$272 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2015 Check-out: Jul 24, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenn O
Richmond, VA
Jan 14, 2013

Wonderful time with my family

This is my second time at this hotel, my children's first. Everyone had a wonderful time. The resort staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was good, activities & entertainment were fun. I'd recommend this resort to friends & family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isabeloh
Business
Allentown, PA
Sep 18, 2014

Very nice break

Location in Playacar is very nice if a bit sanitized. The staff makes the place, super friendly and eager to please. Rooms are a bit basic but functional, nice shower with good water pressure. Beautifully landscaped grounds, absolutely gorgeous stretch of beach - maybe the best in Playa. Solid Iberostar quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Playa lady
Business
Morgan hill
Sep 14, 2014

Excellent

Had a great trip room clean and comfy beach is best ever and food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LSAID
Business
Bayonne, NJ
Sep 2, 2014

Disappointing stay

I was very disappointed with my stay. Our first room was infested with ants. They came to spray down the room while we were away for the day. After coming back, i noticed the spray they used got all over our personal belongings and the smell of the pesticides was too unbearable that we asked to switch rooms. The front desk staff gave us a very hard time about accommodating our request and after a couple of hours of speaking with different staff members and management, they finally honored the request. I thought that it was ridiculous that they didn't just let us switch rooms right away without having to argue with them. The power in our room went out twice. Restaurant reservations were limited and hard to make. Check in and check out process was very long. There was always a line at the front desk. In terms of food, there was a variety to choose from in the buffets. Overall quality was good. Some restaurants were much better than others. Favorite restaurant was the Mexican, least favorite was the Italian. Pool side buffet and burger station were very good. Entertainment staff was very friendly and the star friends made the stay enjoyable with the various activities that would go on in the resort. Beach was filled with seaweed - we pretty much stayed around the pool our whole stay because the beach had mounds of seaweed. Overall, I don't think I would be returning here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make restaurant reservations before your arrive.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bambou
Business
Raleigh,NC
Aug 28, 2014

Wonderfull...

I use this hotel from previous reviews...and I have to said I had a wonderfull time,The activity team gave me the best time I was by myself and I was never bored.Food for every taste,great buffet.Room and hotel well maintain...it was my 5th time in playa del Carmen...but the best hotel so far.Thanks to Ary,Carlos,mauritzio...for the activities...Fran.NC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jovi Girl
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 18, 2014

family and friends vacation

It was a total of five Adults and one Child staying at this hotel. The staff were great and very attentive to us every day. The beach at this location was simply breath taking. Since we did purchase the all inclusive plan we ventured out to another Iberostar location to compare and I must admit that the beach at the Tucan was still the best. The beach is very calm no waves that will tumble you over and just the ambiance was exactly what we were expecting. While at the other location the beach was rough and had rocks...If you are planning to stay at the Tucan make sure you make reservations to the restaurants prior to your arrival since the restaurants for a nice Dinner will be booked by the time you arrive. We really loooooved the Japanese restaurant. This was by far our favorite dinner. We also attended the Mexican restaurant and the tortilla soup was delicious. The food at the buffet locations were good as well, the shrimp and roast beef were amazing! a couple nights we ordered room service instead and the service was as good. We really felt safe since their security measures were strict. If you did not belong in the hotel area you could not get in. On downfall to this hotel is the lack of air conditioning. The nice Dinner restaurants and the rooms were nice and cool but everything else only has fans since the hotel does have an open concept. Don't get me wrong, the hotel is amazing with all the animals walking free through out the hotel and since this was my son's favorite part of the hotel. Also the hotel is not handicap friendly, we did see and incident and the staff were very fast in assisting but due to the fact that some areas are not designed for a wheel chair they should inform guest about that detail. The staff at the Tucan work very hard at making sure every one is served well. Compared to our trip last year I do have to admit that we were happy with our stay and the way everyone treated us in those five days. Looking forward to our next trip!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5th street (avenue) they also have 25 dollars hour massage there...

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lover of Caribbean
Business
Tulsa, OK
Aug 6, 2014

Family Vacation

We were overall disappointed with our return stay at the Tucan. The staff for the most part was unfriendly. We will not return to the Iberostar Tucan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Perry
Business
Louisiana
Aug 1, 2014

Great first time in Mexico!!!

This was our first time to vacation in Mexico, wow what an experience!!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Iberostar Tucan while we were there. If you are looking for a bigger kid friendly resort then you have found it. The staff was always courteous and extremely helpful. So here goes, the Pros and Cons! Pros - Wonderful service, and courteous staff. Lots of activities to do at resort, never have to leave. Water was beautiful, and great location. The adult swim up bar was nice. The Japanese restaurant was amazing, wish we could have booked one of the others. Finally, the amazing jungle with animals in the middle of the resort. Pools were always beautiful and clean. Cons - Only got Reservations for one night out of four to one of the 6 restaurants that were available other than the buffet restaurants. Beach was kind of dirty with cig butts scattered about. Would not be a good intimate setting for a couple, lots of kids while we were there. Had to pay extra for WIFI so we could use our cell phones without getting expensive text charges. Overall we had an amazing time at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Also the Tulum/Jungla Maya tour was the highlight of the trip. It is pricey but we'll worth it. This can be scheduled at the hotel and if you do the tour ask for Jose as your guide!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Tulum / Jungla Maya adventure

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JE8150
Business
California
Jul 26, 2014

Great Location & Fun.

We had a great stay. The staff is a bit slow, especially at the front desk (Almost an hour to check in and we were first in line). The beach was amazing, clear & warm water. Even with water up to my neck, I could see my feet at the bottom. If you bring some bread out with you, you can feed some fish. They'll come flying by, swimming by your feet. If you put your head under water, it's like you're snorkeling and see them swim by. The hotel is right off of the beach, food was average, not great. The kids are picky eaters but we found something for them to eat. We even brought some 2 minute noodles with us, that the kids like, and the kitchen cooked it for us. Staff was great activity wise, a lot of activities, scuba diving, sailing, jet skiing, games with the staff, shows at night, The only place you'll find AC is in your room & the Mexican restaurant. The rest of the resort. you'll sweat, even in the lobby, bars, etc... With a 2 minute cab ride you can be at Senor Frogs and find things to buy for cheap(We didn't do this but I spoke to others that did). Over all it was a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

With a 2 minute cab ride you can be at Senor Frogs and find things to buy for cheap(We didn't do this but I spoke to others that did).

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Steve
Business
Florida
Jun 23, 2014

Wedding Anniversary

We had a great vacation at Iberostar Tucan resort. The food was excellent. The staff was very accommodating and the rooms were very clean. There were plenty of activities to keep us busy all day long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If a restaurant is fully reserved in the computer the individual restaurants will sometimes allow walk in guests

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EDP123
Business
Rhode Island
Jun 16, 2014

Great Vacation

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed this place! The location was great and they had a lot of things to do during the day. The beach and pool areas were very well maintained. The food was decent in the buffets while the restaurants were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top