$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday Mom 2012
Family
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 18, 2012

Sweet 16!

We chose this resort to celebrate my daughter's 16th birthday. There is something for everyone to do. We especially loved the jungle path. The pool and the beach were spectacular. The staff was friendly and easy going. Very relaxed environment, perfect for families. We loved it and would definitely would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese restaurant and Steak House were big hits.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vassa
Couples
Vancouver, BC
Jan 3, 2014

Great hotel for an unspoiled tourist

The hotel is truly beautiful and has a true Yucatan spirit in my view. The landscaping is amazing - there is a beautiful jungle in the centre of the resort with lots of wildlife. The Playacar beach and ocean are amazing!! do not forget your snorkels - the artificial reefs are close by. The food was great and buffet menu did vary throughout the stay, unlike others experienced before. The room looked dated and in need for a renovation, but it did not bothered us at all. I will likely come to "Tucan and Quetzal" again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't buy anything in hotel's shops. A 35 minutes walk to Playa's 5th avenue and you can find way better deals.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frosty226
Couples
Cleveland, OH
Jan 16, 2014

Paradise

Our stay at Iberostar Tucan/Quetzal was amazing. The beach is perfect, the pool is fantastic, and there is so much beautiful wildlife wandering freely about the grounds. The staff was also very friendly. We did a free scuba lesson in the pool, got our pictures taken with toucans and parrots by their photographers, and paid only $45 per person to go snorkeling with sea turtles and stingrays, which was awesome. My only real qualm, which is pretty minor, is the food quality. The buffets were pretty similar each day, and while they had a great selection, the quality was just ok. Reservations are required for the other restaurants and we often had to eat as late as 9:00 pm to get reservations. The Japanese restaurant and steak house were really great, though. Overall, it's a really stunning resort and we had a wonderful stay. Would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The shops around 5th Avenue in Playa Del Carmen are much cheaper than the ones at the resort, and worth a visit unless you want to spend $20 on sunblock or $40 on flip flops.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisaTed
Family
Minnesota
Mar 22, 2014

Great family resort!

We have gone to this resort two years in a row with our kids, ages 11 and 9 and it is wonderful! If you ask for a room in building 14 you will have monkeys hanging out outside of your balcony every morning and every afternoon. This is really cool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations as soon as you get to the resort.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ybavrg2
Couples
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Iberostar Playa

The hotel is walking distance to Playa Del Carmen, it takes about 20 minutes using the sidewalk or 45 minutes using the beach. Very clean, staff excellent food is above average and fesh with a large variety. Drinks are weak with no name alcohol being used. Iberostar in Dominican had top shelf available but not here???? Buy your own very cheap in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fusion a small bar n grill on beach in Playa great food, drinks and live bands nightly. Great place to hang out, people watch and then listen to music.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Umana
Family
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Nice family atmofphere, we had a great time

We were a family of six and had a wonderful time. We specially liked the gounds. The hotel blend very nice with the jungle and wild life. The beach was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

V isit Scarett

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cobbikaze
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Jan 30, 2012

A Great Resort

Well Maintained Resort, nice rooms - get a room on the top floor for better views. Beds are hard, they let you have an umbrella where you pick up your towels. Food Good - not Great. Employees very friendly and helpful. Located in Playacar, 5 minutes by taxi from Playa de Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the Steakhouse

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennzie
Couples
Ohio
Mar 26, 2012

Fantastic couple getaway

The entire staff was very friendly and made you feel welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loriindallas
Single
Dallas, TX
Apr 8, 2012

PARTY OF 15

Vacation getaway was fun. The hotel was average. The highlights were the monkies in the trees and of course, the beach. Very few rooms had an ocean view. The beds were very hard!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Starbucks for free wi-fi.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mtfig
Family
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Perfect Family Vacation

The hotel is clean, comfortable, and pretty, the grounds are jungly and beautiful, and the food (especially the Mexican offerings) was very good. The staff are helpful and friendly. Oh, and the beach is gorgeous. It was a little crowded since we were there over spring break, but that's to be expected. Our kids also loved looking for agoutis and monkeys, though the latter are very loud in the morning! We had no complaints, and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GMami
Family
Chicago,Il
Aug 14, 2012

Family Getaway

My husband and daughter recently stayed here from July 30th – August 8th. We had basically perfect weather couldn’t ask for better for the rainy season in Mexico. The resort itself is fabulous. This is our second time here and it has gotten better. The food is great especially all the different deserts. The pool great the beach phenomenal lots of soft sand and clear warm water. Really enjoyed this vacation! The Iberostar friends are awesome. They work so hard as do the cooks, cleaning lady, waiters and waitresses. Only downfall is people didn’t seem to be tipping. These people work hard so why not appreciate them. (You will be appreciated back!) Great place for families lots of kids of all ages!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you love seafood or shrimp tacos go to Playa del Carmen not fifth avenue get a taxi and go to La Floresta!!! Local place with locals not the best looking but O-M-G the food is beyond great!!!

Back to menu Return to top