$258 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday Mom 2012
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 18, 2012

Sweet 16!

We chose this resort to celebrate my daughter's 16th birthday. There is something for everyone to do. We especially loved the jungle path. The pool and the beach were spectacular. The staff was friendly and easy going. Very relaxed environment, perfect for families. We loved it and would definitely would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese restaurant and Steak House were big hits.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vassa
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jan 3, 2014

Great hotel for an unspoiled tourist

The hotel is truly beautiful and has a true Yucatan spirit in my view. The landscaping is amazing - there is a beautiful jungle in the centre of the resort with lots of wildlife. The Playacar beach and ocean are amazing!! do not forget your snorkels - the artificial reefs are close by. The food was great and buffet menu did vary throughout the stay, unlike others experienced before. The room looked dated and in need for a renovation, but it did not bothered us at all. I will likely come to "Tucan and Quetzal" again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't buy anything in hotel's shops. A 35 minutes walk to Playa's 5th avenue and you can find way better deals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frosty226
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jan 16, 2014

Paradise

Our stay at Iberostar Tucan/Quetzal was amazing. The beach is perfect, the pool is fantastic, and there is so much beautiful wildlife wandering freely about the grounds. The staff was also very friendly. We did a free scuba lesson in the pool, got our pictures taken with toucans and parrots by their photographers, and paid only $45 per person to go snorkeling with sea turtles and stingrays, which was awesome. My only real qualm, which is pretty minor, is the food quality. The buffets were pretty similar each day, and while they had a great selection, the quality was just ok. Reservations are required for the other restaurants and we often had to eat as late as 9:00 pm to get reservations. The Japanese restaurant and steak house were really great, though. Overall, it's a really stunning resort and we had a wonderful stay. Would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The shops around 5th Avenue in Playa Del Carmen are much cheaper than the ones at the resort, and worth a visit unless you want to spend $20 on sunblock or $40 on flip flops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisaTed
Business
Minnesota
Mar 22, 2014

Great family resort!

We have gone to this resort two years in a row with our kids, ages 11 and 9 and it is wonderful! If you ask for a room in building 14 you will have monkeys hanging out outside of your balcony every morning and every afternoon. This is really cool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations as soon as you get to the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enzo's Mom
Business
New Braunfels, TX
Apr 21, 2014

Beach is picture perfect!

Traveling with a 7 year old and a 2 year old. They had a great time as did we. The cribs are a little on the small side, but they work. I went on the Bike Tour which is a single file bike ride. It's about 6 km, 45 minutes. It was nice, mostly flat. I liked it. Nice little view of Playacar. There is a Starbucks and little market 5 minutes walking from the hotel. Just walk out of the resort's front gate and go right. Cheap Tickets has this hotel pegged correctly at 3 stars. Other sites state higher but definitely not higher than 3. Rooms need a re-do but we don't spend much time in the rooms, so we were good. Buffet food was great for this price point. The staff is friendly and hard-working. I wonder when they sleep. We forgot our 7 year old's knotted, frayed blanket that he's slept with since infancy. I called and emailed and they didn't have it. Such a bummer. Would be nice if they kept things for a day or two even if it looks worn and worthless. As any parent knows, these things are priceless to children. So sad. The beach just can't be beat. No rocks, just soft, white sand. You can see Cozumel from the beach. The beach is what you dream about when you are in your cubicle at work. Just beautiful. The pool was not great for us since it's 5'5" throughout most of it. There are a couple of wade in areas but they get boring for kids. And the kid pool is separate and boring after an hour as well. Didn't like how the pool bar was separate either. Would have liked to have it connected so we could all be in the same pool at one time, but I get why they separated it. I know some people would like a break from the kids. But all these complaints are minor (except the blanket) especially if you go to Mexico for the beach. This beach is beautiful. I don't know that it could get any better. Weather was perfect, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Out resort front door to the right 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ybavrg2
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Iberostar Playa

The hotel is walking distance to Playa Del Carmen, it takes about 20 minutes using the sidewalk or 45 minutes using the beach. Very clean, staff excellent food is above average and fesh with a large variety. Drinks are weak with no name alcohol being used. Iberostar in Dominican had top shelf available but not here???? Buy your own very cheap in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fusion a small bar n grill on beach in Playa great food, drinks and live bands nightly. Great place to hang out, people watch and then listen to music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bliggityncooter
Business
Delaware
Dec 21, 2011

First time in Mexico

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at the Tucan. The beach is wonderful. Never had a problem with lines for anything. Great staff. The only issue I had with the resort was the food and the lack of AC in some of the restaurants. I guess its part of the charm but I do not like to sweat while eating. If it werent for these issues, I would go back again. Planning a trip back to area for January. I will definitely try a different resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay closer to the Lobby area if possible. Long walk to buffets which is near the lobby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Umana
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Nice family atmofphere, we had a great time

We were a family of six and had a wonderful time. We specially liked the gounds. The hotel blend very nice with the jungle and wild life. The beach was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

V isit Scarett

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cobbikaze
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 30, 2012

A Great Resort

Well Maintained Resort, nice rooms - get a room on the top floor for better views. Beds are hard, they let you have an umbrella where you pick up your towels. Food Good - not Great. Employees very friendly and helpful. Located in Playacar, 5 minutes by taxi from Playa de Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the Steakhouse

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennzie
Business
Ohio
Mar 26, 2012

Fantastic couple getaway

The entire staff was very friendly and made you feel welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loriindallas
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 8, 2012

PARTY OF 15

Vacation getaway was fun. The hotel was average. The highlights were the monkies in the trees and of course, the beach. Very few rooms had an ocean view. The beds were very hard!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Starbucks for free wi-fi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top