$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
118 reviews
Awesom

I absolutely loved this resort. From the time we arrived to when we departed it was spectacular.... See full review

  • JTEZY
  • Jul 17, 2015
GREAT TIME

This resort was one of the best that I have stayed at. Staff was so nice and the place was super... See full review

  • Patrick V.
  • Jun 11, 2015
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Rooms

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Property features

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Highlights
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Nearby attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)

Top hotels

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite with 2 double beds or 1 king bed, private balcony with garden or jungle view, AC, ceiling fan, mini bar stocked every other day with beer, soft drinks and bottled water. Room service from 11am to 11pm. Flat screen TV, alarm clock, digital safe, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. Bathroom with vanity sink and shower.Total area is 409 sq. ft.
Ocean Front Junior Suites
Junior Suite with 2 double beds or 1 king bed, private balcony with oceanfront view, AC, ceiling fan, mini bar stocked every other day with beer, soft drinks and bottled water. Room service from 11am to 11pm. Flat screen TV, alarm clock, digital safe, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. Bathroom with vanity sink, shower. Total area is 377 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 118
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loving it Mom
Business
Fosston, Minnesota
Apr 29, 2014

fantastic

I loved it. Was my first time going to Mexico so I wasn't sure of what to expect but it was awesome. The only problem i had was i booked with Tucan and they put me to Quetzal so I wasn't happy about that but they switched it for me so it was all good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fats
Business
Newark, NJ, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Wonderful new experience

We had a great time. The staff was so pleasant. Great food all the time. If you like HOT weather this is the place to visit. There is lots of activities, the staff is always getting people involved and they make you feel very comfortable. The hotel needs to improve the air conditioning system in the rooms, other wise room was great. I can't compare with any other resort because this is the first time I came to Mexico. Again your staff if fantastic, friendly and lots of smiles. Yes I would visit you again !!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Must take a ride to 5th avenue. Great prices and lots to see.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
working grany
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 19, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

We had our 10 nights vacation on December 7. It was the best experience ever. Check in was done in minutes. Room was very clean and fresh with welcome fruit basket. We felt welcome there. Food was very good in the buffet restaurants us well us a la'carte which we made reservation for diner without extra charge for anything. Beach was nice, clean with lots of shadow. Jungle in the middle of resort was awesome. Weather was not so good so: very windy and temperature lower than we expected. Show was not very high quality so we didn't attend them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 28, 2010

Banana margs & guacamole in paradise!

My stay at the Iberostar Quetzal was wonderful and had all the elements of a great vacation: lots of drinks, dancing, beach time, pool time, entertainment and food! The Star Friends team (the people who are there to entertain you) are really good at their jobs; they learned our names, remembered details about us, and they sought us out to go dancing or join in the activities. The whole crew were excellent entertainers as well and the shows they put on each evening had really high production value. One of the Star Friends is the break dance champion of Mexico, so he was especially cool to watch. My friend and I found the food to be quite good, especially the guacamole (I ate it at almost every meal, including breakfast) and the papas fritas down at the beach grill. We were given just one guaranteed reservation for the a la carte restaurants for our four night stay, but we managed to charm our way into two more so we ate at the a la carte restaurants three out of four nights. We ate at the Italian, Mexican and Japanese restaurants and they were all delicious. The beach and pool were stunning! The beach has just been redone and was wide and clean. While the pool isn't heated the water temperature was still totally acceptable when the sun was shining or we'd just wrapped up playing ping pong. The swim-up bar was a lot of fun with everyone talking to everyone and enjoying the drinks. The rooms were fine and the beds were in fact quite hard. We didn't sleep late despite being at the dance club until at least 2 AM each night (it was great!) and we couldn't figure out why really. It might have been a combination of the hard beds and the birds, but we didn't mind. They really do have top shelf liquors at both the auditorium bar and the lobby bars, and the banana margaritas were fantastic, as were the banana daquiris. Mimosas a breakfast and Bailey's in your afternoon coffee--who doesn't like that?! The grounds were incredibly well kept and we saw a lot of wild life: flamingos, peacocks, swans, turtles, iguanas, etc. The whole place made you feel like you were in the rain forest. In the end the best measure of a trip is whether I would go back, and I would definitely go back again to the Tucan & Quetzal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We used Cancun Shuttle for our airport transfer and got a private car for $105 round trip for two people, which was far cheaper than what the hotel offered.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patrick V.
Business
Ferndale
Jun 11, 2015

GREAT TIME

This resort was one of the best that I have stayed at. Staff was so nice and the place was super clean. I'm heading back to this place again this December to celebrate my 50th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pundo
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 4, 2013

fantastic vacation

The nightlife and entertainment didn't live up to its expectation. However, the hotel itself was superb. Beautiful scenic views with a crystal clear beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

To experience the night life you must go to the strip where the town doesn't sleep. Easily accessible either by walking or riding a bicycle.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Graduated Global Traveler
Business
Lafayette, IN
May 28, 2010

Great vacation, but not for kids really

We went for four nights. The beach is beautiful, and the water is fairly clear and incredibly blue. The food and water at the resort were ok to drink, but beware of outside food and drink, like you've probably heard. The buffet food was decent, but get there early for the best selection and temperatures. Plus, it was really cool to see the monkeys, iguanas, and various assorted animals scattered throughout the resort. Also, this resort isn't really for children. In the resort, the average age of those while we were there must have been in their middle to late 30s. As such, activities are geared for more mature customers (and usually involve alcohol). Also, there is quite a bit of topless sunbathing on the beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

For the in-hotel restaurants, the dress code is elegant dress, and gentlemen are required to wear long pants or bermuda shorts (depending on the restaurant). We weren't aware of this beforehand, so pack accordingly.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isabeloh
Business
Allentown, PA
Sep 18, 2014

Very nice break

Location in Playacar is very nice if a bit sanitized. The staff makes the place, super friendly and eager to please. Rooms are a bit basic but functional, nice shower with good water pressure. Beautifully landscaped grounds, absolutely gorgeous stretch of beach - maybe the best in Playa. Solid Iberostar quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennifer C.
Business
Caroga Lake
Feb 24, 2015

Winter Getaway

The Iberostar was a great hotel to vacation at. The staff was very friendly and everything was really clean. The food was good, but I wouldn't say great. I thought the drink quality was very good, not watered down like some places. There were a lot of different animals around the resort such as monkeys and peacocks that were fun to watch. The pool area is very nice and there are ample amounts of chairs at the pool and the beach. Unlike other places where you have to get up extremely early and "reserve" your chairs, the atmosphere at Iberostar is much more relaxed. I also had a massage and it was wonderful, probably the best I've had. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chicago girl33
Business
chicago, il
Mar 12, 2012

girls trip

the food was typical buffet style, lots of options but I would give it an average rating in quality. The front desk was horrible, no one was willing to help you when you had questions about transfers or making phone calls. I've traveled a lot and this was the worst guest service I have ever experienced. The beds were horrible, like sleeping on a rock, even with the extra foam padding. I did not sleep through the night once. Activities on the beach were entertaining along with the shows. The alcohol, well lets say I gained 5 lbs in 4 days from all the sugar I took in and only managed to catch a buzz from drinking beer or wine. For someone who is neither a beer nor wine drinker it was the only way to get your all inclusive moneys worth. The spa on the other hand was great. Luis by far gives the best deep tissue massage I have ever had. Overall had a great trip with my friends but I would not head back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top