$258 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
123 reviews
our overalll experience was amazing.

overall it was amazing, from the jungle theme with the monkeys and other wild life to the great... See full review

  • Kevin C.
  • May 2, 2015
Awesome honeymoon

Great place to stay. Wonderful staff. I plan to be back! Thank you for the honeymoon memories See full review

  • Ashley d
  • Mar 4, 2015
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Top hotels

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite with 2 double beds or 1 king bed, private balcony with garden or jungle view, AC, ceiling fan, mini bar stocked every other day with beer, soft drinks and bottled water. Room service from 11am to 11pm. Flat screen TV, alarm clock, digital safe, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. Bathroom with vanity sink and shower.Total area is 409 sq. ft.
Ocean Front Junior Suites
Junior Suite with 2 double beds or 1 king bed, private balcony with oceanfront view, AC, ceiling fan, mini bar stocked every other day with beer, soft drinks and bottled water. Room service from 11am to 11pm. Flat screen TV, alarm clock, digital safe, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. Bathroom with vanity sink, shower. Total area is 377 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 123
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt H.
Business
minneapolis
Apr 10, 2015

Vacation

The hotel entertainers were by far the best part of the hotel. The pool isn't as great as it looks in the pictures and the swim up bar is completely secluded from the main pool area. But, the entertainment the resort put on was a lot of fun and they did a lot to get everyone involved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashley d
Business
berlin
Mar 4, 2015

Awesome honeymoon

Great place to stay. Wonderful staff. I plan to be back! Thank you for the honeymoon memories

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAD.386
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

First trip to Mexico

Hotel was great, beach was beautiful. Rooms were clean and staff was excellent. Very easy to book and just enjoy the vacation. Felt very safe. Only downside - food was not excellent, but definitely passable and always plentiful. Bars/drinks were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashley d
Business
berlin
Dec 29, 2014

Honeymoon

My stay was wonderful at the iberostar! It was my honeymoon vacation, and it was the perfect spot! We went in October and didn't have many kids, teens or college age annoying our honeymoon. Staff was great, and hotel grounds were beautiful. Food was also an a+ Especially for all inclusive..I would go again!! Shout out to Bernardo, he was only there as a college intern, but he really helped us tremendously!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashley d
Business
berlin
Dec 20, 2014

Honeymoon

My stay was wonderful at the iberostar! It was my honeymoon vacation, and it was the perfect spot! We went in October and didn't have many kids, teens or college age annoying our honeymoon. Staff was great, and hotel grounds were beautiful. Food was also an a+ Especially for all inclusive..I would go again!! Shout out to Bernardo, he was only there as a college intern, but he really helped us tremendously!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tina and J
Business
Minnesota
Nov 21, 2014

Wonderful stay at Iberostar food is ok

The food needs improvement. .Amazing location on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JTEZY
Business
Omaha, NE
Nov 15, 2014

Great place to stay

From the moment we arrived to our check out everything was great. Our only issue was that the safe in the room was not left open so we had to have someone reset it for us. They handled this promptly and were there in less than 10 minutes to do this. The grounds are amazing, the bartenders knew us and our drinks by the end of the first night (we do tip). The cleaning staff were great and left the room in perfect order everyday. The beach was great with plenty of open seating and it was nice that to get a drink it was only about 50 ft away. The pool looked great although we didn't use it with the ocean being right there. The buffet food was ok, I always found things that were good, decent selection. On our last night the even had a fresh dorado (mahi mahi or dolphin) that I indulged in and made fish tacos with. The Japanese restaurant was my favorite of the finer dining restaurants. I loved the tile that ran through the lobby and our rooms, it looked great!! I don't have any negative comments except about the ATM which I'm putting in the tip section.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The ATM at the hotel charges you a 10% change fee because it gives you dollars instead of pesos plus a $5.80 service charge. I would have just preferred pesos but wasn't given that option. Use a different ATM in town or somewhere else!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Playa lady
Business
Morgan hill
Sep 14, 2014

Excellent

Had a great trip room clean and comfy beach is best ever and food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Perry
Business
Louisiana
Aug 1, 2014

Great first time in Mexico!!!

This was our first time to vacation in Mexico, wow what an experience!!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Iberostar Tucan while we were there. If you are looking for a bigger kid friendly resort then you have found it. The staff was always courteous and extremely helpful. So here goes, the Pros and Cons! Pros - Wonderful service, and courteous staff. Lots of activities to do at resort, never have to leave. Water was beautiful, and great location. The adult swim up bar was nice. The Japanese restaurant was amazing, wish we could have booked one of the others. Finally, the amazing jungle with animals in the middle of the resort. Pools were always beautiful and clean. Cons - Only got Reservations for one night out of four to one of the 6 restaurants that were available other than the buffet restaurants. Beach was kind of dirty with cig butts scattered about. Would not be a good intimate setting for a couple, lots of kids while we were there. Had to pay extra for WIFI so we could use our cell phones without getting expensive text charges. Overall we had an amazing time at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Also the Tulum/Jungla Maya tour was the highlight of the trip. It is pricey but we'll worth it. This can be scheduled at the hotel and if you do the tour ask for Jose as your guide!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Tulum / Jungla Maya adventure

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Steve
Business
Florida
Jun 23, 2014

Wedding Anniversary

We had a great vacation at Iberostar Tucan resort. The food was excellent. The staff was very accommodating and the rooms were very clean. There were plenty of activities to keep us busy all day long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If a restaurant is fully reserved in the computer the individual restaurants will sometimes allow walk in guests

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top