$322 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
106 reviews
Great place to stay

From the moment we arrived to our check out everything was great. Our only issue was that the safe... See full review

  • JTEZY
  • Nov 15, 2014
Excellent

Had a great trip room clean and comfy beach is best ever and food was good. See full review

  • Playa lady
  • Sep 14, 2014
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 106
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isabeloh
Business
Allentown, PA
Sep 18, 2014

Very nice break

Location in Playacar is very nice if a bit sanitized. The staff makes the place, super friendly and eager to please. Rooms are a bit basic but functional, nice shower with good water pressure. Beautifully landscaped grounds, absolutely gorgeous stretch of beach - maybe the best in Playa. Solid Iberostar quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loving it Mom
Business
Fosston, Minnesota
Apr 29, 2014

fantastic

I loved it. Was my first time going to Mexico so I wasn't sure of what to expect but it was awesome. The only problem i had was i booked with Tucan and they put me to Quetzal so I wasn't happy about that but they switched it for me so it was all good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juanma
Business
Houston
Nov 18, 2013

Great vacations with friends

I went with a couple of friends. This was my 3rd time in the hotel and my friends really enjoyed. The food was good, and the mix between nature and the building was really appreciated by all of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pundo
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 4, 2013

fantastic vacation

The nightlife and entertainment didn't live up to its expectation. However, the hotel itself was superb. Beautiful scenic views with a crystal clear beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

To experience the night life you must go to the strip where the town doesn't sleep. Easily accessible either by walking or riding a bicycle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Forget the all inclusive
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 26, 2013

Forget the all inclusive

Forget the all inclusive - the food (and drink) were pretty bad. Couldn't even get good Mexican in Mexico...and how could they only serve Dos Equis?? Seriously, not even offering Corona? For my first all inclusive vaca, not impressed with the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't bother with all inclusive here - take a cab to "5th ave" and get good food and drink in town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marybeth Super Mom 2
Business
New York
May 28, 2012

Ok

Not bad. Great beach. Nice water. Lots of wildlife roaming around the place. Peacocks, peahens, agoutie, monkeys, children, etc. A little ridiculous on the a la carte restaurant reservations. Very difficult to actually get a reservation. But, the buffet was better than the restaurants anyway. If you're going as a couple, make sure you request (way ahead of time) a king bed. Seems like most of the rooms have double twins. Lobby bars are nice. You can actually smoke and drink in there at the same time, like civilized people do. You don't have to wander 30 feet away just to enjoy Native Americans' gift to the world; tobacco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hit the buffet. Forget the a la carte restaurants in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chicago girl33
Business
chicago, il
Mar 12, 2012

girls trip

the food was typical buffet style, lots of options but I would give it an average rating in quality. The front desk was horrible, no one was willing to help you when you had questions about transfers or making phone calls. I've traveled a lot and this was the worst guest service I have ever experienced. The beds were horrible, like sleeping on a rock, even with the extra foam padding. I did not sleep through the night once. Activities on the beach were entertaining along with the shows. The alcohol, well lets say I gained 5 lbs in 4 days from all the sugar I took in and only managed to catch a buzz from drinking beer or wine. For someone who is neither a beer nor wine drinker it was the only way to get your all inclusive moneys worth. The spa on the other hand was great. Luis by far gives the best deep tissue massage I have ever had. Overall had a great trip with my friends but I would not head back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fats
Business
Newark, NJ, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Wonderful new experience

We had a great time. The staff was so pleasant. Great food all the time. If you like HOT weather this is the place to visit. There is lots of activities, the staff is always getting people involved and they make you feel very comfortable. The hotel needs to improve the air conditioning system in the rooms, other wise room was great. I can't compare with any other resort because this is the first time I came to Mexico. Again your staff if fantastic, friendly and lots of smiles. Yes I would visit you again !!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Must take a ride to 5th avenue. Great prices and lots to see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chevy_2011
Business
la,ca
Jun 1, 2011

SMELLS! OLDER CROWD! LOUSY BEDS!

Lousy hotel, the beds are just as hard as rocks and it also doesn't help that I walked away from that hotel with over 20 bug bites. The stench of that hotel is awful and is something I am still trying to get over. Oh and btw... My camera got stolen from my room the second night I was there! Ridiculous! The buffets are simply "horrifying" by the 3rd day I began to starve myself because of how bad those buffets are. If you are into older crowds, lousy service, bed bugs, thieves, disgusting food.... Then this is the place for you! I Will never come here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
working grany
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 19, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

We had our 10 nights vacation on December 7. It was the best experience ever. Check in was done in minutes. Room was very clean and fresh with welcome fruit basket. We felt welcome there. Food was very good in the buffet restaurants us well us a la'carte which we made reservation for diner without extra charge for anything. Beach was nice, clean with lots of shadow. Jungle in the middle of resort was awesome. Weather was not so good so: very windy and temperature lower than we expected. Show was not very high quality so we didn't attend them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top