$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fats
Friends
Newark, NJ, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Wonderful new experience

We had a great time. The staff was so pleasant. Great food all the time. If you like HOT weather this is the place to visit. There is lots of activities, the staff is always getting people involved and they make you feel very comfortable. The hotel needs to improve the air conditioning system in the rooms, other wise room was great. I can't compare with any other resort because this is the first time I came to Mexico. Again your staff if fantastic, friendly and lots of smiles. Yes I would visit you again !!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Must take a ride to 5th avenue. Great prices and lots to see.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Largo, fl
Sep 25, 2010

Awesome place to stay!

Stayed with a friend and we had a fabulous time. It was so nice to just go eat and drink whenever the urge struck and know that there would be no charge. The bed was a little hard but, I slept just fine. I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to take lots of one dollar bills for tipping.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Kalamazoo Michigan
Feb 13, 2010

Great service wonderful vacation

We always experienced a friendly hardworking staff. The resort is very clean, food at the buffets was good not gourmet but you are not paying for gourmet. The beach is incredible and the entertainment staff works hard to keep everyone busy if you wanted to be involved in daytime activities. The shows at night were fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great selection of souvenirs at the plaza down the street.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Z
Couples
McAllen, Texas
Dec 23, 2010

Jungle Paradice with a beach

I loved this resort. The natural setting was like living in a combined nature park and aviary. Eating at the buffet that had a waterfall and pond with a pair of swans and other waterfowl was delightful. The food and beverage service was outstanding!!! At 10:30 PM a live 7 piece band from Cuba with 3 singer played great Caribean-Latin-Afro dance music. The deserts were a cut above other all-inclusive resort I visited. I'm going back and highly recommend this resort. Playacar is a upscale Mexican and nice to walk around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Two one hour massages for $43 US about 1.5 miles from the resort. My wife and I had 3 massages during our 4 day stay. The massages were very good. The facility was clean and private.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
working grany
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 19, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

We had our 10 nights vacation on December 7. It was the best experience ever. Check in was done in minutes. Room was very clean and fresh with welcome fruit basket. We felt welcome there. Food was very good in the buffet restaurants us well us a la'carte which we made reservation for diner without extra charge for anything. Beach was nice, clean with lots of shadow. Jungle in the middle of resort was awesome. Weather was not so good so: very windy and temperature lower than we expected. Show was not very high quality so we didn't attend them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New York, NY
Feb 28, 2010

Banana margs & guacamole in paradise!

My stay at the Iberostar Quetzal was wonderful and had all the elements of a great vacation: lots of drinks, dancing, beach time, pool time, entertainment and food! The Star Friends team (the people who are there to entertain you) are really good at their jobs; they learned our names, remembered details about us, and they sought us out to go dancing or join in the activities. The whole crew were excellent entertainers as well and the shows they put on each evening had really high production value. One of the Star Friends is the break dance champion of Mexico, so he was especially cool to watch. My friend and I found the food to be quite good, especially the guacamole (I ate it at almost every meal, including breakfast) and the papas fritas down at the beach grill. We were given just one guaranteed reservation for the a la carte restaurants for our four night stay, but we managed to charm our way into two more so we ate at the a la carte restaurants three out of four nights. We ate at the Italian, Mexican and Japanese restaurants and they were all delicious. The beach and pool were stunning! The beach has just been redone and was wide and clean. While the pool isn't heated the water temperature was still totally acceptable when the sun was shining or we'd just wrapped up playing ping pong. The swim-up bar was a lot of fun with everyone talking to everyone and enjoying the drinks. The rooms were fine and the beds were in fact quite hard. We didn't sleep late despite being at the dance club until at least 2 AM each night (it was great!) and we couldn't figure out why really. It might have been a combination of the hard beds and the birds, but we didn't mind. They really do have top shelf liquors at both the auditorium bar and the lobby bars, and the banana margaritas were fantastic, as were the banana daquiris. Mimosas a breakfast and Bailey's in your afternoon coffee--who doesn't like that?! The grounds were incredibly well kept and we saw a lot of wild life: flamingos, peacocks, swans, turtles, iguanas, etc. The whole place made you feel like you were in the rain forest. In the end the best measure of a trip is whether I would go back, and I would definitely go back again to the Tucan & Quetzal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We used Cancun Shuttle for our airport transfer and got a private car for $105 round trip for two people, which was far cheaper than what the hotel offered.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cashlin
Family
Baytown, Texas
Jun 7, 2011

"Excellent service"

Just got back from a week stay at the Tucan. The staff at this hotel is excellent and will bend over backwards to try and make your stay as good as possible. The grounds are huge...so if you have trouble walking long distances, this is probably not the right hotel for you. The expanse of the hotel grounds is due in part of the large jungle filled with a variety of different animals...if this interest you...you will love it. The pool and the beach area are both large with a lot of lounge chairs so there is not much of a problem finding a place to sit. Omar at the reception desk is awesome...he is the man...and is very courteous and helpful. The beds are hard, so be sure to ask for a mattress pad...they will be happy to do this for you, just ask. Get a omelet at the restaurant by the pool, they are very good. We had a great stay, can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to bring plenty of sun screen...it is way too expensive at the resort or even in the town of Playa. Bring inflatable floats for the pool and ocean...you'll be glad you did.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Winnipeg, MB Canada
Dec 10, 2010

an absolutely delightful experience

When I planned my trip I chose this hotel because of the location, resort size and brand reputation, and a pleasant bonus was the special price promotion that was being offered. I expected the hotel to be nice and have good service that I associate with the name, but my expectations were exceeded. The rainforest environment that is present on the property is simply breathtaking and all the birds and animals in the environment are so beautiful to see. I was so impressed with this and could not get enough. The resort is very clean and well maintained and the staff are happy to be there and it is obvious. I found it to be a quiet resort with no roudy behaviour which was quite pleasant. It would not be the place to go if you were looking to party day and night. The hotel was full to capacity during my stay but it was not noticable because there are so many restaurants, bars, staff, etc. I do have a few complaints, eventhough the overall stay was fantastic. There was a lack of hot water in the room and over the course of the week I did not ever have water that felt more than warm at any time of day. There also is only a shower in the room and I would have liked to have the option of taking a bath. The internet service was not free and was quite frustrating to use but that is probably more to do with the internet provider than the hotel. The Wi-Fi in the lobby (also not free) did not work on my i-Pad and a few other guests had the same problem trying to use theirs so it appears they need to upgrade their browser. These things were a bit of an irritant but will not affect my decision to stay here again in the future. I was very sad to leave and already looking forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

A la carte retaurants are really good and you need to reserve early to get a seating during the early evening if you don't want to miss the show which begins at 9:30

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CSI GIRL
Couples
Texas
Jun 11, 2014

The Staff are Awesome!

The staff is what makes this hotel a great place to stay. Zumba on the beach with Maricio was the highlight of each day. The hotel is located right on the beach, but to get there you must pass through the jungle with live monkeys and peacocks! So much to see and do. The only complaints are that the lighting in the rooms could be better and the food was just OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Steve
Couples
Florida
Jun 23, 2014

Wedding Anniversary

We had a great vacation at Iberostar Tucan resort. The food was excellent. The staff was very accommodating and the rooms were very clean. There were plenty of activities to keep us busy all day long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

If a restaurant is fully reserved in the computer the individual restaurants will sometimes allow walk in guests

Back to menu Return to top