$424 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
108 reviews
Honeymoon

My stay was wonderful at the iberostar! It was my honeymoon vacation, and it was the perfect spot!... See full review

  • Ashley d
  • Dec 20, 2014
AN INIMAGINABLE EXPERIENCIE

Impresive arquitechture, to start. A jungle inside, plus a turquoise and warm sea otside. A candid... See full review

  • EXIQUIO T.
  • Dec 20, 2014
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
milwaukee, wi
Jun 9, 2011

great location

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edison NJ
Nov 23, 2010

Near Perfect

We had a great time at Iberostar Tucan. The Staff could not do enough for you. The grounds and beach were beautiful. The food was very good. The food quality of the food at the restaurants was the same as the buffets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the collectivo's if your traveling more than 5 mile they are cheap safe and fast. Plus you get to meet the locals

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ACY22
Business
Sarnia, Ontario
Dec 13, 2010

Iberostar Tucan

Beautiful hotel, beautiful beach, great staff, not so good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
calikares
Business
Granite Bay, CA
May 2, 2010

Beautiful Playa Del Carmen spot

Just back from a week at the Iberostar Tucan Hotel, it was fantastic. It is a beautiful hotel, the tropical grounds are awesome. We loved all the birds, and the animals living on the grounds. The baby monkeys are especially cool. The food is very good, especially the breakfast buffet. We really liked the Japanese and steak house restaurants too. The location of the hotel is great, I walking distance or a $5.00 cab ride to Playa Del Carmen. I highly recommend this hotel. The only issue we had was that our son (19) and his girlfried went to the on site disco and she gave her purse to the bar tender to hold and when he returned it her money was taken out of her wallet. The hotel security did nothing about the situation. That was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We took the ferry from Playa Del Carmen to Couzemal and then a cab to the Iberostar hotel there. You can use all of the hotel immenities. The hotel is located on a reef, and you can snorkel there and plan a diving trip if you are in to that. We paid for a separate snorkel trip and realized once we got to the hotel, we could have just rented the snorkel equipment there and saved alot of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aurora, CO
Jun 21, 2011

Wish we could come back

We had a wonderful vacation here. The resort is gorgeous, the pools were perfect, the food was very good in most of the restaurants. The staff was very helpful and friendly. If you tip them, they are even better. The reputation that you tip gets around really quick and then you almost get too much service. My Son is getting married at Dreams which I have never been to. The travel agent says it's much better then Iberostar, I hope she's right because the online reviews of Dreams are not all that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The snorkeling trip was Beautiful, I highly recommend that and the trip to the Ruins.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papa'
Business
E.C, WI
Mar 6, 2010

Vacation Reality

Check-in & check-out staff were just matter of fact. Most of all other service staff e.g. wait staff, gardeners, bar tenders, housekeepers all very welcoming, friendly, helpful. Our housekeeper was the very best & she went out of her way to provide additional linens, towels, soft-drinks when we all became ill for 2 entire days. I discussed our illness with the hotel doctor (3 of our family are medical professionals). I had found several other guests who were also ill at the same time as we were. According to this doctor, the GI illness was probably viral, due to food handling, not the water. However, we only ate & drank at this hotel. Other than our illness, the getaway was worth the economic cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Small pueblo & shops near hotels had great merchandise & reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iberostar Tucan
Business
NY
Jun 27, 2011

Iberostar Tucan

Overall a fun trip. The Tucan is not a perfect fit for kids. The pool is huge, but deep. The food was not very good. Drinks (juices incl) were very watered down. Very good service. Great beach and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EDP123
Business
Rhode Island
Jun 16, 2014

Great Vacation

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed this place! The location was great and they had a lot of things to do during the day. The beach and pool areas were very well maintained. The food was decent in the buffets while the restaurants were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Perry
Business
Louisiana
Aug 1, 2014

Great first time in Mexico!!!

This was our first time to vacation in Mexico, wow what an experience!!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Iberostar Tucan while we were there. If you are looking for a bigger kid friendly resort then you have found it. The staff was always courteous and extremely helpful. So here goes, the Pros and Cons! Pros - Wonderful service, and courteous staff. Lots of activities to do at resort, never have to leave. Water was beautiful, and great location. The adult swim up bar was nice. The Japanese restaurant was amazing, wish we could have booked one of the others. Finally, the amazing jungle with animals in the middle of the resort. Pools were always beautiful and clean. Cons - Only got Reservations for one night out of four to one of the 6 restaurants that were available other than the buffet restaurants. Beach was kind of dirty with cig butts scattered about. Would not be a good intimate setting for a couple, lots of kids while we were there. Had to pay extra for WIFI so we could use our cell phones without getting expensive text charges. Overall we had an amazing time at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Also the Tulum/Jungla Maya tour was the highlight of the trip. It is pricey but we'll worth it. This can be scheduled at the hotel and if you do the tour ask for Jose as your guide!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Tulum / Jungla Maya adventure

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jovi Girl
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 18, 2014

family and friends vacation

It was a total of five Adults and one Child staying at this hotel. The staff were great and very attentive to us every day. The beach at this location was simply breath taking. Since we did purchase the all inclusive plan we ventured out to another Iberostar location to compare and I must admit that the beach at the Tucan was still the best. The beach is very calm no waves that will tumble you over and just the ambiance was exactly what we were expecting. While at the other location the beach was rough and had rocks...If you are planning to stay at the Tucan make sure you make reservations to the restaurants prior to your arrival since the restaurants for a nice Dinner will be booked by the time you arrive. We really loooooved the Japanese restaurant. This was by far our favorite dinner. We also attended the Mexican restaurant and the tortilla soup was delicious. The food at the buffet locations were good as well, the shrimp and roast beef were amazing! a couple nights we ordered room service instead and the service was as good. We really felt safe since their security measures were strict. If you did not belong in the hotel area you could not get in. On downfall to this hotel is the lack of air conditioning. The nice Dinner restaurants and the rooms were nice and cool but everything else only has fans since the hotel does have an open concept. Don't get me wrong, the hotel is amazing with all the animals walking free through out the hotel and since this was my son's favorite part of the hotel. Also the hotel is not handicap friendly, we did see and incident and the staff were very fast in assisting but due to the fact that some areas are not designed for a wheel chair they should inform guest about that detail. The staff at the Tucan work very hard at making sure every one is served well. Compared to our trip last year I do have to admit that we were happy with our stay and the way everyone treated us in those five days. Looking forward to our next trip!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5th street (avenue) they also have 25 dollars hour massage there...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top