Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$405
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 17, 2016 Check-out: Feb 20, 2016

Forget the all inclusive

Would not recommend Fri, Apr 26, 2013
Forget the all inclusive - the food (and drink) were pretty bad. Couldn't even get good Mexican in Mexico...and how could they only serve Dos Equis?? Seriously, not even offering Corona? For my first all inclusive vaca, not impressed with the amenities.

Dining

Don't bother with all inclusive here - take a cab to "5th ave" and get good food and drink in town!

| Boston, MA Friends

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Definitely at least a 4 start resort

Would recommend Tue, Jan 29, 2013
This was a very nice hotel with good food choices, nice staff and a fantastic fun team that made it a great hotel for any age from 2-70. The rooms need updating a little and a few more tv channels would have been good. The evening shows were average but still had some entertainment value. The fun team during the day were excellent and the beach and pool area were perfect. Seeing monkeys and peacocks on our daily walk through the properties jungle were also enjoyable. Lots of different a la carte restaurants in the evening gave a nice break to buffet dining.

Entertainment hint

Ask for top shelf name alcohol as what they put in the normal drinks is more like water.

| Ohio usa Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Do not stay here

Would not recommend Wed, Jan 16, 2013
I stayed here January 2013 and the hotel had us checking out 2 days earlier than our reservations. Our group that we were with could not even get reservations to the restaurants. The food was mediocre at best at the buffet and restaurant. Once we finally got someone at the front desk to help and got our reservations fixed one person said they would upgrade our room complimentary. When we went back after we went and packed everything up, they said they would not do it. We had two old mattresses, one of which was broken outside of our room for three days. I asked the front desk everyday sometimes twice a day and they never did. The were still there on the day we left. Customer service needs serious help. Mattresses were so old and warn out and hard it should be embarrassing for them. I have an appt to get a massage today already and I just got back last night. Our room had blue and green build up from the water on all bathroom appliances. Needless to say the rooms are dated and the mattresses were like sleeping on 2x4's. No sleep made me grumpy and then I walked out to two disgusting mattresses outside my room. Location was good and food mediocre. Stay at the RIU if you want a better service and better amenities and it was updated less than a year ago. Iberostar need to walk next door and look around to see what they need to do. The alcohol is no name brand, other resorts like the RIU used brand name alcohol. Place has potential but needs serious updating

Attractions

run, run far away

| Fort Collins, CO, USA Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Wonderful time with my family

Would recommend Mon, Jan 14, 2013
This is my second time at this hotel, my children's first. Everyone had a wonderful time. The resort staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was good, activities & entertainment were fun. I'd recommend this resort to friends & family.

| Richmond, VA Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Just average -

Would not recommend Thu, Oct 11, 2012
Pros - Nice and safe (gated) location - Wild life is awesome, specially for kids - Beautiful beach - Awesome swimming pool - Breakfast buffet is very good - Mexican restaurant is probably the best food you can get there, which is a little above average Cons - Rooms are old and just ok - very humid as expected - The lunch and dinner buffet are sub-par. It was just a bunch of all american frozen food. - If you want good service, you must be willing to tip for everything - WiFi is a ripoff and the quality is not good - so if you are willing to enjoy your vacation and disconnect for a while, this will not be an issue All and all, I would rate this 3 out of 5 stars.

Money saver

Don't pay for the WIFI at the hotel. Go to the Starbucks that is 5 minutes away (short walk), get a coffee and they will give you the access code and their internet is a whole lot faster.

| DC Area Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Family Getaway

Would recommend Tue, Aug 14, 2012
My husband and daughter recently stayed here from July 30th – August 8th. We had basically perfect weather couldn’t ask for better for the rainy season in Mexico. The resort itself is fabulous. This is our second time here and it has gotten better. The food is great especially all the different deserts. The pool great the beach phenomenal lots of soft sand and clear warm water. Really enjoyed this vacation! The Iberostar friends are awesome. They work so hard as do the cooks, cleaning lady, waiters and waitresses. Only downfall is people didn’t seem to be tipping. These people work hard so why not appreciate them. (You will be appreciated back!) Great place for families lots of kids of all ages!

Dining

If you love seafood or shrimp tacos go to Playa del Carmen not fifth avenue get a taxi and go to La Floresta!!! Local place with locals not the best looking but O-M-G the food is beyond great!!!

| Chicago,Il Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Ok

Would recommend Mon, May 28, 2012
Not bad. Great beach. Nice water. Lots of wildlife roaming around the place. Peacocks, peahens, agoutie, monkeys, children, etc. A little ridiculous on the a la carte restaurant reservations. Very difficult to actually get a reservation. But, the buffet was better than the restaurants anyway. If you're going as a couple, make sure you request (way ahead of time) a king bed. Seems like most of the rooms have double twins. Lobby bars are nice. You can actually smoke and drink in there at the same time, like civilized people do. You don't have to wander 30 feet away just to enjoy Native Americans' gift to the world; tobacco.

Dining

Hit the buffet. Forget the a la carte restaurants in the hotel.

| New York Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Perfect location and beach

Would recommend Sun, May 27, 2012
Loved the beach and close proximity to PDC 5th Ave. rooms were spotless however beds were hard. Food was solid but would have been nice to have more nights at the specialty restaurants. Drinks were very watered down which was a bummer. Had to stick with beer. LOL

| Kansas City Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Perfect Family Vacation

Would recommend Mon, Apr 9, 2012
The hotel is clean, comfortable, and pretty, the grounds are jungly and beautiful, and the food (especially the Mexican offerings) was very good. The staff are helpful and friendly. Oh, and the beach is gorgeous. It was a little crowded since we were there over spring break, but that's to be expected. Our kids also loved looking for agoutis and monkeys, though the latter are very loud in the morning! We had no complaints, and would definitely go back.

| Washington, DC, USA Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Very happy recent guests!

Would recommend Mon, Apr 9, 2012
I normally HATE all inclusive resorts - but Iberostar has completely turned me around, at least when it comes to staying with them. The resort was incredible! They did a masterfully job of intertwining a five star resort with a jungle full of fascinating animals. As an avid traveler, I've never seen a place with the integration a nature jungle like this - loved it! Our only complaint was the very stiff beds.

Shopping hint

Worth a night trip to Playa del Carmen for the shopping and people watching.

| Grand Rapids, MI, USA Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5