Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

4/5

Overall score

85%

Would recommend

Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite with 2 double beds or 1 king bed, private balcony with garden or jungle view, AC, ceiling fan, mini bar stocked every other day with beer, soft drinks and bottled water. Room service from 11am to 11pm. Flat screen TV, alarm clock, digital safe, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. Bathroom with vanity sink and shower.Total area is 409 sq. ft.
Ocean Front Junior Suites
Junior Suite with 2 double beds or 1 king bed, private balcony with oceanfront view, AC, ceiling fan, mini bar stocked every other day with beer, soft drinks and bottled water. Room service from 11am to 11pm. Flat screen TV, alarm clock, digital safe, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. Bathroom with vanity sink, shower. Total area is 377 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6028 -87.092
Area served
Playa del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Directly on the fine-sand beach of Playacar, in Riviera Maya, Mexico. Approximately 45 minutes away from Cancun International Airport and just a few minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melissa A.
Business
Isle
Apr 23, 2015

Family and Friend Trip

Overall we enjoyed our stay. The beach and pool were the best part. I have to say the food was a huge disappointment, the only time we really enjoyed the food was the steakhouse restaurant. The rest were soso. Our room was really musty smelling and we asked 2 months earlier to be on the same side if not together with the 8 of us, however we were all over the place. Also not having WiFi without a charge is a big negative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt H.
Business
minneapolis
Apr 10, 2015

Vacation

The hotel entertainers were by far the best part of the hotel. The pool isn't as great as it looks in the pictures and the swim up bar is completely secluded from the main pool area. But, the entertainment the resort put on was a lot of fun and they did a lot to get everyone involved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane S.
Business
QUINCY
Mar 26, 2015

Reliable Iberostar standards

Great beach and easy walk to PDC. I ate only at the buffets and always found something good - grilled chicken and fish. I have stayed at many Iberostar resorts and this one was the same quality and style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashley d
Business
berlin
Mar 4, 2015

Awesome honeymoon

Great place to stay. Wonderful staff. I plan to be back! Thank you for the honeymoon memories

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennifer C.
Business
Caroga Lake
Feb 24, 2015

Winter Getaway

The Iberostar was a great hotel to vacation at. The staff was very friendly and everything was really clean. The food was good, but I wouldn't say great. I thought the drink quality was very good, not watered down like some places. There were a lot of different animals around the resort such as monkeys and peacocks that were fun to watch. The pool area is very nice and there are ample amounts of chairs at the pool and the beach. Unlike other places where you have to get up extremely early and "reserve" your chairs, the atmosphere at Iberostar is much more relaxed. I also had a massage and it was wonderful, probably the best I've had. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Elizabeth J.
Business
Canton
Feb 21, 2015

Entire family ill from food, had to leave

We arrived Saturday evening. By Monday, my 10 year old son was vomiting and had diarrhea. A few hours later, my husband had the same thing. They were ill for two days. On Wednesday, my 14 year old son got it, followed by me. We were stuck in our room, miserable. When we called to ask someone to help us clean up, it took almost two hours. The children refused to eat anything else because they were afraid of being ill again. With two of us still stick and two days remaining, we made the difficult decision to just go home. A very sad and expensive attempt to have a memorable family vacation. The trip home was even worse for the two of us who were still sick. We can only hope there is a way to get at least some of our money back. We travel a lot (have been to Mexico 4 other times) and never had an experience like this. There is no way to enjoy anything about a resort or your surroundings when you're sick like that. We paid thousands to go somewhere and be sick. Terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAD.386
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

First trip to Mexico

Hotel was great, beach was beautiful. Rooms were clean and staff was excellent. Very easy to book and just enjoy the vacation. Felt very safe. Only downside - food was not excellent, but definitely passable and always plentiful. Bars/drinks were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ckbutters
Business
Whitmore Lake
Jan 6, 2015

Iberostar Tucan Fun

Let me first say this hotel demonstrated its greatness over several different days. First the special New Years eve dinner was superb. The many different types of foods available was amazing. The staff set up the night as a whole in my opinion wonderfully. There was hundreds of people celebrating New Years eve and they kept it organized and fun. They had a special show in the pool that day and we sent off hundreds of balloons as a tribute to new years day by the pool. The grounds are spectacular and filled with live peacocks and monkeys. And various other animals. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Susan E.
Business
N/A
Dec 31, 2014

Christmas Family Vacation

The hotel had an interesting layout with open areas throughout the property. Exotic and wild animals roamed the property and if I had not arrived in the daylight it would have been unsettling to say the least. The front desk staff seemed tired and uninterested in answering questions at check-in and while other guests received "welcome drinks" our person offered nothing not even a smile. Upon check-out I provided all the necessary documentation and paid for any outstanding charges only to be grilled by the bellboy I did not have the ticket to release my luggage to our driver which would have been the responsibility of the front desk. Our room was dark and full of small ants. The hotel offered to fumigate but our belongings were in the room and there was no offer to assist us in removing and replacing our things. The buffet and meals were wonderful. The entertainment staff was friendly and worked very hard to please all the customers. Both Maurico and Anderson worked above and beyond and always were friendly and smiling! Doubtful I would return to the property again but may try another Iberostar property elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessica L.
Business
Santa Monica
Dec 30, 2014

Amazing family vacation

Stayed on the Tucan side from 12/18-12/24 with my husband and 3 year old son. We had an outstanding trip!!! The grounds of the resort, the beach and the staff are what make this place wonderful. The resort itself is gorgeous. The jungle is beautiful with amazing colors, sights and sounds. Wildlife, bridges, and waterfalls make the atmosphere exactly what we were looking for in a tropical getaway. The beach was awesome! The weather caused pretty rough waters and churned things up for about 4 out of the 7 days. The other days the water was vibrant crystal clear blue! This was no problem for us since we only like to go into the water to about our knees. We were still able to do what we enjoyed which was taking walks along the water's edge, looking for seashells, playing in the sand and taking in the views. This is a very family friendly resort! The staff were great with our son and were always keeping us informed of upcoming activities that he might enjoy. He had a blast!!! They have tons of activities for kids and adults everyday. You can stay busy ALL day long or do absolutely nothing. If you are not into kids this might not be the best place for you but honestly the place was so big that I think you could have a romantic getaway as well. The food was good. The buffet was nothing to get too excited about but it was above average. They have quite a bit of variety but any buffet gets old after a week. We really liked the Japanese Hibachi and the Steak House. Those were the only two restaurants we tried. The place felt very safe. It was nice being able to leave all of our pool stuff at the pool and go eat and not worry about it. We made friends with lots of families. All the kids shared toys and we all looked out for each other's kids. It was just a really nice atmosphere talking with families from all over the world! The pool is HUGE and AMAZING! The sports pool, adult pool bar, kids pool, big pool were all clean and beautiful. I think every person in the whole resort could have been in the pool and it still would not have felt crowded. I just think this was one of the best vacations we have ever taken and was well worth every penny. When they say all inclusive, they mean all inclusive! We did everything we wanted and the only things we paid extra for was a day excursion to Chichen Itza for my husband, tipping and a small souvenior for the boy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tips for families with small children: Request a room on the ground level-there are no elevators. The jungle area is difficult with a stroller because of many stairs and stone pathway and is unavoidable. I would suggest a carrier in addition to a stroller for small children and bring a big enough beach bag to carry stuff and be prepared to carry kids through this part. You have to walk through it no matter where your room is. The rest of the resort is fine for a stroller. Huge variety of food for all types of eaters. Don't worry about food! I did keep a stash of snacks we brought from home in the room for emergencies but didn't use them as much as I thought I would. Bring some toys from home that you can leave behind. Toys for the pool and beach are available but VERY expensive. I stuffed every nook of our luggage with dollar store toys and they were great! Be prepared to share around the pool and others will share theirs. We found a family that had just arrived and gave them our toys.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top