$270 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
144 reviews
Wedding Anniversary

We had a great vacation at Iberostar Tucan resort. The food was excellent. The staff was very... See full review

  • Boston Steve
  • Jun 23, 2014
The Staff are Awesome!

The staff is what makes this hotel a great place to stay. Zumba on the beach with Maricio was the... See full review

  • CSI GIRL
  • Jun 11, 2014
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6028 -87.092
Area served
Playa del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Directly on the fine-sand beach of Playacar, in Riviera Maya, Mexico. Approximately 45 minutes away from Cancun International Airport and just a few minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Elizabeth Z
Chicago, IL
Jun 3, 2014

Three Day Stay

Our stay at this hotel was basically a disaster, they weren't able to honor our king bed request and told us none were available so sent us to a double bed room. The room they checked us into was actually still dirty and hadn't been cleaned. They also forgot to give us our towel cards and wrist bands at check-in so we were turned away from the pool and the restaurants when we tried to eat and then had to explain our situation multiple times to multiple staff members before it was resolved. Then all of a sudden a king room magically became availabe so we had to re-pack all of our items and move to a new room. When we asked to speak with a manager, he was late to our meeting and gave us plenty of execuses for the items. He assured us the hotel would make it up to us - their idea of this was bringing a bottle of champagne to our room at 10:30pm, waking us up. This is the same champagne that we could drink for free at any of the restaurants or bars for our "all inclusive" value. Please don't give us something that is already free to make it up to us. I was fully expecting a free spa service for my husband and I and the hotel fell flat on this - very disappointed. We will never stay at an Iberostar again. On top of this, the rooms were dated, the hotel was dated, the reservation restuarants were partial buffets and the meals had funny times (full breakfast over by 10am and the full lunch didn't start until 1pm). The only redeeming quality was the service staff at the pools and restuarants. The manager and front desk staff are in need of customer service training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Reservation restaurants are partial buffets and the meals are at odd times - full breakfast ends at 10am and full lunch doesn't start until 1pm.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, Ga
Dec 12, 2010

Decent!

The hotel has a great location - near playa del Carmen, beautiful beach! Ambience is good at arrival and the facilities are good, not the best but decent. Rooms are average, i like a hard bed so I was ok, but friends said they felt like they were sleeping onnthe floor! In my opinion it's a 3 star experience, buffets and all inclusive foods are average. Drinks are usually low value liquors unless you specifically ask for Jack Daniels. Been to the moon palace in Cancun and it far exceeds this hotel and better value for money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

5th ave has a great atmosphere ~ dining, shopping etc. Check out some of the local food - don't be afraid to try some of the restaurants that look like dives, because the food and flavors were phenomenal!

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
Nov 4, 2010

Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

We have stayed at many different places in the same area and noted a few things lacking here. First WiFi needed to be paid for, usually free in the lobby, second there wasn't any planned activities in or around the pool. Music was not played either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

2 miles to 5th Avenue. Taxi for $5.00

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jtie55
Kansas City
May 27, 2012

Perfect location and beach

Loved the beach and close proximity to PDC 5th Ave. rooms were spotless however beds were hard. Food was solid but would have been nice to have more nights at the specialty restaurants. Drinks were very watered down which was a bummer. Had to stick with beer. LOL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Genavie
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 19, 2011

My first Mexico vacation

Overall the hotel was nice, Check in was easy, and the staff were friendly. The buffet food got a little bit old after the second day, also there was no air-conditioning in the eating restaurants. The rooms were the best part because of the nice cool air conditioning and the maids did a great job with the cleaning. The pools were warm and the adult swim up bar looked scary, it looked dirty. They only served one type of beer and that was dos equis. Went on several tours through iberostar, went to see the myan city of Tulum, the theme park xplore, and went on a full day snorkeling trip. Tulum was neat! Tulum was an old myan city that overlooked the ocean. Xplore was lots of fun, there was ziplines and swimming in freshwater caves. The snorkel trip was a ferry ride to cozumel and a boat ride to the cozumel iberostar resort then two 45 min sessions of snorkeling. I really liked the resort in playa del carmen, I think I went there in the the wrong time of the year! The weather was hot humid and miserable! Its prob best to go in december or january.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, New York
Nov 22, 2010

Great Stay

The people that work this hotel are the only reason to come back. Was treated very well. Great shows. The drinks were poor quality. Fake pina colada's...really thought Mexico had lots of coconuts and pineapples. Fake Sangria...come on.. I thought that since the resort is Spanish owned they could at least provide some semblance of a sangria, it was syrup and had absolutely no fruit nor any semblance to any sangria I've ever tasted. The location is beautiful. This was the second time and I probably won't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Paul, MN
Jul 8, 2010

iberostar

My family had a wonder time. The place is very nice. The staff was super friendly.The day care was excellent. The shows every time where the best. The the disavantages my husband and i had was that we paid for 24 hour wireless internet and could only use in the lobby. That was the only way to get wireless. We also didn't like that we stayed for 7 nights and could only reserve 3 dinners through are whole vacation. The steak house had really bad service. The rest where excellent. The mini bars where horrible. The beer and pop where not cold at all if staying in a regular room. The presidential suite did have a refrigerator with cold pop and beer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
denver
Aug 24, 2010

a bit of a let down

After reading the reviews to the hotel I was very excited. I must say I found the hotel disappointing. The rooms were standard but the beds were extremely hard! I have never slept on a bed this hard. The dinners at the hotel were very good but breakfast and lunch were just average. I expected a lot of good fruit but none of the fruit was ripe and they only provided mangos (which are very cheap in mexico) over dinner. There were also several large birds in the dinning hall that would fly around and pick at your food. I must say the pool was very nice but the majority of the pool is 5.5 feet deep with a drop off which was strange. They did have a lot of room on the beach and pleanty of unbrellas to go around. The staff was nice and friendly. The drinks were not strong at all, pretty disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 5, 2010

Beautiful with a few flaws

The hotel itself, less the guest rooms, is beautiful. The property the hotel is located on is amazing. There are animals and nature all around! Everyday, you run into monkeys, birds, lizards, peacocks, etc. However, the room had a lot to be desired...the bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable, the power kept cutting out, and the bathroom was awkward and small. As for the food...the breakfast buffet is great with a lot of options, the lunch buffet was never good (made us sick a few times), all of the restaurants were just okay. I would recommend the Japanese restaurant out of all of them. The main pool is large and has plenty of areas to lounge in or out of the sun. The beach is also nice with plenty of lounge chairs and activities. There are only two bars. Neither of them are very lively. Always playing slow, mellow music and are located inside the lobby area. If you want to be in a fun lively atmosphere, I would recommend heading downtown to the strip. Great restaurants there ("Blue Lobster") and fun bars and shops. Staff was not overly friendly and at times rude when asked for the smallest things. Overall, the trip was a nice experience, not sure I will stay in this hotel again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend taking a boat over to Isla Mujeres for the day. It is the most peacful, beautiful island. If you purchase the day package, it includes lunch/snacks,drinks, zip lining, snorkling, etc. Great way to spend the day!

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
There are better places than Mexico
Canada
Jan 10, 2010

Iberostar Tucan

Everything was average but the food quality was very poor. There are better places to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You can take a taxi to town for 50 pesos and do some shopping.

Back to menu Return to top