$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
123 reviews
Long overdue vacation

This whole hotel experience was exceptional. The staff was always attentive to our needs. Food was... See full review

  • Paula
  • Aug 20, 2015
Family Vacation

This hotel far exceeded our expectations. The grounds were beautiful, and the staff was overly... See full review

  • Kayla
  • Aug 19, 2015
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Rooms

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Property features

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Highlights
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Nearby attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)

Top hotels

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite with 2 double beds or 1 king bed, private balcony with garden or jungle view, AC, ceiling fan, mini bar stocked every other day with beer, soft drinks and bottled water. Room service from 11am to 11pm. Flat screen TV, alarm clock, digital safe, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. Bathroom with vanity sink and shower.Total area is 409 sq. ft.
Ocean Front Junior Suites
Junior Suite with 2 double beds or 1 king bed, private balcony with oceanfront view, AC, ceiling fan, mini bar stocked every other day with beer, soft drinks and bottled water. Room service from 11am to 11pm. Flat screen TV, alarm clock, digital safe, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. Bathroom with vanity sink, shower. Total area is 377 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenn O
Family
Richmond, VA
Jan 14, 2013

Wonderful time with my family

This is my second time at this hotel, my children's first. Everyone had a wonderful time. The resort staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was good, activities & entertainment were fun. I'd recommend this resort to friends & family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martinooss
Family
Canada
Feb 17, 2014

Great Family Vacation

We had great time at the hotel! The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are nice shows, activities throughout the day and evening for both adults and kids. Food was good and you had a selection of restaurants. The best ones were Italian and Mexican. Everyday we enjoyed the company of monkeys on our balcony, and you could see different animals throughout the hotel grounds. Pool was big and clean. Beach was close and you could enjoy swimming with the fish. The resort is in enclosed are close to Playa Del Carmen so you can go for a walk to the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Suzy
Family
Mn
Apr 7, 2014

Fabulous family friendly hotel!

My husband and I stayed at Iberostar Quetzal with our two teen-aged sons. The hotel had tons of activities for all ages including beach volleyball, water polo, pool basketball, and Zumba on the beach. The unlimited buffet and drinks were awesome since the boys were always looking for another snack. The entertainment each night was very enjoyable. The energetic staff really helped make our stay fun! Overall, we had a fabulous stay. I recommend making dinner reservations as soon as you arrive as it was a bit difficult to get into the specialty restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loving it Mom
Friends
Fosston, Minnesota
Apr 29, 2014

fantastic

I loved it. Was my first time going to Mexico so I wasn't sure of what to expect but it was awesome. The only problem i had was i booked with Tucan and they put me to Quetzal so I wasn't happy about that but they switched it for me so it was all good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamie Marie tequila
Pittsburgh, pa
Apr 30, 2014

Great vacation!

A great vacation! The place was beautiful. Loved the openness of the lobby area and the wildlife that roams around. You really feel like a pArt of nature. The beach and pool were absolutely gorgeous! The staff was too notch. Quick service always with a smile- super clean rooms and hotel area in general- the entertainment staff was absolutely excellent. Angie, andrez, isvan, Baldimar, and Mauricio became genuine friends on the trip. What a welcoming way to spend a vacation. Food was ok but that's what we anticipated. We were always able to find something good to eat! Japanese restaurant was the best! Will definitely be going back. Such a great value for all of the great stuff you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take $7 taxi ride into the close playa del Carmen. It is safe and a lot of fun. Go for the afternoon if you'd like or go for some authentic local nightlife. Ask the staff at iberostar where to go- they make great recommendation.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Momlovestorun
Family
Ottawa, Canada
May 5, 2014

Loved the Iberostar Tucan/Quetzal

Just home from a trip with my three young adult daughters and we loved it! Food was excellent - ate at two a la carte restaurants - Japanese and Tropical both were great. Huge selection at the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Really loved the coconut and mango ice cream at the beach. Loved the jungle setting and all the animals. Theatre shows were really fun. Beach is beautiful - great place to watch the sunrise. Loved going for morning runs in P,aha at - very safe and fun to be out of the resort. Took a cab in twice to Fifth Ave to shop and eat - lots of fun and so nice to be so close. Will go back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the coconut and mango ice cream by the beach!

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dos Cabrito
Couples
New Hampshire, USA
Nov 13, 2011

AMAZING!

This is the place to go if you like wildlife! The Staff was excellent in every way. We were in paradise there. the Buffet food was the same everyday but had a huge selection and was very fresh. the hotel is 5 minute cab ride or 25 minute walk to downtown Plya del carmen. The whole area is extremely safe and We are going back there ASAP. Also we talked to alot of people who have been to many of the other allinclusive resorts in the area and the TUCAN is one of the best choices. I highly reccommend this resort to people of all ages. Altough we did not really participate in any there were plenty of activities going on all day free of charge. Have fun!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

5th avenue is 19 blocks of shops and restaurants you can get ANYTHING you could possibly want except for dog collars. I reccommend buying Tequilla to bring home at Walmart 3 blocks off the strip it was 1/4 the price of what they sell downtown and bringing it back is not an issue 3 - Liters per person !!

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dad1011
Family
Wisconsin, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Great family get away

My family had a great time especially on the wonderful beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

magic show was great

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael39924
Couples
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Great Place

The staff and management of this hotel makes your visit as perfect as it gets. It is well worth the extra hour trip from Cancun airport to the hotel. I can't really find anything I didn't like about the place. This was truly awesome vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JSBFamily
Family
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Very happy recent guests!

I normally HATE all inclusive resorts - but Iberostar has completely turned me around, at least when it comes to staying with them. The resort was incredible! They did a masterfully job of intertwining a five star resort with a jungle full of fascinating animals. As an avid traveler, I've never seen a place with the integration a nature jungle like this - loved it! Our only complaint was the very stiff beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Worth a night trip to Playa del Carmen for the shopping and people watching.

Back to menu Return to top