$227 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 2, 2014 Check-out: Dec 5, 2014

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
106 reviews
Great place to stay

From the moment we arrived to our check out everything was great. Our only issue was that the safe... See full review

  • JTEZY
  • Nov 15, 2014
Excellent

Had a great trip room clean and comfy beach is best ever and food was good. See full review

  • Playa lady
  • Sep 14, 2014
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chicago girl33
Business
chicago, il
Mar 12, 2012

girls trip

the food was typical buffet style, lots of options but I would give it an average rating in quality. The front desk was horrible, no one was willing to help you when you had questions about transfers or making phone calls. I've traveled a lot and this was the worst guest service I have ever experienced. The beds were horrible, like sleeping on a rock, even with the extra foam padding. I did not sleep through the night once. Activities on the beach were entertaining along with the shows. The alcohol, well lets say I gained 5 lbs in 4 days from all the sugar I took in and only managed to catch a buzz from drinking beer or wine. For someone who is neither a beer nor wine drinker it was the only way to get your all inclusive moneys worth. The spa on the other hand was great. Luis by far gives the best deep tissue massage I have ever had. Overall had a great trip with my friends but I would not head back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jtie55
Business
Kansas City
May 27, 2012

Perfect location and beach

Loved the beach and close proximity to PDC 5th Ave. rooms were spotless however beds were hard. Food was solid but would have been nice to have more nights at the specialty restaurants. Drinks were very watered down which was a bummer. Had to stick with beer. LOL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marybeth Super Mom 2
Business
New York
May 28, 2012

Ok

Not bad. Great beach. Nice water. Lots of wildlife roaming around the place. Peacocks, peahens, agoutie, monkeys, children, etc. A little ridiculous on the a la carte restaurant reservations. Very difficult to actually get a reservation. But, the buffet was better than the restaurants anyway. If you're going as a couple, make sure you request (way ahead of time) a king bed. Seems like most of the rooms have double twins. Lobby bars are nice. You can actually smoke and drink in there at the same time, like civilized people do. You don't have to wander 30 feet away just to enjoy Native Americans' gift to the world; tobacco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hit the buffet. Forget the a la carte restaurants in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Average people
Business
DC Area
Oct 11, 2012

Just average -

Pros - Nice and safe (gated) location - Wild life is awesome, specially for kids - Beautiful beach - Awesome swimming pool - Breakfast buffet is very good - Mexican restaurant is probably the best food you can get there, which is a little above average Cons - Rooms are old and just ok - very humid as expected - The lunch and dinner buffet are sub-par. It was just a bunch of all american frozen food. - If you want good service, you must be willing to tip for everything - WiFi is a ripoff and the quality is not good - so if you are willing to enjoy your vacation and disconnect for a while, this will not be an issue All and all, I would rate this 3 out of 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't pay for the WIFI at the hotel. Go to the Starbucks that is 5 minutes away (short walk), get a coffee and they will give you the access code and their internet is a whole lot faster.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mexico love
Business
riviera maya
May 3, 2013

iberostar tucan and quetzal

good, but food needs change, the food is to repititious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 5, 2010

Beautiful with a few flaws

The hotel itself, less the guest rooms, is beautiful. The property the hotel is located on is amazing. There are animals and nature all around! Everyday, you run into monkeys, birds, lizards, peacocks, etc. However, the room had a lot to be desired...the bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable, the power kept cutting out, and the bathroom was awkward and small. As for the food...the breakfast buffet is great with a lot of options, the lunch buffet was never good (made us sick a few times), all of the restaurants were just okay. I would recommend the Japanese restaurant out of all of them. The main pool is large and has plenty of areas to lounge in or out of the sun. The beach is also nice with plenty of lounge chairs and activities. There are only two bars. Neither of them are very lively. Always playing slow, mellow music and are located inside the lobby area. If you want to be in a fun lively atmosphere, I would recommend heading downtown to the strip. Great restaurants there ("Blue Lobster") and fun bars and shops. Staff was not overly friendly and at times rude when asked for the smallest things. Overall, the trip was a nice experience, not sure I will stay in this hotel again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend taking a boat over to Isla Mujeres for the day. It is the most peacful, beautiful island. If you purchase the day package, it includes lunch/snacks,drinks, zip lining, snorkling, etc. Great way to spend the day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jul 8, 2010

iberostar

My family had a wonder time. The place is very nice. The staff was super friendly.The day care was excellent. The shows every time where the best. The the disavantages my husband and i had was that we paid for 24 hour wireless internet and could only use in the lobby. That was the only way to get wireless. We also didn't like that we stayed for 7 nights and could only reserve 3 dinners through are whole vacation. The steak house had really bad service. The rest where excellent. The mini bars where horrible. The beer and pop where not cold at all if staying in a regular room. The presidential suite did have a refrigerator with cold pop and beer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Dec 12, 2010

Decent!

The hotel has a great location - near playa del Carmen, beautiful beach! Ambience is good at arrival and the facilities are good, not the best but decent. Rooms are average, i like a hard bed so I was ok, but friends said they felt like they were sleeping onnthe floor! In my opinion it's a 3 star experience, buffets and all inclusive foods are average. Drinks are usually low value liquors unless you specifically ask for Jack Daniels. Been to the moon palace in Cancun and it far exceeds this hotel and better value for money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

5th ave has a great atmosphere ~ dining, shopping etc. Check out some of the local food - don't be afraid to try some of the restaurants that look like dives, because the food and flavors were phenomenal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 4, 2010

Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

We have stayed at many different places in the same area and noted a few things lacking here. First WiFi needed to be paid for, usually free in the lobby, second there wasn't any planned activities in or around the pool. Music was not played either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

2 miles to 5th Avenue. Taxi for $5.00

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
denver
Aug 24, 2010

a bit of a let down

After reading the reviews to the hotel I was very excited. I must say I found the hotel disappointing. The rooms were standard but the beds were extremely hard! I have never slept on a bed this hard. The dinners at the hotel were very good but breakfast and lunch were just average. I expected a lot of good fruit but none of the fruit was ripe and they only provided mangos (which are very cheap in mexico) over dinner. There were also several large birds in the dinning hall that would fly around and pick at your food. I must say the pool was very nice but the majority of the pool is 5.5 feet deep with a drop off which was strange. They did have a lot of room on the beach and pleanty of unbrellas to go around. The staff was nice and friendly. The drinks were not strong at all, pretty disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top