$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Playa lady
Couples
Morgan hill
Sep 14, 2014

Excellent

Had a great trip room clean and comfy beach is best ever and food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JTEZY
Couples
Omaha, NE
Nov 15, 2014

Great place to stay

From the moment we arrived to our check out everything was great. Our only issue was that the safe in the room was not left open so we had to have someone reset it for us. They handled this promptly and were there in less than 10 minutes to do this. The grounds are amazing, the bartenders knew us and our drinks by the end of the first night (we do tip). The cleaning staff were great and left the room in perfect order everyday. The beach was great with plenty of open seating and it was nice that to get a drink it was only about 50 ft away. The pool looked great although we didn't use it with the ocean being right there. The buffet food was ok, I always found things that were good, decent selection. On our last night the even had a fresh dorado (mahi mahi or dolphin) that I indulged in and made fish tacos with. The Japanese restaurant was my favorite of the finer dining restaurants. I loved the tile that ran through the lobby and our rooms, it looked great!! I don't have any negative comments except about the ATM which I'm putting in the tip section.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The ATM at the hotel charges you a 10% change fee because it gives you dollars instead of pesos plus a $5.80 service charge. I would have just preferred pesos but wasn't given that option. Use a different ATM in town or somewhere else!

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EXIQUIO T.
Single
CORDOBA
Dec 29, 2014

AN INIMAGINABLE EXPERIENCIE

Impresive arquitechture, to start. A jungle inside, plus a turquoise and warm sea otside. A candid zoo w fascinanting pieces, small pyramids, great food, 4 specialty restaurants, buffets all day around. Cleanliness, but most of all, warm and truly nice, helpful and willing to help staff, always smiling... That you can´t have everywhere (sometime even at your home!). I am delighted and I will be back, anytime. Thank you. also for the affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

TO XEL HÁ AND TULUM, AMAZING LESSONS IN HISTORY AND AN INCREDIBLE FUN SITE FULL OF WONDERS (XEL HÁ). VERY RECOMMENDABLE BOTH AND IN ONE TRIP FOR THE PRICE.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EXIQUIO T.
Single
CORDOBA
Dec 20, 2014

AN INIMAGINABLE EXPERIENCIE

Impresive arquitechture, to start. A jungle inside, plus a turquoise and warm sea otside. A candid zoo w fascinanting pieces, small pyramids, great food, 4 specialty restaurants, buffets all day around. Cleanliness, but most of all, warm and truly nice, helpful and willing to help staff, always smiling... That you can´t have everywhere (sometime even at your home!). I am delighted and I will be back, anytime. Thank you. also for the affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

TO XEL HÁ AND TULUM, AMAZING LESSONS IN HISTORY AND AN INCREDIBLE FUN SITE FULL OF WONDERS (XEL HÁ). VERY RECOMMENDABLE BOTH AND IN ONE TRIP FOR THE PRICE.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessica L.
Family
Santa Monica
Dec 30, 2014

Amazing family vacation

Stayed on the Tucan side from 12/18-12/24 with my husband and 3 year old son. We had an outstanding trip!!! The grounds of the resort, the beach and the staff are what make this place wonderful. The resort itself is gorgeous. The jungle is beautiful with amazing colors, sights and sounds. Wildlife, bridges, and waterfalls make the atmosphere exactly what we were looking for in a tropical getaway. The beach was awesome! The weather caused pretty rough waters and churned things up for about 4 out of the 7 days. The other days the water was vibrant crystal clear blue! This was no problem for us since we only like to go into the water to about our knees. We were still able to do what we enjoyed which was taking walks along the water's edge, looking for seashells, playing in the sand and taking in the views. This is a very family friendly resort! The staff were great with our son and were always keeping us informed of upcoming activities that he might enjoy. He had a blast!!! They have tons of activities for kids and adults everyday. You can stay busy ALL day long or do absolutely nothing. If you are not into kids this might not be the best place for you but honestly the place was so big that I think you could have a romantic getaway as well. The food was good. The buffet was nothing to get too excited about but it was above average. They have quite a bit of variety but any buffet gets old after a week. We really liked the Japanese Hibachi and the Steak House. Those were the only two restaurants we tried. The place felt very safe. It was nice being able to leave all of our pool stuff at the pool and go eat and not worry about it. We made friends with lots of families. All the kids shared toys and we all looked out for each other's kids. It was just a really nice atmosphere talking with families from all over the world! The pool is HUGE and AMAZING! The sports pool, adult pool bar, kids pool, big pool were all clean and beautiful. I think every person in the whole resort could have been in the pool and it still would not have felt crowded. I just think this was one of the best vacations we have ever taken and was well worth every penny. When they say all inclusive, they mean all inclusive! We did everything we wanted and the only things we paid extra for was a day excursion to Chichen Itza for my husband, tipping and a small souvenior for the boy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tips for families with small children: Request a room on the ground level-there are no elevators. The jungle area is difficult with a stroller because of many stairs and stone pathway and is unavoidable. I would suggest a carrier in addition to a stroller for small children and bring a big enough beach bag to carry stuff and be prepared to carry kids through this part. You have to walk through it no matter where your room is. The rest of the resort is fine for a stroller. Huge variety of food for all types of eaters. Don't worry about food! I did keep a stash of snacks we brought from home in the room for emergencies but didn't use them as much as I thought I would. Bring some toys from home that you can leave behind. Toys for the pool and beach are available but VERY expensive. I stuffed every nook of our luggage with dollar store toys and they were great! Be prepared to share around the pool and others will share theirs. We found a family that had just arrived and gave them our toys.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ckbutters
Family
Whitmore Lake
Jan 6, 2015

Iberostar Tucan Fun

Let me first say this hotel demonstrated its greatness over several different days. First the special New Years eve dinner was superb. The many different types of foods available was amazing. The staff set up the night as a whole in my opinion wonderfully. There was hundreds of people celebrating New Years eve and they kept it organized and fun. They had a special show in the pool that day and we sent off hundreds of balloons as a tribute to new years day by the pool. The grounds are spectacular and filled with live peacocks and monkeys. And various other animals. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevin C.
Family
N/A
May 2, 2015

our overalll experience was amazing.

overall it was amazing, from the jungle theme with the monkeys and other wild life to the great evening shows, the staff we at the top of their game from the cleaners to the entertainers, our favorite was Rosie our waitress at the loby bar. our experience with Rosie is enough to make us want to come back. we had two small issues not even worth mentioning but they were fixed very quickly with our room. My twelve year old mentioned that it would have been nice to have a taco night, other than that the food was also amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patrick V.
Friends
Ferndale
Jun 11, 2015

GREAT TIME

This resort was one of the best that I have stayed at. Staff was so nice and the place was super clean. I'm heading back to this place again this December to celebrate my 50th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JTEZY
Couples
Kansas City
Jul 17, 2015

Awesom

I absolutely loved this resort. From the time we arrived to when we departed it was spectacular. Beautiful landscaping, beach and the pool were great to hang out at. I could always find something to eat that I enjoyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kayla
Family
Texarkana
Aug 19, 2015

Family Vacation

This hotel far exceeded our expectations. The grounds were beautiful, and the staff was overly helpful!! There are several restaurants to choose from including the buffet which is open until the wee hours of the morning. It was family friendly, but it still provided plenty of adult entertainment and excitement. All in all in would recommend this hotel in the future, and would even stay there again myself!! The only negative I could find would be that the beds and pillows are a little hard. I would just bring my own pillow form home next time to solve some of that, but other than that we loved the Iberostar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top