock/Ipod base, in room safe, mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities. High speed internet access is also available

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

20.6256 -87.0724
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, Isla Mujeres, Cancun, Xcaret, Xplor, Xelha, Tulum, Puerto Aventuras, Playacar.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes.
Area description
Located in the heart of the cosmopolitan Playa del Carmen, at the intersection of the famous "Quinta Avenida" Fifth Avenue and 8th Street North, both a packed with upscale fashionable stores, boutiques, cafes and restaurants bars. * A few yards from the pristine sand beach and turquoise sea waters. * In the entertainment district. * Full-service health spa in walking distance. * Close to Banks and ATM machines. * Nearby the most popular walking shopping street "5th Avenue".

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Nov 23, 2009

Small & charming but under construction

The good stuff first - this is a charming little hotel in a perfect location and friendly staff. Free internet and wi-fi. The not-so-good - The pool is MUCH smaller than it looks in the picture and reeks of chlorine so we did not use it. Part of the hotel was under construction throughout our stay (day AND night)which made it a noisy stay. They did accomodate us with a baby crib and the breakfast is a nice perk. Don't go for the upgrade to a room with a private balcony - they all have it... Overall we would recommend this hotel but only on the 4th floor and check regarding the construction ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

100% Natural is our favorite restaurant - healthy yummy food and great service/prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cchamb
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Good location and room for the price, but the amentities need improvement

I just got back from a 5 night stay at the illusion boutique hotel in playa del carmen and stayed in the luxury rooftop room. The staff was very friendly and helpful and our room was nice and spacious. We were on the top floor so our glass door opened to the patio which had suntanning chairs and a small pool. If it weren't for the room i probably would have given this hotel a worse review, but since it was big and had the large bed, futon, refrigerator and microwave i was happy with my hotel choice. Other than the room, the pool was small and was only 2 feet deep, they claim to have a bar (which they do) but it is not open yet so there is no one working at it and there is no option to buy drinks or food. the breakfast was small and was nothing more than a loaf of bread for toast, a fruit plate, and sometimes small boxes of cereal or yogurt. for the extra 8 or so dollars per day per person it is definitely not worth it. They do have wireless internet throughout the hotel which is nice and they have a computer next to the lobby for public use but it is old so do not expect to be able to do anything other than surf the internet. The staff and location were both great. the hotel is right on the corner of 8th street and 5th ave which is right in the middle of everything going on. Overall, the location and staff were both great but the hotel has a lot of things missing that would have made our stay much more enjoyable. if you are looking for nothing more than a decent room to stay in without spending a lot of money then i would recommend this hotel if you are planning on booking a luxury rooftop room. otherwise, if you want a hotel with additional amenities i would keep looking even if it means staying in a nicer hotel but getting a standard room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to eat at restaraunts or buy from shops that are a little off of 5th ave instead of directly on 5th ave. The price drops significantly and you will get much more for your money in almost anything you are planning on buying.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JKH
Business
NJ
Jan 23, 2010

Nice Value Hotel

Very nice and friendly. 1/2 block to beach but during the week we were there all 15 blocks of town were under beach restitution. Looked great as we were leaving. Our room was noisy with occasional kitchen noise, loud neighbors. Roof pool was nice but needed umbrellas. Continental breakfast was simple but good with eggs as an additional cost. This place is in the center of the best parts of Playa del Carmen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
judass67
Business
Rosenberg, TX, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Adult Family Vacation

Staff was wonderful, concierge Mahatma is the BEST!!! Location is the BEST!! just about a block from the beach! only problem was we booked 2 queen beds and when we arrived we had one King bed. They put an extra twin bed. We offered to pay more for another room they said it was not available, but as soon as it was they would give us the room. They did not, even though I noticed that 2 doors down a few days later a room was unoccupied. Other that it was Great. They gave us private airport transportation for the price of a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

we dined where the locals do and the food was awesome and very inexpensive. There is a Walmart about 15 min walk so you can stock up your mini bar. (cokes, beer, snacks etc…)Take a taxi back with you groceries for about 3 dollars or less..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KathrynM
Business
Reno, NV, USA
Oct 30, 2011

Great Location, Great Value!

My husband and I selected this hotel for our first trip to Playa del Carmen. First, the location is fantastic! It is on Calle 8 between the beach and 5th Ave which is where all of the shops and restaurants are loc ated. Just take the ADO bus from the airport and walk north on 5th Ave to Calle 8 then turn right. We were greated nicely at the front desk and offered two bottles of ice cold water when we checked in...nice touch! Our room was large by Mexico standards, clean, and had a refrigerator and a safe. There was a purified water dispenser on every floor of the hotel to keep our water bottles full, another nice touch. There was also a tea/coffee station in the lobby throughout the day and evening. The hotel is "adults only" which my husband and I prefer. My only gripe about the service was one night when a group of guests were sitting outside talking very loudly until 2am. I was very frustrated that the hotel staff didn't bother to do anything about them, and I finally had to approach the group myself and ask them to please go inside a room. Other than that, the staff were very knowlegable and friendly, and Playa del Carmen is a wonderful place to vacation. My husband and I spent a day in Cozumel which was a waste in my opinion unless you're going snorkeling or fishing. Tulum was amazing...I suggest downloading a podcast and touring at your own pace because the guided tour is expensive (my husband and I are budget travellers!) Our vacation was limited a little by the threat of hurricane Rina (which ended up being a tropical storm) so we are planning on going back and going to Xcaret and Chichen Itza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPRick
Business
Australia
Nov 17, 2011

Four day getaway from Belize

We were disappointed with the room we booked when we arrived. We'd imagined a bigger balcony, i.e. something wider than one seat, and not of an ordinary Street. SO we upgraded to a Suite. It was amazing and not expensive. That made our stay. Well, that and the staff. The first room, and the one we ended up with, were clean, new and very well presented. Every day the towels were shaped into different animals. It's a small thing, but emblematic of the nice service we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the beach in front of the hotel in the evening. And the clubs along the beach. It's a lovely beach, and plenty of music to choose from there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mwilk311
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Dec 22, 2011

Playa Trip

The rooms are clean and friendly staff. Not a 5 star hotel by any means but they certainly don't charge like they are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Spend your days on the beach at the Playa Maya. Excellent staff good food and great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hate Cold Weather
Business
Berks, PA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

A Great Place

The motel was clean and beautiful. I loved the plants in the inner courtyard and the rooms were nice with a good shower and comfy bed. The pool was perfect for cooling off and the view was wonderful from the roof. We loved the location - so close to the beach and all the 5th Avenue action. We would definitely recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scottiem
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Mar 1, 2012

long weekend

we loved the hotel. we stayed on the rooftop suites. the room was large and comfortable. it was close to everything. the staff was great! will definitely be back if

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alissaj
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Excellent Location!

Great value for the price! Just steps from the ocean and shops - Very helpful staff - Would NOT purchase the breakfast with the hotel - there are too many great restaurants to try in the area - FYI only ocean view rooms are an upgrade to the rooftop deck area - Worth the upgrade:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved our sunset dinner at "Fusion" located on the beach - Also great dinner on 5th at Venta

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top