$366 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
116 reviews
Iberostar Tucan Fun

Let me first say this hotel demonstrated its greatness over several different days. First the... See full review

  • ckbutters
  • Jan 6, 2015
Amazing family vacation

Stayed on the Tucan side from 12/18-12/24 with my husband and 3 year old son. We had an outstanding... See full review

  • Jessica L.
  • Dec 30, 2014
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 116
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Elizabeth J.
Business
Canton
Feb 21, 2015

Entire family ill from food, had to leave

We arrived Saturday evening. By Monday, my 10 year old son was vomiting and had diarrhea. A few hours later, my husband had the same thing. They were ill for two days. On Wednesday, my 14 year old son got it, followed by me. We were stuck in our room, miserable. When we called to ask someone to help us clean up, it took almost two hours. The children refused to eat anything else because they were afraid of being ill again. With two of us still stick and two days remaining, we made the difficult decision to just go home. A very sad and expensive attempt to have a memorable family vacation. The trip home was even worse for the two of us who were still sick. We can only hope there is a way to get at least some of our money back. We travel a lot (have been to Mexico 4 other times) and never had an experience like this. There is no way to enjoy anything about a resort or your surroundings when you're sick like that. We paid thousands to go somewhere and be sick. Terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ckbutters
Business
Whitmore Lake
Jan 6, 2015

Iberostar Tucan Fun

Let me first say this hotel demonstrated its greatness over several different days. First the special New Years eve dinner was superb. The many different types of foods available was amazing. The staff set up the night as a whole in my opinion wonderfully. There was hundreds of people celebrating New Years eve and they kept it organized and fun. They had a special show in the pool that day and we sent off hundreds of balloons as a tribute to new years day by the pool. The grounds are spectacular and filled with live peacocks and monkeys. And various other animals. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Susan E.
Business
N/A
Dec 31, 2014

Christmas Family Vacation

The hotel had an interesting layout with open areas throughout the property. Exotic and wild animals roamed the property and if I had not arrived in the daylight it would have been unsettling to say the least. The front desk staff seemed tired and uninterested in answering questions at check-in and while other guests received "welcome drinks" our person offered nothing not even a smile. Upon check-out I provided all the necessary documentation and paid for any outstanding charges only to be grilled by the bellboy I did not have the ticket to release my luggage to our driver which would have been the responsibility of the front desk. Our room was dark and full of small ants. The hotel offered to fumigate but our belongings were in the room and there was no offer to assist us in removing and replacing our things. The buffet and meals were wonderful. The entertainment staff was friendly and worked very hard to please all the customers. Both Maurico and Anderson worked above and beyond and always were friendly and smiling! Doubtful I would return to the property again but may try another Iberostar property elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessica L.
Business
Santa Monica
Dec 30, 2014

Amazing family vacation

Stayed on the Tucan side from 12/18-12/24 with my husband and 3 year old son. We had an outstanding trip!!! The grounds of the resort, the beach and the staff are what make this place wonderful. The resort itself is gorgeous. The jungle is beautiful with amazing colors, sights and sounds. Wildlife, bridges, and waterfalls make the atmosphere exactly what we were looking for in a tropical getaway. The beach was awesome! The weather caused pretty rough waters and churned things up for about 4 out of the 7 days. The other days the water was vibrant crystal clear blue! This was no problem for us since we only like to go into the water to about our knees. We were still able to do what we enjoyed which was taking walks along the water's edge, looking for seashells, playing in the sand and taking in the views. This is a very family friendly resort! The staff were great with our son and were always keeping us informed of upcoming activities that he might enjoy. He had a blast!!! They have tons of activities for kids and adults everyday. You can stay busy ALL day long or do absolutely nothing. If you are not into kids this might not be the best place for you but honestly the place was so big that I think you could have a romantic getaway as well. The food was good. The buffet was nothing to get too excited about but it was above average. They have quite a bit of variety but any buffet gets old after a week. We really liked the Japanese Hibachi and the Steak House. Those were the only two restaurants we tried. The place felt very safe. It was nice being able to leave all of our pool stuff at the pool and go eat and not worry about it. We made friends with lots of families. All the kids shared toys and we all looked out for each other's kids. It was just a really nice atmosphere talking with families from all over the world! The pool is HUGE and AMAZING! The sports pool, adult pool bar, kids pool, big pool were all clean and beautiful. I think every person in the whole resort could have been in the pool and it still would not have felt crowded. I just think this was one of the best vacations we have ever taken and was well worth every penny. When they say all inclusive, they mean all inclusive! We did everything we wanted and the only things we paid extra for was a day excursion to Chichen Itza for my husband, tipping and a small souvenior for the boy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tips for families with small children: Request a room on the ground level-there are no elevators. The jungle area is difficult with a stroller because of many stairs and stone pathway and is unavoidable. I would suggest a carrier in addition to a stroller for small children and bring a big enough beach bag to carry stuff and be prepared to carry kids through this part. You have to walk through it no matter where your room is. The rest of the resort is fine for a stroller. Huge variety of food for all types of eaters. Don't worry about food! I did keep a stash of snacks we brought from home in the room for emergencies but didn't use them as much as I thought I would. Bring some toys from home that you can leave behind. Toys for the pool and beach are available but VERY expensive. I stuffed every nook of our luggage with dollar store toys and they were great! Be prepared to share around the pool and others will share theirs. We found a family that had just arrived and gave them our toys.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Die Traveler
Business
Salt Lake City
Oct 20, 2014

Good experiance

Wonderful time at this resort and excellent staff with good meals, easy to get around well organized. We spoke with many people that have been returning for their 2nd and 3rd times and extending their stays longer, because they enjoyed it so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

When going in town to Playa be aware that the local vendors see your wrist bands and will say I was your waiter last night at the Iberostar but that is untrue and a way to get you into their stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jovi Girl
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 18, 2014

family and friends vacation

It was a total of five Adults and one Child staying at this hotel. The staff were great and very attentive to us every day. The beach at this location was simply breath taking. Since we did purchase the all inclusive plan we ventured out to another Iberostar location to compare and I must admit that the beach at the Tucan was still the best. The beach is very calm no waves that will tumble you over and just the ambiance was exactly what we were expecting. While at the other location the beach was rough and had rocks...If you are planning to stay at the Tucan make sure you make reservations to the restaurants prior to your arrival since the restaurants for a nice Dinner will be booked by the time you arrive. We really loooooved the Japanese restaurant. This was by far our favorite dinner. We also attended the Mexican restaurant and the tortilla soup was delicious. The food at the buffet locations were good as well, the shrimp and roast beef were amazing! a couple nights we ordered room service instead and the service was as good. We really felt safe since their security measures were strict. If you did not belong in the hotel area you could not get in. On downfall to this hotel is the lack of air conditioning. The nice Dinner restaurants and the rooms were nice and cool but everything else only has fans since the hotel does have an open concept. Don't get me wrong, the hotel is amazing with all the animals walking free through out the hotel and since this was my son's favorite part of the hotel. Also the hotel is not handicap friendly, we did see and incident and the staff were very fast in assisting but due to the fact that some areas are not designed for a wheel chair they should inform guest about that detail. The staff at the Tucan work very hard at making sure every one is served well. Compared to our trip last year I do have to admit that we were happy with our stay and the way everyone treated us in those five days. Looking forward to our next trip!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5th street (avenue) they also have 25 dollars hour massage there...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lover of Caribbean
Business
Tulsa, OK
Aug 6, 2014

Family Vacation

We were overall disappointed with our return stay at the Tucan. The staff for the most part was unfriendly. We will not return to the Iberostar Tucan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JE8150
Business
California
Jul 26, 2014

Great Location & Fun.

We had a great stay. The staff is a bit slow, especially at the front desk (Almost an hour to check in and we were first in line). The beach was amazing, clear & warm water. Even with water up to my neck, I could see my feet at the bottom. If you bring some bread out with you, you can feed some fish. They'll come flying by, swimming by your feet. If you put your head under water, it's like you're snorkeling and see them swim by. The hotel is right off of the beach, food was average, not great. The kids are picky eaters but we found something for them to eat. We even brought some 2 minute noodles with us, that the kids like, and the kitchen cooked it for us. Staff was great activity wise, a lot of activities, scuba diving, sailing, jet skiing, games with the staff, shows at night, The only place you'll find AC is in your room & the Mexican restaurant. The rest of the resort. you'll sweat, even in the lobby, bars, etc... With a 2 minute cab ride you can be at Senor Frogs and find things to buy for cheap(We didn't do this but I spoke to others that did). Over all it was a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

With a 2 minute cab ride you can be at Senor Frogs and find things to buy for cheap(We didn't do this but I spoke to others that did).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clbrunetti
Business
Manville, RI
May 30, 2014

Great vacation at Iberostar Quetzal

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Iberostar Quetzal from May 17-24 and had a great time. We loved the jungle location and all of the animals running about and in the trees. The beach was beautiful and we were able to get chairs under an umbrella every day. The same goes for the pool. The food at the 2 a la carte restaurants that we tried (Italian and the Steakhouse) was delicious and was also very good at the buffets. We stayed in building 27 facing the middle of the resort and the rooms were very spacious with balconies. We even saw some of the monkeys on the balcony railings 2 of the days we were there. Minor issues were some inconsistencies in the drinks, the limited amount of entertainment at night and inconsistency in the quality of the shows. My wife and daughter suggested that there should possibly be some mini-nibs of liquor in the mini-refridgerators and some cans of Diet (Light) Coke. We would definitely consider going there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Momlovestorun
Business
Ottawa, Canada
May 5, 2014

Loved the Iberostar Tucan/Quetzal

Just home from a trip with my three young adult daughters and we loved it! Food was excellent - ate at two a la carte restaurants - Japanese and Tropical both were great. Huge selection at the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Really loved the coconut and mango ice cream at the beach. Loved the jungle setting and all the animals. Theatre shows were really fun. Beach is beautiful - great place to watch the sunrise. Loved going for morning runs in P,aha at - very safe and fun to be out of the resort. Took a cab in twice to Fifth Ave to shop and eat - lots of fun and so nice to be so close. Will go back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the coconut and mango ice cream by the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top