$227 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 2, 2014 Check-out: Dec 5, 2014

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
106 reviews
Great place to stay

From the moment we arrived to our check out everything was great. Our only issue was that the safe... See full review

  • JTEZY
  • Nov 15, 2014
Excellent

Had a great trip room clean and comfy beach is best ever and food was good. See full review

  • Playa lady
  • Sep 14, 2014
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dangeruss900
Business
D/FW Texas
Sep 27, 2013

Great value - fun surprizes

We traveled during the "off-season" in September so crowds were low. We never waited for anything, and often felt like we had the beach to ourselves. The resort is clean, well maintained and the staff is especially helpful. There are plenty of coordinated activities and options to enroll in (extra charge) excursions. The landscaping is beautiful and the natural areas are a nice addition. We saw iguana, tzereque, peacocks, monkeys, coati mundi, and more on our walks to the beach. A real treat for animal lovers. The food is varied and plentiful. Like most all-inclusive resorts, price rules the quality of the food and drink. Don't expect gourmet fare and you won't be disappointed. Drinks are on the weak side, but we didn't come to get wasted, so your mileage may vary. Stick with the beer - it's always cold and good. The rooms are colorful and kept spotless every day. The bedding is harder than most people will like, but if you wear yourself out like we did, it's not a problem sleeping. The A/C works great, all rooms have a terrace and a large shower, a mini-bar-fridge, and fresh bottled water is provided each day. The shows are worth skipping. They hold true to the somewhat cheesy, loud, Mexican variety show motif. Each night has a different theme, so if you like them, you won't be bored. The pools are vast and gorgeous. Towels are abundant, large and very nice. The beach and sea-side drink service is fantastic. There is a lifeguard (not all resorts have them) and plenty of beach activities. The resort is close to town for shopping and dining, and if you want even closer, there is a smaller shopping area with in close walking distance. There's some on-site shopping and every few nights, local vendors are permitted to set up shop in a breezeway. This is our 4th visit to Playa del Carmen, and this has proved to be the nicest place we've stayed. We would definitely return. We feel a 3 star rating is too low based on what we experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask about Mayan cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juanma
Business
Houston
Nov 18, 2013

Great vacations with friends

I went with a couple of friends. This was my 3rd time in the hotel and my friends really enjoyed. The food was good, and the mix between nature and the building was really appreciated by all of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sandsun
Business
chicago
Dec 10, 2013

great vakye

perfect beach - lots of fun going on all the time food was great - had to make reservations for restaurants but always managed to get in 10-15 minutes after seating times if we did not have reservations for best restaurants - Italian, Steak house Buffets good for lunch and beakfast bars all over had a great time terrific value - everything included wished yoga was early morning not 10 am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ivanko
Business
Syracuse, NY, USA
Dec 18, 2013

Good, lots of room for improvement.

The hotel and resort in all is pretty good. My wife and I go to a different resort with a group of friends every year. This resort was good, the beach was awesome, very clean and there was no rocks anywhere. The rooms were ok. The restaurants were pretty good but the buffets left a lot to be desired. The buffet menu was blah and it was the same thing everyday, got pretty boring. The food tasted good but I got tired of the save thing everyday. The drinks were good. Need more bars and snack bars through the day. Overall it was good for the price. Whatever you do don't fly US air, worst airline ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book all restaurants you can. You can even go more than if you check for room on the day of.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
May 13, 2010

A great time for a great price!

We had a wonderful time! The location is wonderful! If you want to go into town it is a $5.00 taxi ride. (or you could walk the beach and it takes about 15min) The food was good. Only advice would be to ask at check in for a soft mattress pad. ( they will have housekeeping put it on and bed it will make it softer)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach King Daddy
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jul 11, 2010

Fabulous Family Mexico Vacation

Pool is warm, huge, beautifully shaped with plenty of lounge chairs and shade. Sunken Swim up bar with thigh high "cooler than the pool" water. Separate sports pool for water polo and basketball. Food was great as were the all inclusive drinks. Pool side service could have been better but still not a long walk to get a drink and something to eat. Evening shows were very entertaining. No AC anywhere with the exception of the rooms, the shops, bathrooms and computer room. Lobby bars and seating areas were very warm and tough for the dinner evenings when long slacks were required for men in the restaurants. Only restaurant that was air conditioned with the Italian theme. All others were open air. Japanese restaurant was unbelievably hot and although the food was good, I would not go there again for that reason. Great beach with volleyball and plenty of lounge chairs with shade. Service was fabulous and everyone was extremely friendly with attention to detail, especially in the food areas. I would highly recommend this place for anyone from couples to families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Beds are HARD. You can request upon check in a padded top for the mattress and they will install this for you. I would highly recommend you do this. Also, request a room away from the theater as it can become noisy in the evening. Beware of the morning Peacocks calls- we did not sleep after 5:00 a.m.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Clara County, CA
Apr 23, 2010

Fun even in the rain!

Unfortunately it rained many inches during our stay. However, it was nice on arrival and we were able to spend the first couple days enjoying more typical weather. Pool was beautiful, beach was beautiful. Staff were all very nice and professional. Restaurant waiters were really nice and did a great job. Our 13 year old para-sailed on our first full day and had a blast. We also rented a car for the week (took from airport). Visited Tulum and Akumal, snorkeled in a lagoon at Akumal, and later visited caves at Aktun Chen. also walked and shopped and dined in Playa del Carmen - very interesting and fun. Due to rain, didn't get to other activities we might have. But enjoyed the beautiful tropical landscaping and wildlife throughout the property. We swam rain or shine...still warm out, so why not? we weren't really into the evening shows, however, did enjoy the Mexcan folklorico dancing in the show one evening. restaurants were fine. Hotel room not large for 4, and would have been nice to have 4 chairs on patio (since we did spend a bit of time there due to rain), but it worked out fine for our family. Overall had a wonderful stay at Iberostar Tucan and enjoyed our vacation in Playa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car. Get to hotel faster and gives you flexibility to see some of the neat things in the area easily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Graduated Global Traveler
Business
Lafayette, IN
May 28, 2010

Great vacation, but not for kids really

We went for four nights. The beach is beautiful, and the water is fairly clear and incredibly blue. The food and water at the resort were ok to drink, but beware of outside food and drink, like you've probably heard. The buffet food was decent, but get there early for the best selection and temperatures. Plus, it was really cool to see the monkeys, iguanas, and various assorted animals scattered throughout the resort. Also, this resort isn't really for children. In the resort, the average age of those while we were there must have been in their middle to late 30s. As such, activities are geared for more mature customers (and usually involve alcohol). Also, there is quite a bit of topless sunbathing on the beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

For the in-hotel restaurants, the dress code is elegant dress, and gentlemen are required to wear long pants or bermuda shorts (depending on the restaurant). We weren't aware of this beforehand, so pack accordingly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
O'Ms
Business
Chicago, USA
Jan 22, 2010

Very Nice Place

Very friendly staff. Great grounds. No lines. Little waiting for things. Low-key European travelers, seemed family-friendly. Food was diverse and plentiful, but not necessarily great. You can hang by pool or by the beach--near the activities or find a quiet spot--plenty of all types. Short, cheap cab ride to very cool town of Playa Del Carmen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you get bored there are plenty of things to do in the area. Please take advantage of the great reefs there and do some snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gramma in waiting
Business
indiana
Jul 30, 2011

tropical nature filled paradise

I was by myself for this getaway 8 days and the hotel was very clean and staff very friendly, lots to do for familys, and short walk to shop or taxi for 8.00 us dollars into playas downtown. thats hours of shopping. felt very safe at hotel and the beaches were clean. buffets were great for me. had a garden room and loved the peacockcs and monkeys in the trees each morning as well as other wildlife on the grounds. i will go back as all inclusive was a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

the jewelry is expensive even in the market area you can buy just as unique pieces at tj maxx jewlrey counter for 1/4 of the price was dissapointed what i let myself buy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top