$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
144 reviews
Wedding Anniversary

We had a great vacation at Iberostar Tucan resort. The food was excellent. The staff was very... See full review

  • Boston Steve
  • Jun 23, 2014
The Staff are Awesome!

The staff is what makes this hotel a great place to stay. Zumba on the beach with Maricio was the... See full review

  • CSI GIRL
  • Jun 11, 2014
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Hotel Map

20.6028 -87.092
Area served
Playa del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Directly on the fine-sand beach of Playacar, in Riviera Maya, Mexico. Approximately 45 minutes away from Cancun International Airport and just a few minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenn O
Richmond, VA
Jan 14, 2013

Wonderful time with my family

This is my second time at this hotel, my children's first. Everyone had a wonderful time. The resort staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was good, activities & entertainment were fun. I'd recommend this resort to friends & family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Feb 28, 2010

Banana margs & guacamole in paradise!

My stay at the Iberostar Quetzal was wonderful and had all the elements of a great vacation: lots of drinks, dancing, beach time, pool time, entertainment and food! The Star Friends team (the people who are there to entertain you) are really good at their jobs; they learned our names, remembered details about us, and they sought us out to go dancing or join in the activities. The whole crew were excellent entertainers as well and the shows they put on each evening had really high production value. One of the Star Friends is the break dance champion of Mexico, so he was especially cool to watch. My friend and I found the food to be quite good, especially the guacamole (I ate it at almost every meal, including breakfast) and the papas fritas down at the beach grill. We were given just one guaranteed reservation for the a la carte restaurants for our four night stay, but we managed to charm our way into two more so we ate at the a la carte restaurants three out of four nights. We ate at the Italian, Mexican and Japanese restaurants and they were all delicious. The beach and pool were stunning! The beach has just been redone and was wide and clean. While the pool isn't heated the water temperature was still totally acceptable when the sun was shining or we'd just wrapped up playing ping pong. The swim-up bar was a lot of fun with everyone talking to everyone and enjoying the drinks. The rooms were fine and the beds were in fact quite hard. We didn't sleep late despite being at the dance club until at least 2 AM each night (it was great!) and we couldn't figure out why really. It might have been a combination of the hard beds and the birds, but we didn't mind. They really do have top shelf liquors at both the auditorium bar and the lobby bars, and the banana margaritas were fantastic, as were the banana daquiris. Mimosas a breakfast and Bailey's in your afternoon coffee--who doesn't like that?! The grounds were incredibly well kept and we saw a lot of wild life: flamingos, peacocks, swans, turtles, iguanas, etc. The whole place made you feel like you were in the rain forest. In the end the best measure of a trip is whether I would go back, and I would definitely go back again to the Tucan & Quetzal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We used Cancun Shuttle for our airport transfer and got a private car for $105 round trip for two people, which was far cheaper than what the hotel offered.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drstroud
Minneapolis, Mn
May 12, 2014

Very surprised by the hotel and service!

Check in was very easy and we were accommodated with a roll-in shower and wheelchair accessible room, as requested. (We also called hotel independently to ensure this was done). The food was a 7-8 on scale of 10; there was plenty of food. Lots of activities; pool area was great; and we had assistance every day to help my husband in/out of the pool from wheelchair. Dive shop guys were the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Excellent

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winnipeg, MB Canada
Dec 10, 2010

an absolutely delightful experience

When I planned my trip I chose this hotel because of the location, resort size and brand reputation, and a pleasant bonus was the special price promotion that was being offered. I expected the hotel to be nice and have good service that I associate with the name, but my expectations were exceeded. The rainforest environment that is present on the property is simply breathtaking and all the birds and animals in the environment are so beautiful to see. I was so impressed with this and could not get enough. The resort is very clean and well maintained and the staff are happy to be there and it is obvious. I found it to be a quiet resort with no roudy behaviour which was quite pleasant. It would not be the place to go if you were looking to party day and night. The hotel was full to capacity during my stay but it was not noticable because there are so many restaurants, bars, staff, etc. I do have a few complaints, eventhough the overall stay was fantastic. There was a lack of hot water in the room and over the course of the week I did not ever have water that felt more than warm at any time of day. There also is only a shower in the room and I would have liked to have the option of taking a bath. The internet service was not free and was quite frustrating to use but that is probably more to do with the internet provider than the hotel. The Wi-Fi in the lobby (also not free) did not work on my i-Pad and a few other guests had the same problem trying to use theirs so it appears they need to upgrade their browser. These things were a bit of an irritant but will not affect my decision to stay here again in the future. I was very sad to leave and already looking forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

A la carte retaurants are really good and you need to reserve early to get a seating during the early evening if you don't want to miss the show which begins at 9:30

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Playa del Carmen
Aug 17, 2011

Friends' Vacation in the Sun

We've stayed here several times and enjoy our stays here where the ocean is beautiful and/or relaxing on the beach or by the pool. Plenty of activities are available. We also like walking down along the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close enough to 5th Ave (appx 2 miles) to walk for shopping, dining, ferry to Cozumel, etc.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hurand
POland
Apr 5, 2010

Tucan

Everything was great. We realy enjoyed the stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cashlin
Baytown, Texas
Jun 7, 2011

"Excellent service"

Just got back from a week stay at the Tucan. The staff at this hotel is excellent and will bend over backwards to try and make your stay as good as possible. The grounds are huge...so if you have trouble walking long distances, this is probably not the right hotel for you. The expanse of the hotel grounds is due in part of the large jungle filled with a variety of different animals...if this interest you...you will love it. The pool and the beach area are both large with a lot of lounge chairs so there is not much of a problem finding a place to sit. Omar at the reception desk is awesome...he is the man...and is very courteous and helpful. The beds are hard, so be sure to ask for a mattress pad...they will be happy to do this for you, just ask. Get a omelet at the restaurant by the pool, they are very good. We had a great stay, can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to bring plenty of sun screen...it is way too expensive at the resort or even in the town of Playa. Bring inflatable floats for the pool and ocean...you'll be glad you did.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Steve
Florida
Jun 23, 2014

Wedding Anniversary

We had a great vacation at Iberostar Tucan resort. The food was excellent. The staff was very accommodating and the rooms were very clean. There were plenty of activities to keep us busy all day long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

If a restaurant is fully reserved in the computer the individual restaurants will sometimes allow walk in guests

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
working grany
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 19, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

We had our 10 nights vacation on December 7. It was the best experience ever. Check in was done in minutes. Room was very clean and fresh with welcome fruit basket. We felt welcome there. Food was very good in the buffet restaurants us well us a la'carte which we made reservation for diner without extra charge for anything. Beach was nice, clean with lots of shadow. Jungle in the middle of resort was awesome. Weather was not so good so: very windy and temperature lower than we expected. Show was not very high quality so we didn't attend them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fats
Newark, NJ, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Wonderful new experience

We had a great time. The staff was so pleasant. Great food all the time. If you like HOT weather this is the place to visit. There is lots of activities, the staff is always getting people involved and they make you feel very comfortable. The hotel needs to improve the air conditioning system in the rooms, other wise room was great. I can't compare with any other resort because this is the first time I came to Mexico. Again your staff if fantastic, friendly and lots of smiles. Yes I would visit you again !!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Must take a ride to 5th avenue. Great prices and lots to see.

Back to menu Return to top