$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
144 reviews
Wedding Anniversary

We had a great vacation at Iberostar Tucan resort. The food was excellent. The staff was very... See full review

  • Boston Steve
  • Jun 23, 2014
The Staff are Awesome!

The staff is what makes this hotel a great place to stay. Zumba on the beach with Maricio was the... See full review

  • CSI GIRL
  • Jun 11, 2014
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Hotel Map

20.6028 -87.092
Area served
Playa del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Directly on the fine-sand beach of Playacar, in Riviera Maya, Mexico. Approximately 45 minutes away from Cancun International Airport and just a few minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday Mom 2012
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 18, 2012

Sweet 16!

We chose this resort to celebrate my daughter's 16th birthday. There is something for everyone to do. We especially loved the jungle path. The pool and the beach were spectacular. The staff was friendly and easy going. Very relaxed environment, perfect for families. We loved it and would definitely would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese restaurant and Steak House were big hits.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laurann
NJ
Apr 14, 2014

Average all-inclusive

Overall experience is average. Food at the buffets are average at best. You must book meals at restaurants prior to the trip in order to get any reservations while you are there. The staff was very friendly everywhere. They charge for wifi access which I think is crazy these days. Be sure to bring a watch - there are no clocks anywhere! Including no alarm clocks in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to book dinner reservations at restaurants before your vacation. They book out quickly even though the restaurants are never full.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, Ga
Dec 12, 2010

Decent!

The hotel has a great location - near playa del Carmen, beautiful beach! Ambience is good at arrival and the facilities are good, not the best but decent. Rooms are average, i like a hard bed so I was ok, but friends said they felt like they were sleeping onnthe floor! In my opinion it's a 3 star experience, buffets and all inclusive foods are average. Drinks are usually low value liquors unless you specifically ask for Jack Daniels. Been to the moon palace in Cancun and it far exceeds this hotel and better value for money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

5th ave has a great atmosphere ~ dining, shopping etc. Check out some of the local food - don't be afraid to try some of the restaurants that look like dives, because the food and flavors were phenomenal!

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dangeruss900
D/FW Texas
Sep 27, 2013

Great value - fun surprizes

We traveled during the "off-season" in September so crowds were low. We never waited for anything, and often felt like we had the beach to ourselves. The resort is clean, well maintained and the staff is especially helpful. There are plenty of coordinated activities and options to enroll in (extra charge) excursions. The landscaping is beautiful and the natural areas are a nice addition. We saw iguana, tzereque, peacocks, monkeys, coati mundi, and more on our walks to the beach. A real treat for animal lovers. The food is varied and plentiful. Like most all-inclusive resorts, price rules the quality of the food and drink. Don't expect gourmet fare and you won't be disappointed. Drinks are on the weak side, but we didn't come to get wasted, so your mileage may vary. Stick with the beer - it's always cold and good. The rooms are colorful and kept spotless every day. The bedding is harder than most people will like, but if you wear yourself out like we did, it's not a problem sleeping. The A/C works great, all rooms have a terrace and a large shower, a mini-bar-fridge, and fresh bottled water is provided each day. The shows are worth skipping. They hold true to the somewhat cheesy, loud, Mexican variety show motif. Each night has a different theme, so if you like them, you won't be bored. The pools are vast and gorgeous. Towels are abundant, large and very nice. The beach and sea-side drink service is fantastic. There is a lifeguard (not all resorts have them) and plenty of beach activities. The resort is close to town for shopping and dining, and if you want even closer, there is a smaller shopping area with in close walking distance. There's some on-site shopping and every few nights, local vendors are permitted to set up shop in a breezeway. This is our 4th visit to Playa del Carmen, and this has proved to be the nicest place we've stayed. We would definitely return. We feel a 3 star rating is too low based on what we experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask about Mayan cuisine.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
milwaukee, wi
Jun 9, 2011

great location

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jun 21, 2010

Great Mexican Getaway

Iberostar Tucan has a unique jungle experience. We saw lots of animals and birds and also the caves and waterfalls which were so fun to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Apr 10, 2010

Great trip for kids from 15 years to 13m

Just back from great trip. Great staff, lots of food with good variety. La Hacienda was the best for a la carte meal. Japanese was ok, uxmal forgettable. Dive shop was awesome. Got our 15 year old certified and even the 10 yr old dove with us in Cozumel. Great babysitting service. Beds really hard!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Xel Ha. Great day

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiesel78
Moore, OK
Sep 11, 2013

Superb location/evironment

The grounds of this resort are incredible. Playacar is one of our favorite destinations and the beach is spectacular. The staff here are terrific and very helpful. The main buffet food is average, with the ala cartes being excellent. It is definitely time to offer free WIFI Iberostar!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
milwaukee, wi
Jun 9, 2011

great location

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 6, 2011

Great Vacation

Great hotel, Great food. Only bad side was that we stayed a week. It was our first time to Playa del Carmen, and we will defiantly be back. The only downside to the hotel is the night life. There isn't a nightclub, there are nightly shows, which we could have done without (they were boring). Beach was awesome and clean and so was the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A mile down the street is 5th Ave. If you want to do any shopping espically for gifts go there. There are so many shops that you can talk your way down to a price that you are willing to pay. It's about a mile walk or a five minute and $7 USD taxi ride.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gramma in waiting
indiana
Jul 30, 2011

tropical nature filled paradise

I was by myself for this getaway 8 days and the hotel was very clean and staff very friendly, lots to do for familys, and short walk to shop or taxi for 8.00 us dollars into playas downtown. thats hours of shopping. felt very safe at hotel and the beaches were clean. buffets were great for me. had a garden room and loved the peacockcs and monkeys in the trees each morning as well as other wildlife on the grounds. i will go back as all inclusive was a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

the jewelry is expensive even in the market area you can buy just as unique pieces at tj maxx jewlrey counter for 1/4 of the price was dissapointed what i let myself buy.

Back to menu Return to top