$258 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
125 reviews
our overalll experience was amazing.

overall it was amazing, from the jungle theme with the monkeys and other wild life to the great... See full review

  • Kevin C.
  • May 2, 2015
Awesome honeymoon

Great place to stay. Wonderful staff. I plan to be back! Thank you for the honeymoon memories See full review

  • Ashley d
  • Mar 4, 2015
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Top hotels

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite with 2 double beds or 1 king bed, private balcony with garden or jungle view, AC, ceiling fan, mini bar stocked every other day with beer, soft drinks and bottled water. Room service from 11am to 11pm. Flat screen TV, alarm clock, digital safe, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. Bathroom with vanity sink and shower.Total area is 409 sq. ft.
Ocean Front Junior Suites
Junior Suite with 2 double beds or 1 king bed, private balcony with oceanfront view, AC, ceiling fan, mini bar stocked every other day with beer, soft drinks and bottled water. Room service from 11am to 11pm. Flat screen TV, alarm clock, digital safe, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. Bathroom with vanity sink, shower. Total area is 377 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JSBFamily
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Very happy recent guests!

I normally HATE all inclusive resorts - but Iberostar has completely turned me around, at least when it comes to staying with them. The resort was incredible! They did a masterfully job of intertwining a five star resort with a jungle full of fascinating animals. As an avid traveler, I've never seen a place with the integration a nature jungle like this - loved it! Our only complaint was the very stiff beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Worth a night trip to Playa del Carmen for the shopping and people watching.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Janx
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Dec 10, 2011

wonderful vacation

This resort exceded my expectations The grounds are absolutly beautiful, Very good, attentive service. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable Loved seeing the monkeys and turtles , birds and all the wildlife, Beach is also spectular Jan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

enjoyed the Mexican restaurant

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chevy_2011
Business
la,ca
Jun 1, 2011

SMELLS! OLDER CROWD! LOUSY BEDS!

Lousy hotel, the beds are just as hard as rocks and it also doesn't help that I walked away from that hotel with over 20 bug bites. The stench of that hotel is awful and is something I am still trying to get over. Oh and btw... My camera got stolen from my room the second night I was there! Ridiculous! The buffets are simply "horrifying" by the 3rd day I began to starve myself because of how bad those buffets are. If you are into older crowds, lousy service, bed bugs, thieves, disgusting food.... Then this is the place for you! I Will never come here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
disgruntled in USA
Business
DC
Jan 3, 2012

ripoff

Stay was pretty good until checkout. Then, front desk assessed a surprise $830 surcharge for teenage child. When we tried to reason with front desk manager Alejandro, he became aggressive and wouldn't let us leave the property until we paid this exorbitant outrageous $830 surcharge. Obviously, we are disputing it via travel agency and credit card company, but it definitely soured an otherwise enjoyable vacation experience. Because of this check-out, I wouldn't go to Iberostar again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
case9999
Business
Fort Collins, CO, USA
Jan 16, 2013

Do not stay here

I stayed here January 2013 and the hotel had us checking out 2 days earlier than our reservations. Our group that we were with could not even get reservations to the restaurants. The food was mediocre at best at the buffet and restaurant. Once we finally got someone at the front desk to help and got our reservations fixed one person said they would upgrade our room complimentary. When we went back after we went and packed everything up, they said they would not do it. We had two old mattresses, one of which was broken outside of our room for three days. I asked the front desk everyday sometimes twice a day and they never did. The were still there on the day we left. Customer service needs serious help. Mattresses were so old and warn out and hard it should be embarrassing for them. I have an appt to get a massage today already and I just got back last night. Our room had blue and green build up from the water on all bathroom appliances. Needless to say the rooms are dated and the mattresses were like sleeping on 2x4's. No sleep made me grumpy and then I walked out to two disgusting mattresses outside my room. Location was good and food mediocre. Stay at the RIU if you want a better service and better amenities and it was updated less than a year ago. Iberostar need to walk next door and look around to see what they need to do. The alcohol is no name brand, other resorts like the RIU used brand name alcohol. Place has potential but needs serious updating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

run, run far away

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Forget the all inclusive
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 26, 2013

Forget the all inclusive

Forget the all inclusive - the food (and drink) were pretty bad. Couldn't even get good Mexican in Mexico...and how could they only serve Dos Equis?? Seriously, not even offering Corona? For my first all inclusive vaca, not impressed with the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't bother with all inclusive here - take a cab to "5th ave" and get good food and drink in town!

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Elizabeth Z
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 3, 2014

Three Day Stay

Our stay at this hotel was basically a disaster, they weren't able to honor our king bed request and told us none were available so sent us to a double bed room. The room they checked us into was actually still dirty and hadn't been cleaned. They also forgot to give us our towel cards and wrist bands at check-in so we were turned away from the pool and the restaurants when we tried to eat and then had to explain our situation multiple times to multiple staff members before it was resolved. Then all of a sudden a king room magically became availabe so we had to re-pack all of our items and move to a new room. When we asked to speak with a manager, he was late to our meeting and gave us plenty of execuses for the items. He assured us the hotel would make it up to us - their idea of this was bringing a bottle of champagne to our room at 10:30pm, waking us up. This is the same champagne that we could drink for free at any of the restaurants or bars for our "all inclusive" value. Please don't give us something that is already free to make it up to us. I was fully expecting a free spa service for my husband and I and the hotel fell flat on this - very disappointed. We will never stay at an Iberostar again. On top of this, the rooms were dated, the hotel was dated, the reservation restuarants were partial buffets and the meals had funny times (full breakfast over by 10am and the full lunch didn't start until 1pm). The only redeeming quality was the service staff at the pools and restuarants. The manager and front desk staff are in need of customer service training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reservation restaurants are partial buffets and the meals are at odd times - full breakfast ends at 10am and full lunch doesn't start until 1pm.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Sep 21, 2010

Not impressed

After traveling all day... I was not expecting to wait at the Check-in desk for an hour to obtain my room. Also, Family was/trying to visit me(my bday) from another Hotel and was denied. After I complained they were granted 30mins. Their rationale was it's HOTEL policy... Seems to me that policy is more important than Customer Satisfaction!!! Which is fine with me, because I will be going back... just not staying at Iberostar!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jul 4, 2010

big disappointment

The beds were hard (no boxspring)just a concrete slab. The shower was cold with minimal water pressure. The buffet was lousy. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Elizabeth J.
Business
Canton
Feb 21, 2015

Entire family ill from food, had to leave

We arrived Saturday evening. By Monday, my 10 year old son was vomiting and had diarrhea. A few hours later, my husband had the same thing. They were ill for two days. On Wednesday, my 14 year old son got it, followed by me. We were stuck in our room, miserable. When we called to ask someone to help us clean up, it took almost two hours. The children refused to eat anything else because they were afraid of being ill again. With two of us still stick and two days remaining, we made the difficult decision to just go home. A very sad and expensive attempt to have a memorable family vacation. The trip home was even worse for the two of us who were still sick. We can only hope there is a way to get at least some of our money back. We travel a lot (have been to Mexico 4 other times) and never had an experience like this. There is no way to enjoy anything about a resort or your surroundings when you're sick like that. We paid thousands to go somewhere and be sick. Terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laurann
Business
NJ
Apr 14, 2014

Average all-inclusive

Overall experience is average. Food at the buffets are average at best. You must book meals at restaurants prior to the trip in order to get any reservations while you are there. The staff was very friendly everywhere. They charge for wifi access which I think is crazy these days. Be sure to bring a watch - there are no clocks anywhere! Including no alarm clocks in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to book dinner reservations at restaurants before your vacation. They book out quickly even though the restaurants are never full.

Back to menu Return to top