$203 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
103 reviews
Wedding Anniversary

We had a great vacation at Iberostar Tucan resort. The food was excellent. The staff was very... See full review

  • Boston Steve
  • Jun 23, 2014
The Staff are Awesome!

The staff is what makes this hotel a great place to stay. Zumba on the beach with Maricio was the... See full review

  • CSI GIRL
  • Jun 11, 2014
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Hotel Map

20.6028 -87.092
Area served
Playa del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Directly on the fine-sand beach of Playacar, in Riviera Maya, Mexico. Approximately 45 minutes away from Cancun International Airport and just a few minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (103)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 103
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, New York
Nov 22, 2010

Great Stay

The people that work this hotel are the only reason to come back. Was treated very well. Great shows. The drinks were poor quality. Fake pina colada's...really thought Mexico had lots of coconuts and pineapples. Fake Sangria...come on.. I thought that since the resort is Spanish owned they could at least provide some semblance of a sangria, it was syrup and had absolutely no fruit nor any semblance to any sangria I've ever tasted. The location is beautiful. This was the second time and I probably won't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
There are better places than Mexico
Canada
Jan 10, 2010

Iberostar Tucan

Everything was average but the food quality was very poor. There are better places to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You can take a taxi to town for 50 pesos and do some shopping.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JE8150
California
Jul 26, 2014

Great Location & Fun.

We had a great stay. The staff is a bit slow, especially at the front desk (Almost an hour to check in and we were first in line). The beach was amazing, clear & warm water. Even with water up to my neck, I could see my feet at the bottom. If you bring some bread out with you, you can feed some fish. They'll come flying by, swimming by your feet. If you put your head under water, it's like you're snorkeling and see them swim by. The hotel is right off of the beach, food was average, not great. The kids are picky eaters but we found something for them to eat. We even brought some 2 minute noodles with us, that the kids like, and the kitchen cooked it for us. Staff was great activity wise, a lot of activities, scuba diving, sailing, jet skiing, games with the staff, shows at night, The only place you'll find AC is in your room & the Mexican restaurant. The rest of the resort. you'll sweat, even in the lobby, bars, etc... With a 2 minute cab ride you can be at Senor Frogs and find things to buy for cheap(We didn't do this but I spoke to others that did). Over all it was a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

With a 2 minute cab ride you can be at Senor Frogs and find things to buy for cheap(We didn't do this but I spoke to others that did).

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lover of Caribbean
Tulsa, OK
Aug 6, 2014

Family Vacation

We were overall disappointed with our return stay at the Tucan. The staff for the most part was unfriendly. We will not return to the Iberostar Tucan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vassa
Vancouver, BC
Jan 3, 2014

Great hotel for an unspoiled tourist

The hotel is truly beautiful and has a true Yucatan spirit in my view. The landscaping is amazing - there is a beautiful jungle in the centre of the resort with lots of wildlife. The Playacar beach and ocean are amazing!! do not forget your snorkels - the artificial reefs are close by. The food was great and buffet menu did vary throughout the stay, unlike others experienced before. The room looked dated and in need for a renovation, but it did not bothered us at all. I will likely come to "Tucan and Quetzal" again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't buy anything in hotel's shops. A 35 minutes walk to Playa's 5th avenue and you can find way better deals.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frosty226
Cleveland, OH
Jan 16, 2014

Paradise

Our stay at Iberostar Tucan/Quetzal was amazing. The beach is perfect, the pool is fantastic, and there is so much beautiful wildlife wandering freely about the grounds. The staff was also very friendly. We did a free scuba lesson in the pool, got our pictures taken with toucans and parrots by their photographers, and paid only $45 per person to go snorkeling with sea turtles and stingrays, which was awesome. My only real qualm, which is pretty minor, is the food quality. The buffets were pretty similar each day, and while they had a great selection, the quality was just ok. Reservations are required for the other restaurants and we often had to eat as late as 9:00 pm to get reservations. The Japanese restaurant and steak house were really great, though. Overall, it's a really stunning resort and we had a wonderful stay. Would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The shops around 5th Avenue in Playa Del Carmen are much cheaper than the ones at the resort, and worth a visit unless you want to spend $20 on sunblock or $40 on flip flops.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisaTed
Minnesota
Mar 22, 2014

Great family resort!

We have gone to this resort two years in a row with our kids, ages 11 and 9 and it is wonderful! If you ask for a room in building 14 you will have monkeys hanging out outside of your balcony every morning and every afternoon. This is really cool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations as soon as you get to the resort.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enzo's Mom
New Braunfels, TX
Apr 21, 2014

Beach is picture perfect!

Traveling with a 7 year old and a 2 year old. They had a great time as did we. The cribs are a little on the small side, but they work. I went on the Bike Tour which is a single file bike ride. It's about 6 km, 45 minutes. It was nice, mostly flat. I liked it. Nice little view of Playacar. There is a Starbucks and little market 5 minutes walking from the hotel. Just walk out of the resort's front gate and go right. Cheap Tickets has this hotel pegged correctly at 3 stars. Other sites state higher but definitely not higher than 3. Rooms need a re-do but we don't spend much time in the rooms, so we were good. Buffet food was great for this price point. The staff is friendly and hard-working. I wonder when they sleep. We forgot our 7 year old's knotted, frayed blanket that he's slept with since infancy. I called and emailed and they didn't have it. Such a bummer. Would be nice if they kept things for a day or two even if it looks worn and worthless. As any parent knows, these things are priceless to children. So sad. The beach just can't be beat. No rocks, just soft, white sand. You can see Cozumel from the beach. The beach is what you dream about when you are in your cubicle at work. Just beautiful. The pool was not great for us since it's 5'5" throughout most of it. There are a couple of wade in areas but they get boring for kids. And the kid pool is separate and boring after an hour as well. Didn't like how the pool bar was separate either. Would have liked to have it connected so we could all be in the same pool at one time, but I get why they separated it. I know some people would like a break from the kids. But all these complaints are minor (except the blanket) especially if you go to Mexico for the beach. This beach is beautiful. I don't know that it could get any better. Weather was perfect, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Out resort front door to the right 5 minutes.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ybavrg2
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Iberostar Playa

The hotel is walking distance to Playa Del Carmen, it takes about 20 minutes using the sidewalk or 45 minutes using the beach. Very clean, staff excellent food is above average and fesh with a large variety. Drinks are weak with no name alcohol being used. Iberostar in Dominican had top shelf available but not here???? Buy your own very cheap in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fusion a small bar n grill on beach in Playa great food, drinks and live bands nightly. Great place to hang out, people watch and then listen to music.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bliggityncooter
Delaware
Dec 21, 2011

First time in Mexico

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at the Tucan. The beach is wonderful. Never had a problem with lines for anything. Great staff. The only issue I had with the resort was the food and the lack of AC in some of the restaurants. I guess its part of the charm but I do not like to sweat while eating. If it werent for these issues, I would go back again. Planning a trip back to area for January. I will definitely try a different resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay closer to the Lobby area if possible. Long walk to buffets which is near the lobby

Back to menu Return to top

Change search