$270 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
144 reviews
Wedding Anniversary

We had a great vacation at Iberostar Tucan resort. The food was excellent. The staff was very... See full review

  • Boston Steve
  • Jun 23, 2014
The Staff are Awesome!

The staff is what makes this hotel a great place to stay. Zumba on the beach with Maricio was the... See full review

  • CSI GIRL
  • Jun 11, 2014
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Hotel Map

20.6028 -87.092
Area served
Playa del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Directly on the fine-sand beach of Playacar, in Riviera Maya, Mexico. Approximately 45 minutes away from Cancun International Airport and just a few minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday Mom 2012
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 18, 2012

Sweet 16!

We chose this resort to celebrate my daughter's 16th birthday. There is something for everyone to do. We especially loved the jungle path. The pool and the beach were spectacular. The staff was friendly and easy going. Very relaxed environment, perfect for families. We loved it and would definitely would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese restaurant and Steak House were big hits.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
case9999
Fort Collins, CO, USA
Jan 16, 2013

Do not stay here

I stayed here January 2013 and the hotel had us checking out 2 days earlier than our reservations. Our group that we were with could not even get reservations to the restaurants. The food was mediocre at best at the buffet and restaurant. Once we finally got someone at the front desk to help and got our reservations fixed one person said they would upgrade our room complimentary. When we went back after we went and packed everything up, they said they would not do it. We had two old mattresses, one of which was broken outside of our room for three days. I asked the front desk everyday sometimes twice a day and they never did. The were still there on the day we left. Customer service needs serious help. Mattresses were so old and warn out and hard it should be embarrassing for them. I have an appt to get a massage today already and I just got back last night. Our room had blue and green build up from the water on all bathroom appliances. Needless to say the rooms are dated and the mattresses were like sleeping on 2x4's. No sleep made me grumpy and then I walked out to two disgusting mattresses outside my room. Location was good and food mediocre. Stay at the RIU if you want a better service and better amenities and it was updated less than a year ago. Iberostar need to walk next door and look around to see what they need to do. The alcohol is no name brand, other resorts like the RIU used brand name alcohol. Place has potential but needs serious updating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

run, run far away

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenn O
Richmond, VA
Jan 14, 2013

Wonderful time with my family

This is my second time at this hotel, my children's first. Everyone had a wonderful time. The resort staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was good, activities & entertainment were fun. I'd recommend this resort to friends & family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Average people
DC Area
Oct 11, 2012

Just average -

Pros - Nice and safe (gated) location - Wild life is awesome, specially for kids - Beautiful beach - Awesome swimming pool - Breakfast buffet is very good - Mexican restaurant is probably the best food you can get there, which is a little above average Cons - Rooms are old and just ok - very humid as expected - The lunch and dinner buffet are sub-par. It was just a bunch of all american frozen food. - If you want good service, you must be willing to tip for everything - WiFi is a ripoff and the quality is not good - so if you are willing to enjoy your vacation and disconnect for a while, this will not be an issue All and all, I would rate this 3 out of 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't pay for the WIFI at the hotel. Go to the Starbucks that is 5 minutes away (short walk), get a coffee and they will give you the access code and their internet is a whole lot faster.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GMami
Chicago,Il
Aug 14, 2012

Family Getaway

My husband and daughter recently stayed here from July 30th – August 8th. We had basically perfect weather couldn’t ask for better for the rainy season in Mexico. The resort itself is fabulous. This is our second time here and it has gotten better. The food is great especially all the different deserts. The pool great the beach phenomenal lots of soft sand and clear warm water. Really enjoyed this vacation! The Iberostar friends are awesome. They work so hard as do the cooks, cleaning lady, waiters and waitresses. Only downfall is people didn’t seem to be tipping. These people work hard so why not appreciate them. (You will be appreciated back!) Great place for families lots of kids of all ages!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you love seafood or shrimp tacos go to Playa del Carmen not fifth avenue get a taxi and go to La Floresta!!! Local place with locals not the best looking but O-M-G the food is beyond great!!!

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday Mom 2012
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 18, 2012

Sweet 16!

We chose this resort to celebrate my daughter's 16th birthday. There is something for everyone to do. We especially loved the jungle path. The pool and the beach were spectacular. The staff was friendly and easy going. Very relaxed environment, perfect for families. We loved it and would definitely would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese restaurant and Steak House were big hits.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marybeth Super Mom 2
New York
May 28, 2012

Ok

Not bad. Great beach. Nice water. Lots of wildlife roaming around the place. Peacocks, peahens, agoutie, monkeys, children, etc. A little ridiculous on the a la carte restaurant reservations. Very difficult to actually get a reservation. But, the buffet was better than the restaurants anyway. If you're going as a couple, make sure you request (way ahead of time) a king bed. Seems like most of the rooms have double twins. Lobby bars are nice. You can actually smoke and drink in there at the same time, like civilized people do. You don't have to wander 30 feet away just to enjoy Native Americans' gift to the world; tobacco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hit the buffet. Forget the a la carte restaurants in the hotel.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jtie55
Kansas City
May 27, 2012

Perfect location and beach

Loved the beach and close proximity to PDC 5th Ave. rooms were spotless however beds were hard. Food was solid but would have been nice to have more nights at the specialty restaurants. Drinks were very watered down which was a bummer. Had to stick with beer. LOL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mtfig
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Perfect Family Vacation

The hotel is clean, comfortable, and pretty, the grounds are jungly and beautiful, and the food (especially the Mexican offerings) was very good. The staff are helpful and friendly. Oh, and the beach is gorgeous. It was a little crowded since we were there over spring break, but that's to be expected. Our kids also loved looking for agoutis and monkeys, though the latter are very loud in the morning! We had no complaints, and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JSBFamily
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Very happy recent guests!

I normally HATE all inclusive resorts - but Iberostar has completely turned me around, at least when it comes to staying with them. The resort was incredible! They did a masterfully job of intertwining a five star resort with a jungle full of fascinating animals. As an avid traveler, I've never seen a place with the integration a nature jungle like this - loved it! Our only complaint was the very stiff beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Worth a night trip to Playa del Carmen for the shopping and people watching.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loriindallas
Dallas, TX
Apr 8, 2012

PARTY OF 15

Vacation getaway was fun. The hotel was average. The highlights were the monkies in the trees and of course, the beach. Very few rooms had an ocean view. The beds were very hard!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Starbucks for free wi-fi.

Back to menu Return to top