$258 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bambou
Business
Raleigh,NC
Aug 28, 2014

Wonderfull...

I use this hotel from previous reviews...and I have to said I had a wonderfull time,The activity team gave me the best time I was by myself and I was never bored.Food for every taste,great buffet.Room and hotel well maintain...it was my 5th time in playa del Carmen...but the best hotel so far.Thanks to Ary,Carlos,mauritzio...for the activities...Fran.NC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jovi Girl
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 18, 2014

family and friends vacation

It was a total of five Adults and one Child staying at this hotel. The staff were great and very attentive to us every day. The beach at this location was simply breath taking. Since we did purchase the all inclusive plan we ventured out to another Iberostar location to compare and I must admit that the beach at the Tucan was still the best. The beach is very calm no waves that will tumble you over and just the ambiance was exactly what we were expecting. While at the other location the beach was rough and had rocks...If you are planning to stay at the Tucan make sure you make reservations to the restaurants prior to your arrival since the restaurants for a nice Dinner will be booked by the time you arrive. We really loooooved the Japanese restaurant. This was by far our favorite dinner. We also attended the Mexican restaurant and the tortilla soup was delicious. The food at the buffet locations were good as well, the shrimp and roast beef were amazing! a couple nights we ordered room service instead and the service was as good. We really felt safe since their security measures were strict. If you did not belong in the hotel area you could not get in. On downfall to this hotel is the lack of air conditioning. The nice Dinner restaurants and the rooms were nice and cool but everything else only has fans since the hotel does have an open concept. Don't get me wrong, the hotel is amazing with all the animals walking free through out the hotel and since this was my son's favorite part of the hotel. Also the hotel is not handicap friendly, we did see and incident and the staff were very fast in assisting but due to the fact that some areas are not designed for a wheel chair they should inform guest about that detail. The staff at the Tucan work very hard at making sure every one is served well. Compared to our trip last year I do have to admit that we were happy with our stay and the way everyone treated us in those five days. Looking forward to our next trip!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5th street (avenue) they also have 25 dollars hour massage there...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lover of Caribbean
Business
Tulsa, OK
Aug 6, 2014

Family Vacation

We were overall disappointed with our return stay at the Tucan. The staff for the most part was unfriendly. We will not return to the Iberostar Tucan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Perry
Business
Louisiana
Aug 1, 2014

Great first time in Mexico!!!

This was our first time to vacation in Mexico, wow what an experience!!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Iberostar Tucan while we were there. If you are looking for a bigger kid friendly resort then you have found it. The staff was always courteous and extremely helpful. So here goes, the Pros and Cons! Pros - Wonderful service, and courteous staff. Lots of activities to do at resort, never have to leave. Water was beautiful, and great location. The adult swim up bar was nice. The Japanese restaurant was amazing, wish we could have booked one of the others. Finally, the amazing jungle with animals in the middle of the resort. Pools were always beautiful and clean. Cons - Only got Reservations for one night out of four to one of the 6 restaurants that were available other than the buffet restaurants. Beach was kind of dirty with cig butts scattered about. Would not be a good intimate setting for a couple, lots of kids while we were there. Had to pay extra for WIFI so we could use our cell phones without getting expensive text charges. Overall we had an amazing time at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Also the Tulum/Jungla Maya tour was the highlight of the trip. It is pricey but we'll worth it. This can be scheduled at the hotel and if you do the tour ask for Jose as your guide!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Tulum / Jungla Maya adventure

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JE8150
Business
California
Jul 26, 2014

Great Location & Fun.

We had a great stay. The staff is a bit slow, especially at the front desk (Almost an hour to check in and we were first in line). The beach was amazing, clear & warm water. Even with water up to my neck, I could see my feet at the bottom. If you bring some bread out with you, you can feed some fish. They'll come flying by, swimming by your feet. If you put your head under water, it's like you're snorkeling and see them swim by. The hotel is right off of the beach, food was average, not great. The kids are picky eaters but we found something for them to eat. We even brought some 2 minute noodles with us, that the kids like, and the kitchen cooked it for us. Staff was great activity wise, a lot of activities, scuba diving, sailing, jet skiing, games with the staff, shows at night, The only place you'll find AC is in your room & the Mexican restaurant. The rest of the resort. you'll sweat, even in the lobby, bars, etc... With a 2 minute cab ride you can be at Senor Frogs and find things to buy for cheap(We didn't do this but I spoke to others that did). Over all it was a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

With a 2 minute cab ride you can be at Senor Frogs and find things to buy for cheap(We didn't do this but I spoke to others that did).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Steve
Business
Florida
Jun 23, 2014

Wedding Anniversary

We had a great vacation at Iberostar Tucan resort. The food was excellent. The staff was very accommodating and the rooms were very clean. There were plenty of activities to keep us busy all day long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If a restaurant is fully reserved in the computer the individual restaurants will sometimes allow walk in guests

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EDP123
Business
Rhode Island
Jun 16, 2014

Great Vacation

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed this place! The location was great and they had a lot of things to do during the day. The beach and pool areas were very well maintained. The food was decent in the buffets while the restaurants were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CSI GIRL
Business
Texas
Jun 11, 2014

The Staff are Awesome!

The staff is what makes this hotel a great place to stay. Zumba on the beach with Maricio was the highlight of each day. The hotel is located right on the beach, but to get there you must pass through the jungle with live monkeys and peacocks! So much to see and do. The only complaints are that the lighting in the rooms could be better and the food was just OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Elizabeth Z
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 3, 2014

Three Day Stay

Our stay at this hotel was basically a disaster, they weren't able to honor our king bed request and told us none were available so sent us to a double bed room. The room they checked us into was actually still dirty and hadn't been cleaned. They also forgot to give us our towel cards and wrist bands at check-in so we were turned away from the pool and the restaurants when we tried to eat and then had to explain our situation multiple times to multiple staff members before it was resolved. Then all of a sudden a king room magically became availabe so we had to re-pack all of our items and move to a new room. When we asked to speak with a manager, he was late to our meeting and gave us plenty of execuses for the items. He assured us the hotel would make it up to us - their idea of this was bringing a bottle of champagne to our room at 10:30pm, waking us up. This is the same champagne that we could drink for free at any of the restaurants or bars for our "all inclusive" value. Please don't give us something that is already free to make it up to us. I was fully expecting a free spa service for my husband and I and the hotel fell flat on this - very disappointed. We will never stay at an Iberostar again. On top of this, the rooms were dated, the hotel was dated, the reservation restuarants were partial buffets and the meals had funny times (full breakfast over by 10am and the full lunch didn't start until 1pm). The only redeeming quality was the service staff at the pools and restuarants. The manager and front desk staff are in need of customer service training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reservation restaurants are partial buffets and the meals are at odd times - full breakfast ends at 10am and full lunch doesn't start until 1pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clbrunetti
Business
Manville, RI
May 30, 2014

Great vacation at Iberostar Quetzal

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Iberostar Quetzal from May 17-24 and had a great time. We loved the jungle location and all of the animals running about and in the trees. The beach was beautiful and we were able to get chairs under an umbrella every day. The same goes for the pool. The food at the 2 a la carte restaurants that we tried (Italian and the Steakhouse) was delicious and was also very good at the buffets. We stayed in building 27 facing the middle of the resort and the rooms were very spacious with balconies. We even saw some of the monkeys on the balcony railings 2 of the days we were there. Minor issues were some inconsistencies in the drinks, the limited amount of entertainment at night and inconsistency in the quality of the shows. My wife and daughter suggested that there should possibly be some mini-nibs of liquor in the mini-refridgerators and some cans of Diet (Light) Coke. We would definitely consider going there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top