$261 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 7, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday Mom 2012
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 18, 2012

Sweet 16!

We chose this resort to celebrate my daughter's 16th birthday. There is something for everyone to do. We especially loved the jungle path. The pool and the beach were spectacular. The staff was friendly and easy going. Very relaxed environment, perfect for families. We loved it and would definitely would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese restaurant and Steak House were big hits.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CSI GIRL
Business
Texas
Jun 11, 2014

The Staff are Awesome!

The staff is what makes this hotel a great place to stay. Zumba on the beach with Maricio was the highlight of each day. The hotel is located right on the beach, but to get there you must pass through the jungle with live monkeys and peacocks! So much to see and do. The only complaints are that the lighting in the rooms could be better and the food was just OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Elizabeth Z
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 3, 2014

Three Day Stay

Our stay at this hotel was basically a disaster, they weren't able to honor our king bed request and told us none were available so sent us to a double bed room. The room they checked us into was actually still dirty and hadn't been cleaned. They also forgot to give us our towel cards and wrist bands at check-in so we were turned away from the pool and the restaurants when we tried to eat and then had to explain our situation multiple times to multiple staff members before it was resolved. Then all of a sudden a king room magically became availabe so we had to re-pack all of our items and move to a new room. When we asked to speak with a manager, he was late to our meeting and gave us plenty of execuses for the items. He assured us the hotel would make it up to us - their idea of this was bringing a bottle of champagne to our room at 10:30pm, waking us up. This is the same champagne that we could drink for free at any of the restaurants or bars for our "all inclusive" value. Please don't give us something that is already free to make it up to us. I was fully expecting a free spa service for my husband and I and the hotel fell flat on this - very disappointed. We will never stay at an Iberostar again. On top of this, the rooms were dated, the hotel was dated, the reservation restuarants were partial buffets and the meals had funny times (full breakfast over by 10am and the full lunch didn't start until 1pm). The only redeeming quality was the service staff at the pools and restuarants. The manager and front desk staff are in need of customer service training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reservation restaurants are partial buffets and the meals are at odd times - full breakfast ends at 10am and full lunch doesn't start until 1pm.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clbrunetti
Business
Manville, RI
May 30, 2014

Great vacation at Iberostar Quetzal

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Iberostar Quetzal from May 17-24 and had a great time. We loved the jungle location and all of the animals running about and in the trees. The beach was beautiful and we were able to get chairs under an umbrella every day. The same goes for the pool. The food at the 2 a la carte restaurants that we tried (Italian and the Steakhouse) was delicious and was also very good at the buffets. We stayed in building 27 facing the middle of the resort and the rooms were very spacious with balconies. We even saw some of the monkeys on the balcony railings 2 of the days we were there. Minor issues were some inconsistencies in the drinks, the limited amount of entertainment at night and inconsistency in the quality of the shows. My wife and daughter suggested that there should possibly be some mini-nibs of liquor in the mini-refridgerators and some cans of Diet (Light) Coke. We would definitely consider going there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clough
Business
Aurora, CO
May 27, 2014

Amazing!!!

My husband and I just spent 5 days at Iberostar Tucan. It was our 10year anniversary and honestly it couldn't have been better. The hospitality was way above par and accommodations were fantastic! We rate this hotel a 5. The only one complaint would be that they had a little bit better mattresses. We will be returning with our son at the end of the year. It was kid friendly and I liked to see that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to La Hacienda for dinner! Extremely worth it.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drstroud
Business
Minneapolis, Mn
May 12, 2014

Very surprised by the hotel and service!

Check in was very easy and we were accommodated with a roll-in shower and wheelchair accessible room, as requested. (We also called hotel independently to ensure this was done). The food was a 7-8 on scale of 10; there was plenty of food. Lots of activities; pool area was great; and we had assistance every day to help my husband in/out of the pool from wheelchair. Dive shop guys were the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Excellent

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Momlovestorun
Business
Ottawa, Canada
May 5, 2014

Loved the Iberostar Tucan/Quetzal

Just home from a trip with my three young adult daughters and we loved it! Food was excellent - ate at two a la carte restaurants - Japanese and Tropical both were great. Huge selection at the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Really loved the coconut and mango ice cream at the beach. Loved the jungle setting and all the animals. Theatre shows were really fun. Beach is beautiful - great place to watch the sunrise. Loved going for morning runs in P,aha at - very safe and fun to be out of the resort. Took a cab in twice to Fifth Ave to shop and eat - lots of fun and so nice to be so close. Will go back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the coconut and mango ice cream by the beach!

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamie Marie tequila
Business
Pittsburgh, pa
Apr 30, 2014

Great vacation!

A great vacation! The place was beautiful. Loved the openness of the lobby area and the wildlife that roams around. You really feel like a pArt of nature. The beach and pool were absolutely gorgeous! The staff was too notch. Quick service always with a smile- super clean rooms and hotel area in general- the entertainment staff was absolutely excellent. Angie, andrez, isvan, Baldimar, and Mauricio became genuine friends on the trip. What a welcoming way to spend a vacation. Food was ok but that's what we anticipated. We were always able to find something good to eat! Japanese restaurant was the best! Will definitely be going back. Such a great value for all of the great stuff you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take $7 taxi ride into the close playa del Carmen. It is safe and a lot of fun. Go for the afternoon if you'd like or go for some authentic local nightlife. Ask the staff at iberostar where to go- they make great recommendation.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loving it Mom
Business
Fosston, Minnesota
Apr 29, 2014

fantastic

I loved it. Was my first time going to Mexico so I wasn't sure of what to expect but it was awesome. The only problem i had was i booked with Tucan and they put me to Quetzal so I wasn't happy about that but they switched it for me so it was all good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enzo's Mom
Business
New Braunfels, TX
Apr 21, 2014

Beach is picture perfect!

Traveling with a 7 year old and a 2 year old. They had a great time as did we. The cribs are a little on the small side, but they work. I went on the Bike Tour which is a single file bike ride. It's about 6 km, 45 minutes. It was nice, mostly flat. I liked it. Nice little view of Playacar. There is a Starbucks and little market 5 minutes walking from the hotel. Just walk out of the resort's front gate and go right. Cheap Tickets has this hotel pegged correctly at 3 stars. Other sites state higher but definitely not higher than 3. Rooms need a re-do but we don't spend much time in the rooms, so we were good. Buffet food was great for this price point. The staff is friendly and hard-working. I wonder when they sleep. We forgot our 7 year old's knotted, frayed blanket that he's slept with since infancy. I called and emailed and they didn't have it. Such a bummer. Would be nice if they kept things for a day or two even if it looks worn and worthless. As any parent knows, these things are priceless to children. So sad. The beach just can't be beat. No rocks, just soft, white sand. You can see Cozumel from the beach. The beach is what you dream about when you are in your cubicle at work. Just beautiful. The pool was not great for us since it's 5'5" throughout most of it. There are a couple of wade in areas but they get boring for kids. And the kid pool is separate and boring after an hour as well. Didn't like how the pool bar was separate either. Would have liked to have it connected so we could all be in the same pool at one time, but I get why they separated it. I know some people would like a break from the kids. But all these complaints are minor (except the blanket) especially if you go to Mexico for the beach. This beach is beautiful. I don't know that it could get any better. Weather was perfect, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Out resort front door to the right 5 minutes.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laurann
Business
NJ
Apr 14, 2014

Average all-inclusive

Overall experience is average. Food at the buffets are average at best. You must book meals at restaurants prior to the trip in order to get any reservations while you are there. The staff was very friendly everywhere. They charge for wifi access which I think is crazy these days. Be sure to bring a watch - there are no clocks anywhere! Including no alarm clocks in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to book dinner reservations at restaurants before your vacation. They book out quickly even though the restaurants are never full.

Back to menu Return to top