$272 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 7, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Genavie
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 19, 2011

My first Mexico vacation

Overall the hotel was nice, Check in was easy, and the staff were friendly. The buffet food got a little bit old after the second day, also there was no air-conditioning in the eating restaurants. The rooms were the best part because of the nice cool air conditioning and the maids did a great job with the cleaning. The pools were warm and the adult swim up bar looked scary, it looked dirty. They only served one type of beer and that was dos equis. Went on several tours through iberostar, went to see the myan city of Tulum, the theme park xplore, and went on a full day snorkeling trip. Tulum was neat! Tulum was an old myan city that overlooked the ocean. Xplore was lots of fun, there was ziplines and swimming in freshwater caves. The snorkel trip was a ferry ride to cozumel and a boat ride to the cozumel iberostar resort then two 45 min sessions of snorkeling. I really liked the resort in playa del carmen, I think I went there in the the wrong time of the year! The weather was hot humid and miserable! Its prob best to go in december or january.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fats
Business
Newark, NJ, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Wonderful new experience

We had a great time. The staff was so pleasant. Great food all the time. If you like HOT weather this is the place to visit. There is lots of activities, the staff is always getting people involved and they make you feel very comfortable. The hotel needs to improve the air conditioning system in the rooms, other wise room was great. I can't compare with any other resort because this is the first time I came to Mexico. Again your staff if fantastic, friendly and lots of smiles. Yes I would visit you again !!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Must take a ride to 5th avenue. Great prices and lots to see.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Genavie
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 19, 2011

My first Mexico vacation

Overall the hotel was nice, Check in was easy, and the staff were friendly. The buffet food got a little bit old after the second day, also there was no air-conditioning in the eating restaurants. The rooms were the best part because of the nice cool air conditioning and the maids did a great job with the cleaning. The pools were warm and the adult swim up bar looked scary, it looked dirty. They only served one type of beer and that was dos equis. Went on several tours through iberostar, went to see the myan city of Tulum, the theme park xplore, and went on a full day snorkeling trip. Tulum was neat! Tulum was an old myan city that overlooked the ocean. Xplore was lots of fun, there was ziplines and swimming in freshwater caves. The snorkel trip was a ferry ride to cozumel and a boat ride to the cozumel iberostar resort then two 45 min sessions of snorkeling. I really liked the resort in playa del carmen, I think I went there in the the wrong time of the year! The weather was hot humid and miserable! Its prob best to go in december or january.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Playa del Carmen
Aug 17, 2011

Friends' Vacation in the Sun

We've stayed here several times and enjoy our stays here where the ocean is beautiful and/or relaxing on the beach or by the pool. Plenty of activities are available. We also like walking down along the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close enough to 5th Ave (appx 2 miles) to walk for shopping, dining, ferry to Cozumel, etc.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riviera King
Business
SC
Aug 7, 2011

Family vacation

Good hotel. Mind it is open (no AC except in the rooms and theme restaurants) and it gets VERY hot in the summer. Great beach, pool. Awesome entertainment crew.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 6, 2011

Great Vacation

Great hotel, Great food. Only bad side was that we stayed a week. It was our first time to Playa del Carmen, and we will defiantly be back. The only downside to the hotel is the night life. There isn't a nightclub, there are nightly shows, which we could have done without (they were boring). Beach was awesome and clean and so was the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A mile down the street is 5th Ave. If you want to do any shopping espically for gifts go there. There are so many shops that you can talk your way down to a price that you are willing to pay. It's about a mile walk or a five minute and $7 USD taxi ride.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gramma in waiting
Business
indiana
Jul 30, 2011

tropical nature filled paradise

I was by myself for this getaway 8 days and the hotel was very clean and staff very friendly, lots to do for familys, and short walk to shop or taxi for 8.00 us dollars into playas downtown. thats hours of shopping. felt very safe at hotel and the beaches were clean. buffets were great for me. had a garden room and loved the peacockcs and monkeys in the trees each morning as well as other wildlife on the grounds. i will go back as all inclusive was a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

the jewelry is expensive even in the market area you can buy just as unique pieces at tj maxx jewlrey counter for 1/4 of the price was dissapointed what i let myself buy.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iberostar Tucan
Business
NY
Jun 27, 2011

Iberostar Tucan

Overall a fun trip. The Tucan is not a perfect fit for kids. The pool is huge, but deep. The food was not very good. Drinks (juices incl) were very watered down. Very good service. Great beach and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aurora, CO
Jun 21, 2011

Wish we could come back

We had a wonderful vacation here. The resort is gorgeous, the pools were perfect, the food was very good in most of the restaurants. The staff was very helpful and friendly. If you tip them, they are even better. The reputation that you tip gets around really quick and then you almost get too much service. My Son is getting married at Dreams which I have never been to. The travel agent says it's much better then Iberostar, I hope she's right because the online reviews of Dreams are not all that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The snorkeling trip was Beautiful, I highly recommend that and the trip to the Ruins.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
milwaukee, wi
Jun 9, 2011

great location

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top