Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CSI GIRL
Business
Texas
Jun 11, 2014

The Staff are Awesome!

The staff is what makes this hotel a great place to stay. Zumba on the beach with Maricio was the highlight of each day. The hotel is located right on the beach, but to get there you must pass through the jungle with live monkeys and peacocks! So much to see and do. The only complaints are that the lighting in the rooms could be better and the food was just OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Steve
Business
Florida
Jun 23, 2014

Wedding Anniversary

We had a great vacation at Iberostar Tucan resort. The food was excellent. The staff was very accommodating and the rooms were very clean. There were plenty of activities to keep us busy all day long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If a restaurant is fully reserved in the computer the individual restaurants will sometimes allow walk in guests

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Playa lady
Business
Morgan hill
Sep 14, 2014

Excellent

Had a great trip room clean and comfy beach is best ever and food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JTEZY
Business
Omaha, NE
Nov 15, 2014

Great place to stay

From the moment we arrived to our check out everything was great. Our only issue was that the safe in the room was not left open so we had to have someone reset it for us. They handled this promptly and were there in less than 10 minutes to do this. The grounds are amazing, the bartenders knew us and our drinks by the end of the first night (we do tip). The cleaning staff were great and left the room in perfect order everyday. The beach was great with plenty of open seating and it was nice that to get a drink it was only about 50 ft away. The pool looked great although we didn't use it with the ocean being right there. The buffet food was ok, I always found things that were good, decent selection. On our last night the even had a fresh dorado (mahi mahi or dolphin) that I indulged in and made fish tacos with. The Japanese restaurant was my favorite of the finer dining restaurants. I loved the tile that ran through the lobby and our rooms, it looked great!! I don't have any negative comments except about the ATM which I'm putting in the tip section.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The ATM at the hotel charges you a 10% change fee because it gives you dollars instead of pesos plus a $5.80 service charge. I would have just preferred pesos but wasn't given that option. Use a different ATM in town or somewhere else!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EXIQUIO T.
Business
CORDOBA
Dec 29, 2014

AN INIMAGINABLE EXPERIENCIE

Impresive arquitechture, to start. A jungle inside, plus a turquoise and warm sea otside. A candid zoo w fascinanting pieces, small pyramids, great food, 4 specialty restaurants, buffets all day around. Cleanliness, but most of all, warm and truly nice, helpful and willing to help staff, always smiling... That you can´t have everywhere (sometime even at your home!). I am delighted and I will be back, anytime. Thank you. also for the affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

TO XEL HÁ AND TULUM, AMAZING LESSONS IN HISTORY AND AN INCREDIBLE FUN SITE FULL OF WONDERS (XEL HÁ). VERY RECOMMENDABLE BOTH AND IN ONE TRIP FOR THE PRICE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashley d
Business
berlin
Dec 20, 2014

Honeymoon

My stay was wonderful at the iberostar! It was my honeymoon vacation, and it was the perfect spot! We went in October and didn't have many kids, teens or college age annoying our honeymoon. Staff was great, and hotel grounds were beautiful. Food was also an a+ Especially for all inclusive..I would go again!! Shout out to Bernardo, he was only there as a college intern, but he really helped us tremendously!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EXIQUIO T.
Business
CORDOBA
Dec 20, 2014

AN INIMAGINABLE EXPERIENCIE

Impresive arquitechture, to start. A jungle inside, plus a turquoise and warm sea otside. A candid zoo w fascinanting pieces, small pyramids, great food, 4 specialty restaurants, buffets all day around. Cleanliness, but most of all, warm and truly nice, helpful and willing to help staff, always smiling... That you can´t have everywhere (sometime even at your home!). I am delighted and I will be back, anytime. Thank you. also for the affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

TO XEL HÁ AND TULUM, AMAZING LESSONS IN HISTORY AND AN INCREDIBLE FUN SITE FULL OF WONDERS (XEL HÁ). VERY RECOMMENDABLE BOTH AND IN ONE TRIP FOR THE PRICE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashley d
Business
berlin
Dec 29, 2014

Honeymoon

My stay was wonderful at the iberostar! It was my honeymoon vacation, and it was the perfect spot! We went in October and didn't have many kids, teens or college age annoying our honeymoon. Staff was great, and hotel grounds were beautiful. Food was also an a+ Especially for all inclusive..I would go again!! Shout out to Bernardo, he was only there as a college intern, but he really helped us tremendously!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessica L.
Business
Santa Monica
Dec 30, 2014

Amazing family vacation

Stayed on the Tucan side from 12/18-12/24 with my husband and 3 year old son. We had an outstanding trip!!! The grounds of the resort, the beach and the staff are what make this place wonderful. The resort itself is gorgeous. The jungle is beautiful with amazing colors, sights and sounds. Wildlife, bridges, and waterfalls make the atmosphere exactly what we were looking for in a tropical getaway. The beach was awesome! The weather caused pretty rough waters and churned things up for about 4 out of the 7 days. The other days the water was vibrant crystal clear blue! This was no problem for us since we only like to go into the water to about our knees. We were still able to do what we enjoyed which was taking walks along the water's edge, looking for seashells, playing in the sand and taking in the views. This is a very family friendly resort! The staff were great with our son and were always keeping us informed of upcoming activities that he might enjoy. He had a blast!!! They have tons of activities for kids and adults everyday. You can stay busy ALL day long or do absolutely nothing. If you are not into kids this might not be the best place for you but honestly the place was so big that I think you could have a romantic getaway as well. The food was good. The buffet was nothing to get too excited about but it was above average. They have quite a bit of variety but any buffet gets old after a week. We really liked the Japanese Hibachi and the Steak House. Those were the only two restaurants we tried. The place felt very safe. It was nice being able to leave all of our pool stuff at the pool and go eat and not worry about it. We made friends with lots of families. All the kids shared toys and we all looked out for each other's kids. It was just a really nice atmosphere talking with families from all over the world! The pool is HUGE and AMAZING! The sports pool, adult pool bar, kids pool, big pool were all clean and beautiful. I think every person in the whole resort could have been in the pool and it still would not have felt crowded. I just think this was one of the best vacations we have ever taken and was well worth every penny. When they say all inclusive, they mean all inclusive! We did everything we wanted and the only things we paid extra for was a day excursion to Chichen Itza for my husband, tipping and a small souvenior for the boy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tips for families with small children: Request a room on the ground level-there are no elevators. The jungle area is difficult with a stroller because of many stairs and stone pathway and is unavoidable. I would suggest a carrier in addition to a stroller for small children and bring a big enough beach bag to carry stuff and be prepared to carry kids through this part. You have to walk through it no matter where your room is. The rest of the resort is fine for a stroller. Huge variety of food for all types of eaters. Don't worry about food! I did keep a stash of snacks we brought from home in the room for emergencies but didn't use them as much as I thought I would. Bring some toys from home that you can leave behind. Toys for the pool and beach are available but VERY expensive. I stuffed every nook of our luggage with dollar store toys and they were great! Be prepared to share around the pool and others will share theirs. We found a family that had just arrived and gave them our toys.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ckbutters
Business
Whitmore Lake
Jan 6, 2015

Iberostar Tucan Fun

Let me first say this hotel demonstrated its greatness over several different days. First the special New Years eve dinner was superb. The many different types of foods available was amazing. The staff set up the night as a whole in my opinion wonderfully. There was hundreds of people celebrating New Years eve and they kept it organized and fun. They had a special show in the pool that day and we sent off hundreds of balloons as a tribute to new years day by the pool. The grounds are spectacular and filled with live peacocks and monkeys. And various other animals. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top