Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

4/5

Overall score

84%

Would recommend

Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6028 -87.092
Area served
Playa del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Directly on the fine-sand beach of Playacar, in Riviera Maya, Mexico. Approximately 45 minutes away from Cancun International Airport and just a few minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
May 13, 2010

A great time for a great price!

We had a wonderful time! The location is wonderful! If you want to go into town it is a $5.00 taxi ride. (or you could walk the beach and it takes about 15min) The food was good. Only advice would be to ask at check in for a soft mattress pad. ( they will have housekeeping put it on and bed it will make it softer)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach King Daddy
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jul 11, 2010

Fabulous Family Mexico Vacation

Pool is warm, huge, beautifully shaped with plenty of lounge chairs and shade. Sunken Swim up bar with thigh high "cooler than the pool" water. Separate sports pool for water polo and basketball. Food was great as were the all inclusive drinks. Pool side service could have been better but still not a long walk to get a drink and something to eat. Evening shows were very entertaining. No AC anywhere with the exception of the rooms, the shops, bathrooms and computer room. Lobby bars and seating areas were very warm and tough for the dinner evenings when long slacks were required for men in the restaurants. Only restaurant that was air conditioned with the Italian theme. All others were open air. Japanese restaurant was unbelievably hot and although the food was good, I would not go there again for that reason. Great beach with volleyball and plenty of lounge chairs with shade. Service was fabulous and everyone was extremely friendly with attention to detail, especially in the food areas. I would highly recommend this place for anyone from couples to families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Beds are HARD. You can request upon check in a padded top for the mattress and they will install this for you. I would highly recommend you do this. Also, request a room away from the theater as it can become noisy in the evening. Beware of the morning Peacocks calls- we did not sleep after 5:00 a.m.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Clara County, CA
Apr 23, 2010

Fun even in the rain!

Unfortunately it rained many inches during our stay. However, it was nice on arrival and we were able to spend the first couple days enjoying more typical weather. Pool was beautiful, beach was beautiful. Staff were all very nice and professional. Restaurant waiters were really nice and did a great job. Our 13 year old para-sailed on our first full day and had a blast. We also rented a car for the week (took from airport). Visited Tulum and Akumal, snorkeled in a lagoon at Akumal, and later visited caves at Aktun Chen. also walked and shopped and dined in Playa del Carmen - very interesting and fun. Due to rain, didn't get to other activities we might have. But enjoyed the beautiful tropical landscaping and wildlife throughout the property. We swam rain or shine...still warm out, so why not? we weren't really into the evening shows, however, did enjoy the Mexcan folklorico dancing in the show one evening. restaurants were fine. Hotel room not large for 4, and would have been nice to have 4 chairs on patio (since we did spend a bit of time there due to rain), but it worked out fine for our family. Overall had a wonderful stay at Iberostar Tucan and enjoyed our vacation in Playa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car. Get to hotel faster and gives you flexibility to see some of the neat things in the area easily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Graduated Global Traveler
Business
Lafayette, IN
May 28, 2010

Great vacation, but not for kids really

We went for four nights. The beach is beautiful, and the water is fairly clear and incredibly blue. The food and water at the resort were ok to drink, but beware of outside food and drink, like you've probably heard. The buffet food was decent, but get there early for the best selection and temperatures. Plus, it was really cool to see the monkeys, iguanas, and various assorted animals scattered throughout the resort. Also, this resort isn't really for children. In the resort, the average age of those while we were there must have been in their middle to late 30s. As such, activities are geared for more mature customers (and usually involve alcohol). Also, there is quite a bit of topless sunbathing on the beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

For the in-hotel restaurants, the dress code is elegant dress, and gentlemen are required to wear long pants or bermuda shorts (depending on the restaurant). We weren't aware of this beforehand, so pack accordingly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
O'Ms
Business
Chicago, USA
Jan 22, 2010

Very Nice Place

Very friendly staff. Great grounds. No lines. Little waiting for things. Low-key European travelers, seemed family-friendly. Food was diverse and plentiful, but not necessarily great. You can hang by pool or by the beach--near the activities or find a quiet spot--plenty of all types. Short, cheap cab ride to very cool town of Playa Del Carmen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you get bored there are plenty of things to do in the area. Please take advantage of the great reefs there and do some snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gramma in waiting
Business
indiana
Jul 30, 2011

tropical nature filled paradise

I was by myself for this getaway 8 days and the hotel was very clean and staff very friendly, lots to do for familys, and short walk to shop or taxi for 8.00 us dollars into playas downtown. thats hours of shopping. felt very safe at hotel and the beaches were clean. buffets were great for me. had a garden room and loved the peacockcs and monkeys in the trees each morning as well as other wildlife on the grounds. i will go back as all inclusive was a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

the jewelry is expensive even in the market area you can buy just as unique pieces at tj maxx jewlrey counter for 1/4 of the price was dissapointed what i let myself buy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Apr 10, 2010

Great trip for kids from 15 years to 13m

Just back from great trip. Great staff, lots of food with good variety. La Hacienda was the best for a la carte meal. Japanese was ok, uxmal forgettable. Dive shop was awesome. Got our 15 year old certified and even the 10 yr old dove with us in Cozumel. Great babysitting service. Beds really hard!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Xel Ha. Great day

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 21, 2010

Great Mexican Getaway

Iberostar Tucan has a unique jungle experience. We saw lots of animals and birds and also the caves and waterfalls which were so fun to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clarkston,MI
Apr 12, 2011

It was a great escape

We stayed at this hotel for seven days in April 2011. Weather was wonderful. When we got there, our room was ready. Receptionist gave us a room which was very close to the beach and pool. Room was very comfortable and cleaning was good. Minibar was always full. We tried all Ala carte restaurants. Japanese was the best. There was an actual show. Main restaurants and Beach bars had enough food and drinks all the time. Beach was wonderful!!! We never stayed at the pool area. We love ocean and play with the waves. Shows at night was nice. Mexican folk dances were so interesting. If you stay there on Friday night, don't miss it. The worst thing was there was no free internet. They were charging 36 pesos for 15 minutes! The next door was Riu hotel and internet was free in the lobby in Riu. There was a Starbucks cafe in a shopping area where located ten minutes walk away, and internet was free there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xel-Ha is natural aquarium. If you like diving and snorkeling , you can spend one day there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jul 6, 2010

Nice vacation spot

The hotel was very nice, and the staff was very friendly. The beds were very hard as other reviewers have noted, but we slept fine even without a bed topper. The food was OK, nothing special, but as vegetarians, we were able to find enough to eat at each meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top