$270 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
144 reviews
Wedding Anniversary

We had a great vacation at Iberostar Tucan resort. The food was excellent. The staff was very... See full review

  • Boston Steve
  • Jun 23, 2014
The Staff are Awesome!

The staff is what makes this hotel a great place to stay. Zumba on the beach with Maricio was the... See full review

  • CSI GIRL
  • Jun 11, 2014
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6028 -87.092
Area served
Playa del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Directly on the fine-sand beach of Playacar, in Riviera Maya, Mexico. Approximately 45 minutes away from Cancun International Airport and just a few minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday Mom 2012
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 18, 2012

Sweet 16!

We chose this resort to celebrate my daughter's 16th birthday. There is something for everyone to do. We especially loved the jungle path. The pool and the beach were spectacular. The staff was friendly and easy going. Very relaxed environment, perfect for families. We loved it and would definitely would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese restaurant and Steak House were big hits.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
May 13, 2010

A great time for a great price!

We had a wonderful time! The location is wonderful! If you want to go into town it is a $5.00 taxi ride. (or you could walk the beach and it takes about 15min) The food was good. Only advice would be to ask at check in for a soft mattress pad. ( they will have housekeeping put it on and bed it will make it softer)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mtfig
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Perfect Family Vacation

The hotel is clean, comfortable, and pretty, the grounds are jungly and beautiful, and the food (especially the Mexican offerings) was very good. The staff are helpful and friendly. Oh, and the beach is gorgeous. It was a little crowded since we were there over spring break, but that's to be expected. Our kids also loved looking for agoutis and monkeys, though the latter are very loud in the morning! We had no complaints, and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scuza1
Ohio usa
Jan 29, 2013

Definitely at least a 4 start resort

This was a very nice hotel with good food choices, nice staff and a fantastic fun team that made it a great hotel for any age from 2-70. The rooms need updating a little and a few more tv channels would have been good. The evening shows were average but still had some entertainment value. The fun team during the day were excellent and the beach and pool area were perfect. Seeing monkeys and peacocks on our daily walk through the properties jungle were also enjoyable. Lots of different a la carte restaurants in the evening gave a nice break to buffet dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Ask for top shelf name alcohol as what they put in the normal drinks is more like water.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EDP123
Rhode Island
Jun 16, 2014

Great Vacation

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed this place! The location was great and they had a lot of things to do during the day. The beach and pool areas were very well maintained. The food was decent in the buffets while the restaurants were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
calikares
Granite Bay, CA
May 2, 2010

Beautiful Playa Del Carmen spot

Just back from a week at the Iberostar Tucan Hotel, it was fantastic. It is a beautiful hotel, the tropical grounds are awesome. We loved all the birds, and the animals living on the grounds. The baby monkeys are especially cool. The food is very good, especially the breakfast buffet. We really liked the Japanese and steak house restaurants too. The location of the hotel is great, I walking distance or a $5.00 cab ride to Playa Del Carmen. I highly recommend this hotel. The only issue we had was that our son (19) and his girlfried went to the on site disco and she gave her purse to the bar tender to hold and when he returned it her money was taken out of her wallet. The hotel security did nothing about the situation. That was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We took the ferry from Playa Del Carmen to Couzemal and then a cab to the Iberostar hotel there. You can use all of the hotel immenities. The hotel is located on a reef, and you can snorkel there and plan a diving trip if you are in to that. We paid for a separate snorkel trip and realized once we got to the hotel, we could have just rented the snorkel equipment there and saved alot of money.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clarkston,MI
Apr 12, 2011

It was a great escape

We stayed at this hotel for seven days in April 2011. Weather was wonderful. When we got there, our room was ready. Receptionist gave us a room which was very close to the beach and pool. Room was very comfortable and cleaning was good. Minibar was always full. We tried all Ala carte restaurants. Japanese was the best. There was an actual show. Main restaurants and Beach bars had enough food and drinks all the time. Beach was wonderful!!! We never stayed at the pool area. We love ocean and play with the waves. Shows at night was nice. Mexican folk dances were so interesting. If you stay there on Friday night, don't miss it. The worst thing was there was no free internet. They were charging 36 pesos for 15 minutes! The next door was Riu hotel and internet was free in the lobby in Riu. There was a Starbucks cafe in a shopping area where located ten minutes walk away, and internet was free there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xel-Ha is natural aquarium. If you like diving and snorkeling , you can spend one day there.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Apr 10, 2010

Great trip for kids from 15 years to 13m

Just back from great trip. Great staff, lots of food with good variety. La Hacienda was the best for a la carte meal. Japanese was ok, uxmal forgettable. Dive shop was awesome. Got our 15 year old certified and even the 10 yr old dove with us in Cozumel. Great babysitting service. Beds really hard!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Xel Ha. Great day

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
May 13, 2010

A great time for a great price!

We had a wonderful time! The location is wonderful! If you want to go into town it is a $5.00 taxi ride. (or you could walk the beach and it takes about 15min) The food was good. Only advice would be to ask at check in for a soft mattress pad. ( they will have housekeeping put it on and bed it will make it softer)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ACY22
Sarnia, Ontario
Dec 13, 2010

Iberostar Tucan

Beautiful hotel, beautiful beach, great staff, not so good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papa'
E.C, WI
Mar 6, 2010

Vacation Reality

Check-in & check-out staff were just matter of fact. Most of all other service staff e.g. wait staff, gardeners, bar tenders, housekeepers all very welcoming, friendly, helpful. Our housekeeper was the very best & she went out of her way to provide additional linens, towels, soft-drinks when we all became ill for 2 entire days. I discussed our illness with the hotel doctor (3 of our family are medical professionals). I had found several other guests who were also ill at the same time as we were. According to this doctor, the GI illness was probably viral, due to food handling, not the water. However, we only ate & drank at this hotel. Other than our illness, the getaway was worth the economic cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Small pueblo & shops near hotels had great merchandise & reasonable prices.

Back to menu Return to top