$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
104 reviews
Excellent

Had a great trip room clean and comfy beach is best ever and food was good. See full review

  • Playa lady
  • Sep 14, 2014
Wedding Anniversary

We had a great vacation at Iberostar Tucan resort. The food was excellent. The staff was very... See full review

  • Boston Steve
  • Jun 23, 2014
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Hotel Map

20.6028 -87.092
Area served
Playa del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Directly on the fine-sand beach of Playacar, in Riviera Maya, Mexico. Approximately 45 minutes away from Cancun International Airport and just a few minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenn O
Richmond, VA
Jan 14, 2013

Wonderful time with my family

This is my second time at this hotel, my children's first. Everyone had a wonderful time. The resort staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was good, activities & entertainment were fun. I'd recommend this resort to friends & family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martinooss
Business
Canada
Feb 17, 2014

Great Family Vacation

We had great time at the hotel! The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are nice shows, activities throughout the day and evening for both adults and kids. Food was good and you had a selection of restaurants. The best ones were Italian and Mexican. Everyday we enjoyed the company of monkeys on our balcony, and you could see different animals throughout the hotel grounds. Pool was big and clean. Beach was close and you could enjoy swimming with the fish. The resort is in enclosed are close to Playa Del Carmen so you can go for a walk to the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frosty226
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jan 16, 2014

Paradise

Our stay at Iberostar Tucan/Quetzal was amazing. The beach is perfect, the pool is fantastic, and there is so much beautiful wildlife wandering freely about the grounds. The staff was also very friendly. We did a free scuba lesson in the pool, got our pictures taken with toucans and parrots by their photographers, and paid only $45 per person to go snorkeling with sea turtles and stingrays, which was awesome. My only real qualm, which is pretty minor, is the food quality. The buffets were pretty similar each day, and while they had a great selection, the quality was just ok. Reservations are required for the other restaurants and we often had to eat as late as 9:00 pm to get reservations. The Japanese restaurant and steak house were really great, though. Overall, it's a really stunning resort and we had a wonderful stay. Would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The shops around 5th Avenue in Playa Del Carmen are much cheaper than the ones at the resort, and worth a visit unless you want to spend $20 on sunblock or $40 on flip flops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vassa
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jan 3, 2014

Great hotel for an unspoiled tourist

The hotel is truly beautiful and has a true Yucatan spirit in my view. The landscaping is amazing - there is a beautiful jungle in the centre of the resort with lots of wildlife. The Playacar beach and ocean are amazing!! do not forget your snorkels - the artificial reefs are close by. The food was great and buffet menu did vary throughout the stay, unlike others experienced before. The room looked dated and in need for a renovation, but it did not bothered us at all. I will likely come to "Tucan and Quetzal" again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't buy anything in hotel's shops. A 35 minutes walk to Playa's 5th avenue and you can find way better deals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ivanko
Business
Syracuse, NY, USA
Dec 18, 2013

Good, lots of room for improvement.

The hotel and resort in all is pretty good. My wife and I go to a different resort with a group of friends every year. This resort was good, the beach was awesome, very clean and there was no rocks anywhere. The rooms were ok. The restaurants were pretty good but the buffets left a lot to be desired. The buffet menu was blah and it was the same thing everyday, got pretty boring. The food tasted good but I got tired of the save thing everyday. The drinks were good. Need more bars and snack bars through the day. Overall it was good for the price. Whatever you do don't fly US air, worst airline ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book all restaurants you can. You can even go more than if you check for room on the day of.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sandsun
Business
chicago
Dec 10, 2013

great vakye

perfect beach - lots of fun going on all the time food was great - had to make reservations for restaurants but always managed to get in 10-15 minutes after seating times if we did not have reservations for best restaurants - Italian, Steak house Buffets good for lunch and beakfast bars all over had a great time terrific value - everything included wished yoga was early morning not 10 am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juanma
Business
Houston
Nov 18, 2013

Great vacations with friends

I went with a couple of friends. This was my 3rd time in the hotel and my friends really enjoyed. The food was good, and the mix between nature and the building was really appreciated by all of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dangeruss900
Business
D/FW Texas
Sep 27, 2013

Great value - fun surprizes

We traveled during the "off-season" in September so crowds were low. We never waited for anything, and often felt like we had the beach to ourselves. The resort is clean, well maintained and the staff is especially helpful. There are plenty of coordinated activities and options to enroll in (extra charge) excursions. The landscaping is beautiful and the natural areas are a nice addition. We saw iguana, tzereque, peacocks, monkeys, coati mundi, and more on our walks to the beach. A real treat for animal lovers. The food is varied and plentiful. Like most all-inclusive resorts, price rules the quality of the food and drink. Don't expect gourmet fare and you won't be disappointed. Drinks are on the weak side, but we didn't come to get wasted, so your mileage may vary. Stick with the beer - it's always cold and good. The rooms are colorful and kept spotless every day. The bedding is harder than most people will like, but if you wear yourself out like we did, it's not a problem sleeping. The A/C works great, all rooms have a terrace and a large shower, a mini-bar-fridge, and fresh bottled water is provided each day. The shows are worth skipping. They hold true to the somewhat cheesy, loud, Mexican variety show motif. Each night has a different theme, so if you like them, you won't be bored. The pools are vast and gorgeous. Towels are abundant, large and very nice. The beach and sea-side drink service is fantastic. There is a lifeguard (not all resorts have them) and plenty of beach activities. The resort is close to town for shopping and dining, and if you want even closer, there is a smaller shopping area with in close walking distance. There's some on-site shopping and every few nights, local vendors are permitted to set up shop in a breezeway. This is our 4th visit to Playa del Carmen, and this has proved to be the nicest place we've stayed. We would definitely return. We feel a 3 star rating is too low based on what we experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask about Mayan cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiesel78
Business
Moore, OK
Sep 11, 2013

Superb location/evironment

The grounds of this resort are incredible. Playacar is one of our favorite destinations and the beach is spectacular. The staff here are terrific and very helpful. The main buffet food is average, with the ala cartes being excellent. It is definitely time to offer free WIFI Iberostar!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tricky Ricky
Business
Ga
Jul 15, 2013

Trip

This hotel was amazing period. Staff was super nice, food was delish everything was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
best bady
Business
milwaukee,wi
Jun 30, 2013

excelent famaly getaway

location,food,intertatement,staff-exelent.place-peredice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top