$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
88 reviews
pleasantly Suprised

It was great! we will tell friends and family and will return, the staff especially the front desk... See full review

  • Grandma Ruth
  • May 22, 2014
Hotel is like a dream!

Wow. From first walking in the door we were completely amazed. Concierge provides cool towels and... See full review

  • Matt Oz
  • Apr 7, 2014
Small Playa del Carmen hotel with inner courtyard, rooftop pool
The Illusion Boutique Hotel is located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story, 41-suite beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests, a rooftop freshwater swimming pool and sunbathing area and poolside bar.
Highlights:
  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
Rooms:

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Features:

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. Relaxing is easy with a massage in the spa, overlooking the ocean. The rooftop dipping pool deck is another favorite relaxation spot at Illusions Boutique Hotel.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)
Business­
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available

Hotel Map

20.6256 -87.0724
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, Isla Mujeres, Cancun, Xcaret, Xplor, Xelha, Tulum, Puerto Aventuras, Playacar.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes.
Area description
Located in the heart of the cosmopolitan Playa del Carmen, at the intersection of the famous "Quinta Avenida" Fifth Avenue and 8th Street North, both a packed with upscale fashionable stores, boutiques, cafes and restaurants bars. * A few yards from the pristine sand beach and turquoise sea waters. * In the entertainment district. * Full-service health spa in walking distance. * Close to Banks and ATM machines. * Nearby the most popular walking shopping street "5th Avenue".

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only Rooms

Mirage
330 sq. ft. 1 king size bed or 2 queen beds available upon request, window, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Mirage with Balcony
330 sq. ft. with 1 king bed, balcony 5th Avenue view or ocean view, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Prestige
426 sq. ft. with 1 king bed and a convertible futon, terrace, pool and ocean view, high-speed Internet, 20" TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan, wake up calls on request, microwave oven and coffee maker.
Cabana Vision
Each room is decorated uniquely with a flare of Indonesian furniture. The 5th floor offers 440 sqft luxury rooms with a king size bed, spacious terrace and solarium with wet bar and pool only a few steps away. Enjoy the privacy and breath taking partial ocean view. Large sliding glass doors for you to embrace the Caribbean. All guestrooms have remote control A/C, ceiling fan, 20" TV with remote control, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, VOIP phone, radio clock/Ipod base, in room safe, mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities. High speed internet access is also available

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
poppi
puebla , mexico
Jul 16, 2012

excellent

The staff helped in everything and the location was excellent when you are a fan from the 5 da avenida.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt Oz
Maine
Apr 7, 2014

Hotel is like a dream!

Wow. From first walking in the door we were completely amazed. Concierge provides cool towels and cold water immediately. A glass elevator takes you up to your room, and overlooks the rooftop pool. Walking into our room was a jawdropper. It doesn't look like the pictures, it looks way better! The room is enormous, with a huge, comfortable bed, granite shower and countertops, and his/her sinks. If one word was to describe our stay: luxurious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The main street, 5th Avenue, closes down between 11 and midnight. If you are looking for late night dancing, come out of the hotel and turn right on 5th avenue, following it for 3-4 blocks and you will quickly hear the pounding music of clubs that stay open into the early morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Apr 20, 2007

Perfect Location, Great Staff

The Illusion Hotel is in a perfect location in the ciy of Playa Del Carmen. 1/2 block to one of the nicest sections of beach, 1/2 block the other way to the main street (5th avenue). 5th Avenue is full of restaurants and shops - enought to eat a different, great restarant every night. The hotel staff were great, and the hospitality team (breakfast/happy hour)were excellent as well. If we were going back to playa del carmen, we would go here again, no doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ton of restaraunts, lots of happy hour specials. Hit up Paradies/Paradisio's up the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, Mn
May 4, 2011

Awesome Hotel

The Illusions Hotel was everything we had hoped for and more! The hotel was beautiful yet casual feel.Our room was perfect. We would likely rent one of the rooftop rooms next time. The pool and lounge area also on the rooftop was lovely. The pool is small, but just perfect for cooling off while enjoying the incredible oceanview!The entire staff at the Illusions hotel was great!! They were freindly and helpful every day that we were there. We especially enjoyed [...]the Hotel manager who typically works the 3-11 pm shift. He made sure we were enjoying our stay at the Hotel each and everyday. The location is 1 block to all the action on 5th Avenue and steps away to the beach.We had a wonderful 5 day trip and will definitely be back to stay at this Hotel. I would like to add that though we were right off the beach and a block away from all the action we still were able to enjoy the peacefulness this Hotel offers. Illusions is not a loud and crazy place, but if you want that it's just steps away!!! This Hotel was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining was just steps away from the Hotel. Prices varied; we thought overall prices were a little high, BUT if you spend a little time walking up and down 5th Avenue you can find all sorts of food types and prices. Just shop around if price is a big concern.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 25, 2008

Close to everything

The Illusion Boutique hotel was a great find! You really cannot get better in Playa del Carment for the price and location. The hotel is just off the strip known as Avenida Quinta and literally a half block walk to the ocean. The rooms were clean with warm water, good pressure and a working air conditioner. There was a refrigerator and microwave which is great for bringing take out, water and cervezas home. Our bed was a bit on the firm side but that is the only complaint I have. The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating. We especially found Dorel and Javier great hosts who helped us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 4, 2008

Nice hotel, great location

Excellent location, less than one block from 5th towards the ocean. You can walk anywhere in less than 10 mins. The beach is less than 1 min! Nice size room, would be nice to have a few more drawers to put clothes for longer stays. We stayed 7 days & made it work. Small but useable balcony. Nice sized shower with plenty of HOT water! Continental breakfast is average or you can have eggs / omlette cooked to order pretty inexpensive. We did this a few days then found other breakfast options to change things up. Nice rooftop views, pool, & bar, we didn't really use this much though. No noise issues from the activities on 5th ave. Currently construction accross the street, but should be short lived & they didn't start too early. Overall very nice stay & would go back or recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All kinds of shopping, dining etc. all within 1-10 mins. from hotel. Ask around & don't be afraid to venture off of 5th ave. for some excellent native/mexican food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pollita
Virginia, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Best value for your money!

I come to playa at least 6 times a year,this is my first time staying at this hotel, but I will be back.It is well worth the money to upgrade to the roof top king rooms,they are EXCELLENT! The pool is not meant for "swimming",it is a wade pool to cool you off, but is really nice! The breakfast only consists of toast with jam,fruit,yogurt and some kids cereal,so save your money and walk to the beach and eat one of the very affordable and yummy hot meals by the sea.I would really recommend staying here,the staff are great!The elevator was broken while I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a fridge in each room, buy your alcohol and some snacks at either the local Walmart or little deli mart and stock up so you can eat from the room while you're laying out on the rooftop. There is no restaurant/bar here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 11, 2007

Perfect for the solo traveler

What a find!!!! Especially for the price. Room was more than just comfortable and extremely clean. Staff was extremely helpful in selecting and arranging a tour plus recommendations for dinner. For women traveling alone, it was and 'felt' safe, especially considering the downtown location. I will return...and bring family & friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

..plan in advance how to get to Playa from the airport in Cancun. I took the Gray Line Bus/Van for $25 and a taxi upon return for $45.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
SEATTLE, WA
May 4, 2010

The Perfect Playa Hotel

Our trip to Playa del Carmen began on the right foot once we booked at the Illusion. The hotel is perfect for couples looking to get away and relax. The hotel itself was very well maintained with nice rooms equipped with a fridge/freezer, tv and ice cold air conditioning. Continental breakfast is included at the restraunt downstairs. It's very light (coffee, juice, toast, breads, jellies) but does the trick. The rooftop pool is small, maybe a 10' X 10' area and only a few feet deep at best. But, the sun deck is large enough for several people and the pool serves as a nice dip to hide from the heat. The pool also has a covered "bar" with 5 or so underwater stools. Not to mention the view is incredible from up there! No need to pack beach towels, the Illusion gives you fresh beach towels daily as long as you remember to return them. Perfect! We couldnt have been more pleased with the staff, easily the most helpful staff i've encountered while vacationing. They are ALL very kind and generous at the Illusion which makes traveling abroad perfect. Best Part? The Location!!!!! The Illusion is literally 100 feet from the beach, 20 feet to 5th Avenue and perfectly situated in the middle all the action! We walked everywhere... bus station, Cozumel ferry dock, restraunts, shopping, the beach, night clubs, etc. Me and my girlfriend are 25 yrs. old and loved the place. I wouldnt reccomend the Illusion for people with children (for pool purposes) or crazy spring breakers (for breaking the ambience). When we return to Playa i will definitely consider the Illusion again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk up 8th street (or calle 8th) probably 6 blocks or so to the Wal-Mart. For $15.00 you can have a 12 pack of beer, bag of ice and a styrofoam cooler. Walk back to the beach or the rooftop bar and you're set for a relaxing day in the sun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY NY
Jul 22, 2011

Perfect location, clean, friendly staff

Excellent value for the money. Just a few doors down from the beach and 5th Avenue, but still quiet. A few blocks from the main bus stop and the ferry to Cozumel. Rooms were very clean and comfortable with great, big showers. Staff was very nice and helpful. Free passes to 2 different beach clubs with minimum bar/food purchase.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
May 25, 2007

Friendly Staff with low price

My wife and I went on our honeymoon and had a wonderful stay. The highlight of the hotel was how friendly the staff was and how helpful they were. The hotel is right next to a beautiful beach and right in the heart of the 5th avenue shopping. The room was small but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is just a short walk away. For more tourism you pay $2.50 a person and take a shuttle pretty much anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search