Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
86 reviews
Fabulous family friendly hotel!

My husband and I stayed at Iberostar Quetzal with our two teen-aged sons. The hotel had tons of... See full review

  • Super Suzy
  • Apr 7, 2014
Great Family Vacation

We had great time at the hotel! The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are nice shows,... See full review

  • Martinooss
  • Feb 17, 2014
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6028 -87.092
Area served
Playa del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Directly on the fine-sand beach of Playacar, in Riviera Maya, Mexico. Approximately 45 minutes away from Cancun International Airport and just a few minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.9 / 5
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
Genavie
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 19, 2011

My first Mexico vacation

Overall the hotel was nice, Check in was easy, and the staff were friendly. The buffet food got a little bit old after the second day, also there was no air-conditioning in the eating restaurants. The rooms were the best part because of the nice cool air conditioning and the maids did a great job with the cleaning. The pools were warm and the adult swim up bar looked scary, it looked dirty. They only served one type of beer and that was dos equis. Went on several tours through iberostar, went to see the myan city of Tulum, the theme park xplore, and went on a full day snorkeling trip. Tulum was neat! Tulum was an old myan city that overlooked the ocean. Xplore was lots of fun, there was ziplines and swimming in freshwater caves. The snorkel trip was a ferry ride to cozumel and a boat ride to the cozumel iberostar resort then two 45 min sessions of snorkeling. I really liked the resort in playa del carmen, I think I went there in the the wrong time of the year! The weather was hot humid and miserable! Its prob best to go in december or january.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
Fats
Newark, NJ, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Wonderful new experience

We had a great time. The staff was so pleasant. Great food all the time. If you like HOT weather this is the place to visit. There is lots of activities, the staff is always getting people involved and they make you feel very comfortable. The hotel needs to improve the air conditioning system in the rooms, other wise room was great. I can't compare with any other resort because this is the first time I came to Mexico. Again your staff if fantastic, friendly and lots of smiles. Yes I would visit you again !!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Must take a ride to 5th avenue. Great prices and lots to see.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Playa del Carmen
Aug 17, 2011

Friends' Vacation in the Sun

We've stayed here several times and enjoy our stays here where the ocean is beautiful and/or relaxing on the beach or by the pool. Plenty of activities are available. We also like walking down along the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close enough to 5th Ave (appx 2 miles) to walk for shopping, dining, ferry to Cozumel, etc.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
Riviera King
SC
Aug 7, 2011

Family vacation

Good hotel. Mind it is open (no AC except in the rooms and theme restaurants) and it gets VERY hot in the summer. Great beach, pool. Awesome entertainment crew.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 6, 2011

Great Vacation

Great hotel, Great food. Only bad side was that we stayed a week. It was our first time to Playa del Carmen, and we will defiantly be back. The only downside to the hotel is the night life. There isn't a nightclub, there are nightly shows, which we could have done without (they were boring). Beach was awesome and clean and so was the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A mile down the street is 5th Ave. If you want to do any shopping espically for gifts go there. There are so many shops that you can talk your way down to a price that you are willing to pay. It's about a mile walk or a five minute and $7 USD taxi ride.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
gramma in waiting
indiana
Jul 30, 2011

tropical nature filled paradise

I was by myself for this getaway 8 days and the hotel was very clean and staff very friendly, lots to do for familys, and short walk to shop or taxi for 8.00 us dollars into playas downtown. thats hours of shopping. felt very safe at hotel and the beaches were clean. buffets were great for me. had a garden room and loved the peacockcs and monkeys in the trees each morning as well as other wildlife on the grounds. i will go back as all inclusive was a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

the jewelry is expensive even in the market area you can buy just as unique pieces at tj maxx jewlrey counter for 1/4 of the price was dissapointed what i let myself buy.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
Iberostar Tucan
NY
Jun 27, 2011

Iberostar Tucan

Overall a fun trip. The Tucan is not a perfect fit for kids. The pool is huge, but deep. The food was not very good. Drinks (juices incl) were very watered down. Very good service. Great beach and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Aurora, CO
Jun 21, 2011

Wish we could come back

We had a wonderful vacation here. The resort is gorgeous, the pools were perfect, the food was very good in most of the restaurants. The staff was very helpful and friendly. If you tip them, they are even better. The reputation that you tip gets around really quick and then you almost get too much service. My Son is getting married at Dreams which I have never been to. The travel agent says it's much better then Iberostar, I hope she's right because the online reviews of Dreams are not all that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The snorkeling trip was Beautiful, I highly recommend that and the trip to the Ruins.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
milwaukee, wi
Jun 9, 2011

great location

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
Cashlin
Baytown, Texas
Jun 7, 2011

"Excellent service"

Just got back from a week stay at the Tucan. The staff at this hotel is excellent and will bend over backwards to try and make your stay as good as possible. The grounds are huge...so if you have trouble walking long distances, this is probably not the right hotel for you. The expanse of the hotel grounds is due in part of the large jungle filled with a variety of different animals...if this interest you...you will love it. The pool and the beach area are both large with a lot of lounge chairs so there is not much of a problem finding a place to sit. Omar at the reception desk is awesome...he is the man...and is very courteous and helpful. The beds are hard, so be sure to ask for a mattress pad...they will be happy to do this for you, just ask. Get a omelet at the restaurant by the pool, they are very good. We had a great stay, can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to bring plenty of sun screen...it is way too expensive at the resort or even in the town of Playa. Bring inflatable floats for the pool and ocean...you'll be glad you did.

Back to menu Return to top