$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday Mom 2012
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 18, 2012

Sweet 16!

We chose this resort to celebrate my daughter's 16th birthday. There is something for everyone to do. We especially loved the jungle path. The pool and the beach were spectacular. The staff was friendly and easy going. Very relaxed environment, perfect for families. We loved it and would definitely would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese restaurant and Steak House were big hits.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Elizabeth Z
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 3, 2014

Three Day Stay

Our stay at this hotel was basically a disaster, they weren't able to honor our king bed request and told us none were available so sent us to a double bed room. The room they checked us into was actually still dirty and hadn't been cleaned. They also forgot to give us our towel cards and wrist bands at check-in so we were turned away from the pool and the restaurants when we tried to eat and then had to explain our situation multiple times to multiple staff members before it was resolved. Then all of a sudden a king room magically became availabe so we had to re-pack all of our items and move to a new room. When we asked to speak with a manager, he was late to our meeting and gave us plenty of execuses for the items. He assured us the hotel would make it up to us - their idea of this was bringing a bottle of champagne to our room at 10:30pm, waking us up. This is the same champagne that we could drink for free at any of the restaurants or bars for our "all inclusive" value. Please don't give us something that is already free to make it up to us. I was fully expecting a free spa service for my husband and I and the hotel fell flat on this - very disappointed. We will never stay at an Iberostar again. On top of this, the rooms were dated, the hotel was dated, the reservation restuarants were partial buffets and the meals had funny times (full breakfast over by 10am and the full lunch didn't start until 1pm). The only redeeming quality was the service staff at the pools and restuarants. The manager and front desk staff are in need of customer service training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reservation restaurants are partial buffets and the meals are at odd times - full breakfast ends at 10am and full lunch doesn't start until 1pm.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clbrunetti
Business
Manville, RI
May 30, 2014

Great vacation at Iberostar Quetzal

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Iberostar Quetzal from May 17-24 and had a great time. We loved the jungle location and all of the animals running about and in the trees. The beach was beautiful and we were able to get chairs under an umbrella every day. The same goes for the pool. The food at the 2 a la carte restaurants that we tried (Italian and the Steakhouse) was delicious and was also very good at the buffets. We stayed in building 27 facing the middle of the resort and the rooms were very spacious with balconies. We even saw some of the monkeys on the balcony railings 2 of the days we were there. Minor issues were some inconsistencies in the drinks, the limited amount of entertainment at night and inconsistency in the quality of the shows. My wife and daughter suggested that there should possibly be some mini-nibs of liquor in the mini-refridgerators and some cans of Diet (Light) Coke. We would definitely consider going there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clough
Business
Aurora, CO
May 27, 2014

Amazing!!!

My husband and I just spent 5 days at Iberostar Tucan. It was our 10year anniversary and honestly it couldn't have been better. The hospitality was way above par and accommodations were fantastic! We rate this hotel a 5. The only one complaint would be that they had a little bit better mattresses. We will be returning with our son at the end of the year. It was kid friendly and I liked to see that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to La Hacienda for dinner! Extremely worth it.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drstroud
Business
Minneapolis, Mn
May 12, 2014

Very surprised by the hotel and service!

Check in was very easy and we were accommodated with a roll-in shower and wheelchair accessible room, as requested. (We also called hotel independently to ensure this was done). The food was a 7-8 on scale of 10; there was plenty of food. Lots of activities; pool area was great; and we had assistance every day to help my husband in/out of the pool from wheelchair. Dive shop guys were the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Excellent

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Momlovestorun
Business
Ottawa, Canada
May 5, 2014

Loved the Iberostar Tucan/Quetzal

Just home from a trip with my three young adult daughters and we loved it! Food was excellent - ate at two a la carte restaurants - Japanese and Tropical both were great. Huge selection at the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Really loved the coconut and mango ice cream at the beach. Loved the jungle setting and all the animals. Theatre shows were really fun. Beach is beautiful - great place to watch the sunrise. Loved going for morning runs in P,aha at - very safe and fun to be out of the resort. Took a cab in twice to Fifth Ave to shop and eat - lots of fun and so nice to be so close. Will go back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the coconut and mango ice cream by the beach!

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamie Marie tequila
Business
Pittsburgh, pa
Apr 30, 2014

Great vacation!

A great vacation! The place was beautiful. Loved the openness of the lobby area and the wildlife that roams around. You really feel like a pArt of nature. The beach and pool were absolutely gorgeous! The staff was too notch. Quick service always with a smile- super clean rooms and hotel area in general- the entertainment staff was absolutely excellent. Angie, andrez, isvan, Baldimar, and Mauricio became genuine friends on the trip. What a welcoming way to spend a vacation. Food was ok but that's what we anticipated. We were always able to find something good to eat! Japanese restaurant was the best! Will definitely be going back. Such a great value for all of the great stuff you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take $7 taxi ride into the close playa del Carmen. It is safe and a lot of fun. Go for the afternoon if you'd like or go for some authentic local nightlife. Ask the staff at iberostar where to go- they make great recommendation.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loving it Mom
Business
Fosston, Minnesota
Apr 29, 2014

fantastic

I loved it. Was my first time going to Mexico so I wasn't sure of what to expect but it was awesome. The only problem i had was i booked with Tucan and they put me to Quetzal so I wasn't happy about that but they switched it for me so it was all good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laurann
Business
NJ
Apr 14, 2014

Average all-inclusive

Overall experience is average. Food at the buffets are average at best. You must book meals at restaurants prior to the trip in order to get any reservations while you are there. The staff was very friendly everywhere. They charge for wifi access which I think is crazy these days. Be sure to bring a watch - there are no clocks anywhere! Including no alarm clocks in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to book dinner reservations at restaurants before your vacation. They book out quickly even though the restaurants are never full.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Suzy
Business
Mn
Apr 7, 2014

Fabulous family friendly hotel!

My husband and I stayed at Iberostar Quetzal with our two teen-aged sons. The hotel had tons of activities for all ages including beach volleyball, water polo, pool basketball, and Zumba on the beach. The unlimited buffet and drinks were awesome since the boys were always looking for another snack. The entertainment each night was very enjoyable. The energetic staff really helped make our stay fun! Overall, we had a fabulous stay. I recommend making dinner reservations as soon as you arrive as it was a bit difficult to get into the specialty restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisaTed
Business
Minnesota
Mar 22, 2014

Great family resort!

We have gone to this resort two years in a row with our kids, ages 11 and 9 and it is wonderful! If you ask for a room in building 14 you will have monkeys hanging out outside of your balcony every morning and every afternoon. This is really cool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations as soon as you get to the resort.

Back to menu Return to top