$213 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston, MA
Aug 6, 2011

Great Vacation

Great hotel, Great food. Only bad side was that we stayed a week. It was our first time to Playa del Carmen, and we will defiantly be back. The only downside to the hotel is the night life. There isn't a nightclub, there are nightly shows, which we could have done without (they were boring). Beach was awesome and clean and so was the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A mile down the street is 5th Ave. If you want to do any shopping espically for gifts go there. There are so many shops that you can talk your way down to a price that you are willing to pay. It's about a mile walk or a five minute and $7 USD taxi ride.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riviera King
Family
SC
Aug 7, 2011

Family vacation

Good hotel. Mind it is open (no AC except in the rooms and theme restaurants) and it gets VERY hot in the summer. Great beach, pool. Awesome entertainment crew.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
boston ma
Dec 26, 2010

great vacation

beautiful beach, friendly staff, food very ordinary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great to have a small shopping center within walking distance

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Charlotte, NC
Aug 15, 2010

Great Family Vaction

Staff was very helpful, shows were fun for the kids. Plenty of lounge chairs and the shade umbrellas on the beach were great. Fantastic snorkling a few hundred yards south of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring you snorking equipment, better then Xel-Ha!

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
milwaukee, wi
Jun 9, 2011

great location

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Edison NJ
Nov 23, 2010

Near Perfect

We had a great time at Iberostar Tucan. The Staff could not do enough for you. The grounds and beach were beautiful. The food was very good. The food quality of the food at the restaurants was the same as the buffets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the collectivo's if your traveling more than 5 mile they are cheap safe and fast. Plus you get to meet the locals

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ACY22
Family
Sarnia, Ontario
Dec 13, 2010

Iberostar Tucan

Beautiful hotel, beautiful beach, great staff, not so good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
calikares
Family
Granite Bay, CA
May 2, 2010

Beautiful Playa Del Carmen spot

Just back from a week at the Iberostar Tucan Hotel, it was fantastic. It is a beautiful hotel, the tropical grounds are awesome. We loved all the birds, and the animals living on the grounds. The baby monkeys are especially cool. The food is very good, especially the breakfast buffet. We really liked the Japanese and steak house restaurants too. The location of the hotel is great, I walking distance or a $5.00 cab ride to Playa Del Carmen. I highly recommend this hotel. The only issue we had was that our son (19) and his girlfried went to the on site disco and she gave her purse to the bar tender to hold and when he returned it her money was taken out of her wallet. The hotel security did nothing about the situation. That was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We took the ferry from Playa Del Carmen to Couzemal and then a cab to the Iberostar hotel there. You can use all of the hotel immenities. The hotel is located on a reef, and you can snorkel there and plan a diving trip if you are in to that. We paid for a separate snorkel trip and realized once we got to the hotel, we could have just rented the snorkel equipment there and saved alot of money.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Aurora, CO
Jun 21, 2011

Wish we could come back

We had a wonderful vacation here. The resort is gorgeous, the pools were perfect, the food was very good in most of the restaurants. The staff was very helpful and friendly. If you tip them, they are even better. The reputation that you tip gets around really quick and then you almost get too much service. My Son is getting married at Dreams which I have never been to. The travel agent says it's much better then Iberostar, I hope she's right because the online reviews of Dreams are not all that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The snorkeling trip was Beautiful, I highly recommend that and the trip to the Ruins.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papa'
Family
E.C, WI
Mar 6, 2010

Vacation Reality

Check-in & check-out staff were just matter of fact. Most of all other service staff e.g. wait staff, gardeners, bar tenders, housekeepers all very welcoming, friendly, helpful. Our housekeeper was the very best & she went out of her way to provide additional linens, towels, soft-drinks when we all became ill for 2 entire days. I discussed our illness with the hotel doctor (3 of our family are medical professionals). I had found several other guests who were also ill at the same time as we were. According to this doctor, the GI illness was probably viral, due to food handling, not the water. However, we only ate & drank at this hotel. Other than our illness, the getaway was worth the economic cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Small pueblo & shops near hotels had great merchandise & reasonable prices.

Back to menu Return to top