$424 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
108 reviews
Honeymoon

My stay was wonderful at the iberostar! It was my honeymoon vacation, and it was the perfect spot!... See full review

  • Ashley d
  • Dec 20, 2014
AN INIMAGINABLE EXPERIENCIE

Impresive arquitechture, to start. A jungle inside, plus a turquoise and warm sea otside. A candid... See full review

  • EXIQUIO T.
  • Dec 20, 2014
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach King Daddy
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jul 11, 2010

Fabulous Family Mexico Vacation

Pool is warm, huge, beautifully shaped with plenty of lounge chairs and shade. Sunken Swim up bar with thigh high "cooler than the pool" water. Separate sports pool for water polo and basketball. Food was great as were the all inclusive drinks. Pool side service could have been better but still not a long walk to get a drink and something to eat. Evening shows were very entertaining. No AC anywhere with the exception of the rooms, the shops, bathrooms and computer room. Lobby bars and seating areas were very warm and tough for the dinner evenings when long slacks were required for men in the restaurants. Only restaurant that was air conditioned with the Italian theme. All others were open air. Japanese restaurant was unbelievably hot and although the food was good, I would not go there again for that reason. Great beach with volleyball and plenty of lounge chairs with shade. Service was fabulous and everyone was extremely friendly with attention to detail, especially in the food areas. I would highly recommend this place for anyone from couples to families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Beds are HARD. You can request upon check in a padded top for the mattress and they will install this for you. I would highly recommend you do this. Also, request a room away from the theater as it can become noisy in the evening. Beware of the morning Peacocks calls- we did not sleep after 5:00 a.m.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jul 8, 2010

iberostar

My family had a wonder time. The place is very nice. The staff was super friendly.The day care was excellent. The shows every time where the best. The the disavantages my husband and i had was that we paid for 24 hour wireless internet and could only use in the lobby. That was the only way to get wireless. We also didn't like that we stayed for 7 nights and could only reserve 3 dinners through are whole vacation. The steak house had really bad service. The rest where excellent. The mini bars where horrible. The beer and pop where not cold at all if staying in a regular room. The presidential suite did have a refrigerator with cold pop and beer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jul 6, 2010

Nice vacation spot

The hotel was very nice, and the staff was very friendly. The beds were very hard as other reviewers have noted, but we slept fine even without a bed topper. The food was OK, nothing special, but as vegetarians, we were able to find enough to eat at each meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jul 4, 2010

big disappointment

The beds were hard (no boxspring)just a concrete slab. The shower was cold with minimal water pressure. The buffet was lousy. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 21, 2010

Great Mexican Getaway

Iberostar Tucan has a unique jungle experience. We saw lots of animals and birds and also the caves and waterfalls which were so fun to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 5, 2010

Beautiful with a few flaws

The hotel itself, less the guest rooms, is beautiful. The property the hotel is located on is amazing. There are animals and nature all around! Everyday, you run into monkeys, birds, lizards, peacocks, etc. However, the room had a lot to be desired...the bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable, the power kept cutting out, and the bathroom was awkward and small. As for the food...the breakfast buffet is great with a lot of options, the lunch buffet was never good (made us sick a few times), all of the restaurants were just okay. I would recommend the Japanese restaurant out of all of them. The main pool is large and has plenty of areas to lounge in or out of the sun. The beach is also nice with plenty of lounge chairs and activities. There are only two bars. Neither of them are very lively. Always playing slow, mellow music and are located inside the lobby area. If you want to be in a fun lively atmosphere, I would recommend heading downtown to the strip. Great restaurants there ("Blue Lobster") and fun bars and shops. Staff was not overly friendly and at times rude when asked for the smallest things. Overall, the trip was a nice experience, not sure I will stay in this hotel again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend taking a boat over to Isla Mujeres for the day. It is the most peacful, beautiful island. If you purchase the day package, it includes lunch/snacks,drinks, zip lining, snorkling, etc. Great way to spend the day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Graduated Global Traveler
Business
Lafayette, IN
May 28, 2010

Great vacation, but not for kids really

We went for four nights. The beach is beautiful, and the water is fairly clear and incredibly blue. The food and water at the resort were ok to drink, but beware of outside food and drink, like you've probably heard. The buffet food was decent, but get there early for the best selection and temperatures. Plus, it was really cool to see the monkeys, iguanas, and various assorted animals scattered throughout the resort. Also, this resort isn't really for children. In the resort, the average age of those while we were there must have been in their middle to late 30s. As such, activities are geared for more mature customers (and usually involve alcohol). Also, there is quite a bit of topless sunbathing on the beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

For the in-hotel restaurants, the dress code is elegant dress, and gentlemen are required to wear long pants or bermuda shorts (depending on the restaurant). We weren't aware of this beforehand, so pack accordingly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
May 13, 2010

A great time for a great price!

We had a wonderful time! The location is wonderful! If you want to go into town it is a $5.00 taxi ride. (or you could walk the beach and it takes about 15min) The food was good. Only advice would be to ask at check in for a soft mattress pad. ( they will have housekeeping put it on and bed it will make it softer)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
calikares
Business
Granite Bay, CA
May 2, 2010

Beautiful Playa Del Carmen spot

Just back from a week at the Iberostar Tucan Hotel, it was fantastic. It is a beautiful hotel, the tropical grounds are awesome. We loved all the birds, and the animals living on the grounds. The baby monkeys are especially cool. The food is very good, especially the breakfast buffet. We really liked the Japanese and steak house restaurants too. The location of the hotel is great, I walking distance or a $5.00 cab ride to Playa Del Carmen. I highly recommend this hotel. The only issue we had was that our son (19) and his girlfried went to the on site disco and she gave her purse to the bar tender to hold and when he returned it her money was taken out of her wallet. The hotel security did nothing about the situation. That was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We took the ferry from Playa Del Carmen to Couzemal and then a cab to the Iberostar hotel there. You can use all of the hotel immenities. The hotel is located on a reef, and you can snorkel there and plan a diving trip if you are in to that. We paid for a separate snorkel trip and realized once we got to the hotel, we could have just rented the snorkel equipment there and saved alot of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Clara County, CA
Apr 23, 2010

Fun even in the rain!

Unfortunately it rained many inches during our stay. However, it was nice on arrival and we were able to spend the first couple days enjoying more typical weather. Pool was beautiful, beach was beautiful. Staff were all very nice and professional. Restaurant waiters were really nice and did a great job. Our 13 year old para-sailed on our first full day and had a blast. We also rented a car for the week (took from airport). Visited Tulum and Akumal, snorkeled in a lagoon at Akumal, and later visited caves at Aktun Chen. also walked and shopped and dined in Playa del Carmen - very interesting and fun. Due to rain, didn't get to other activities we might have. But enjoyed the beautiful tropical landscaping and wildlife throughout the property. We swam rain or shine...still warm out, so why not? we weren't really into the evening shows, however, did enjoy the Mexcan folklorico dancing in the show one evening. restaurants were fine. Hotel room not large for 4, and would have been nice to have 4 chairs on patio (since we did spend a bit of time there due to rain), but it worked out fine for our family. Overall had a wonderful stay at Iberostar Tucan and enjoyed our vacation in Playa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car. Get to hotel faster and gives you flexibility to see some of the neat things in the area easily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top