$258 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pundo
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 4, 2013

fantastic vacation

The nightlife and entertainment didn't live up to its expectation. However, the hotel itself was superb. Beautiful scenic views with a crystal clear beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

To experience the night life you must go to the strip where the town doesn't sleep. Easily accessible either by walking or riding a bicycle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mexico love
Business
riviera maya
May 3, 2013

iberostar tucan and quetzal

good, but food needs change, the food is to repititious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redneck on Vacay
Business
The Lone Star State
May 1, 2013

Perfect Beach Location

This hotel was attached to the perfect beach location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring lots of sun-screen from the USA! They charge $25.00 a bottle at all stores fronts and resort shops!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Olechkamama
Business
San jose
Apr 28, 2013

Fantastic Eco resort

I have stayed 2nd time. Perfect location, inside of jungle; beautiful beach where it is safe to swim in carribean sea. Close to Playa Del Carmen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Playa Del Carmen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Forget the all inclusive
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 26, 2013

Forget the all inclusive

Forget the all inclusive - the food (and drink) were pretty bad. Couldn't even get good Mexican in Mexico...and how could they only serve Dos Equis?? Seriously, not even offering Corona? For my first all inclusive vaca, not impressed with the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't bother with all inclusive here - take a cab to "5th ave" and get good food and drink in town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scuza1
Business
Ohio usa
Jan 29, 2013

Definitely at least a 4 start resort

This was a very nice hotel with good food choices, nice staff and a fantastic fun team that made it a great hotel for any age from 2-70. The rooms need updating a little and a few more tv channels would have been good. The evening shows were average but still had some entertainment value. The fun team during the day were excellent and the beach and pool area were perfect. Seeing monkeys and peacocks on our daily walk through the properties jungle were also enjoyable. Lots of different a la carte restaurants in the evening gave a nice break to buffet dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Ask for top shelf name alcohol as what they put in the normal drinks is more like water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
case9999
Business
Fort Collins, CO, USA
Jan 16, 2013

Do not stay here

I stayed here January 2013 and the hotel had us checking out 2 days earlier than our reservations. Our group that we were with could not even get reservations to the restaurants. The food was mediocre at best at the buffet and restaurant. Once we finally got someone at the front desk to help and got our reservations fixed one person said they would upgrade our room complimentary. When we went back after we went and packed everything up, they said they would not do it. We had two old mattresses, one of which was broken outside of our room for three days. I asked the front desk everyday sometimes twice a day and they never did. The were still there on the day we left. Customer service needs serious help. Mattresses were so old and warn out and hard it should be embarrassing for them. I have an appt to get a massage today already and I just got back last night. Our room had blue and green build up from the water on all bathroom appliances. Needless to say the rooms are dated and the mattresses were like sleeping on 2x4's. No sleep made me grumpy and then I walked out to two disgusting mattresses outside my room. Location was good and food mediocre. Stay at the RIU if you want a better service and better amenities and it was updated less than a year ago. Iberostar need to walk next door and look around to see what they need to do. The alcohol is no name brand, other resorts like the RIU used brand name alcohol. Place has potential but needs serious updating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

run, run far away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenn O
Business
Richmond, VA
Jan 14, 2013

Wonderful time with my family

This is my second time at this hotel, my children's first. Everyone had a wonderful time. The resort staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was good, activities & entertainment were fun. I'd recommend this resort to friends & family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Average people
Business
DC Area
Oct 11, 2012

Just average -

Pros - Nice and safe (gated) location - Wild life is awesome, specially for kids - Beautiful beach - Awesome swimming pool - Breakfast buffet is very good - Mexican restaurant is probably the best food you can get there, which is a little above average Cons - Rooms are old and just ok - very humid as expected - The lunch and dinner buffet are sub-par. It was just a bunch of all american frozen food. - If you want good service, you must be willing to tip for everything - WiFi is a ripoff and the quality is not good - so if you are willing to enjoy your vacation and disconnect for a while, this will not be an issue All and all, I would rate this 3 out of 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't pay for the WIFI at the hotel. Go to the Starbucks that is 5 minutes away (short walk), get a coffee and they will give you the access code and their internet is a whole lot faster.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GMami
Business
Chicago,Il
Aug 14, 2012

Family Getaway

My husband and daughter recently stayed here from July 30th – August 8th. We had basically perfect weather couldn’t ask for better for the rainy season in Mexico. The resort itself is fabulous. This is our second time here and it has gotten better. The food is great especially all the different deserts. The pool great the beach phenomenal lots of soft sand and clear warm water. Really enjoyed this vacation! The Iberostar friends are awesome. They work so hard as do the cooks, cleaning lady, waiters and waitresses. Only downfall is people didn’t seem to be tipping. These people work hard so why not appreciate them. (You will be appreciated back!) Great place for families lots of kids of all ages!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you love seafood or shrimp tacos go to Playa del Carmen not fifth avenue get a taxi and go to La Floresta!!! Local place with locals not the best looking but O-M-G the food is beyond great!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top