$366 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 5, 2015 Check-out: Feb 8, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
114 reviews
Iberostar Tucan Fun

Let me first say this hotel demonstrated its greatness over several different days. First the... See full review

  • ckbutters
  • Jan 6, 2015
Amazing family vacation

Stayed on the Tucan side from 12/18-12/24 with my husband and 3 year old son. We had an outstanding... See full review

  • Jessica L.
  • Dec 30, 2014
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Olechkamama
San jose
Apr 28, 2013

Fantastic Eco resort

I have stayed 2nd time. Perfect location, inside of jungle; beautiful beach where it is safe to swim in carribean sea. Close to Playa Del Carmen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Playa Del Carmen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAD.386
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

First trip to Mexico

Hotel was great, beach was beautiful. Rooms were clean and staff was excellent. Very easy to book and just enjoy the vacation. Felt very safe. Only downside - food was not excellent, but definitely passable and always plentiful. Bars/drinks were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ckbutters
Business
Whitmore Lake
Jan 6, 2015

Iberostar Tucan Fun

Let me first say this hotel demonstrated its greatness over several different days. First the special New Years eve dinner was superb. The many different types of foods available was amazing. The staff set up the night as a whole in my opinion wonderfully. There was hundreds of people celebrating New Years eve and they kept it organized and fun. They had a special show in the pool that day and we sent off hundreds of balloons as a tribute to new years day by the pool. The grounds are spectacular and filled with live peacocks and monkeys. And various other animals. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Susan E.
Business
N/A
Dec 31, 2014

Christmas Family Vacation

The hotel had an interesting layout with open areas throughout the property. Exotic and wild animals roamed the property and if I had not arrived in the daylight it would have been unsettling to say the least. The front desk staff seemed tired and uninterested in answering questions at check-in and while other guests received "welcome drinks" our person offered nothing not even a smile. Upon check-out I provided all the necessary documentation and paid for any outstanding charges only to be grilled by the bellboy I did not have the ticket to release my luggage to our driver which would have been the responsibility of the front desk. Our room was dark and full of small ants. The hotel offered to fumigate but our belongings were in the room and there was no offer to assist us in removing and replacing our things. The buffet and meals were wonderful. The entertainment staff was friendly and worked very hard to please all the customers. Both Maurico and Anderson worked above and beyond and always were friendly and smiling! Doubtful I would return to the property again but may try another Iberostar property elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessica L.
Business
Santa Monica
Dec 30, 2014

Amazing family vacation

Stayed on the Tucan side from 12/18-12/24 with my husband and 3 year old son. We had an outstanding trip!!! The grounds of the resort, the beach and the staff are what make this place wonderful. The resort itself is gorgeous. The jungle is beautiful with amazing colors, sights and sounds. Wildlife, bridges, and waterfalls make the atmosphere exactly what we were looking for in a tropical getaway. The beach was awesome! The weather caused pretty rough waters and churned things up for about 4 out of the 7 days. The other days the water was vibrant crystal clear blue! This was no problem for us since we only like to go into the water to about our knees. We were still able to do what we enjoyed which was taking walks along the water's edge, looking for seashells, playing in the sand and taking in the views. This is a very family friendly resort! The staff were great with our son and were always keeping us informed of upcoming activities that he might enjoy. He had a blast!!! They have tons of activities for kids and adults everyday. You can stay busy ALL day long or do absolutely nothing. If you are not into kids this might not be the best place for you but honestly the place was so big that I think you could have a romantic getaway as well. The food was good. The buffet was nothing to get too excited about but it was above average. They have quite a bit of variety but any buffet gets old after a week. We really liked the Japanese Hibachi and the Steak House. Those were the only two restaurants we tried. The place felt very safe. It was nice being able to leave all of our pool stuff at the pool and go eat and not worry about it. We made friends with lots of families. All the kids shared toys and we all looked out for each other's kids. It was just a really nice atmosphere talking with families from all over the world! The pool is HUGE and AMAZING! The sports pool, adult pool bar, kids pool, big pool were all clean and beautiful. I think every person in the whole resort could have been in the pool and it still would not have felt crowded. I just think this was one of the best vacations we have ever taken and was well worth every penny. When they say all inclusive, they mean all inclusive! We did everything we wanted and the only things we paid extra for was a day excursion to Chichen Itza for my husband, tipping and a small souvenior for the boy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tips for families with small children: Request a room on the ground level-there are no elevators. The jungle area is difficult with a stroller because of many stairs and stone pathway and is unavoidable. I would suggest a carrier in addition to a stroller for small children and bring a big enough beach bag to carry stuff and be prepared to carry kids through this part. You have to walk through it no matter where your room is. The rest of the resort is fine for a stroller. Huge variety of food for all types of eaters. Don't worry about food! I did keep a stash of snacks we brought from home in the room for emergencies but didn't use them as much as I thought I would. Bring some toys from home that you can leave behind. Toys for the pool and beach are available but VERY expensive. I stuffed every nook of our luggage with dollar store toys and they were great! Be prepared to share around the pool and others will share theirs. We found a family that had just arrived and gave them our toys.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EXIQUIO T.
Business
CORDOBA
Dec 29, 2014

AN INIMAGINABLE EXPERIENCIE

Impresive arquitechture, to start. A jungle inside, plus a turquoise and warm sea otside. A candid zoo w fascinanting pieces, small pyramids, great food, 4 specialty restaurants, buffets all day around. Cleanliness, but most of all, warm and truly nice, helpful and willing to help staff, always smiling... That you can´t have everywhere (sometime even at your home!). I am delighted and I will be back, anytime. Thank you. also for the affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

TO XEL HÁ AND TULUM, AMAZING LESSONS IN HISTORY AND AN INCREDIBLE FUN SITE FULL OF WONDERS (XEL HÁ). VERY RECOMMENDABLE BOTH AND IN ONE TRIP FOR THE PRICE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashley d
Business
berlin
Dec 29, 2014

Honeymoon

My stay was wonderful at the iberostar! It was my honeymoon vacation, and it was the perfect spot! We went in October and didn't have many kids, teens or college age annoying our honeymoon. Staff was great, and hotel grounds were beautiful. Food was also an a+ Especially for all inclusive..I would go again!! Shout out to Bernardo, he was only there as a college intern, but he really helped us tremendously!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashley d
Business
berlin
Dec 20, 2014

Honeymoon

My stay was wonderful at the iberostar! It was my honeymoon vacation, and it was the perfect spot! We went in October and didn't have many kids, teens or college age annoying our honeymoon. Staff was great, and hotel grounds were beautiful. Food was also an a+ Especially for all inclusive..I would go again!! Shout out to Bernardo, he was only there as a college intern, but he really helped us tremendously!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EXIQUIO T.
Business
CORDOBA
Dec 20, 2014

AN INIMAGINABLE EXPERIENCIE

Impresive arquitechture, to start. A jungle inside, plus a turquoise and warm sea otside. A candid zoo w fascinanting pieces, small pyramids, great food, 4 specialty restaurants, buffets all day around. Cleanliness, but most of all, warm and truly nice, helpful and willing to help staff, always smiling... That you can´t have everywhere (sometime even at your home!). I am delighted and I will be back, anytime. Thank you. also for the affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

TO XEL HÁ AND TULUM, AMAZING LESSONS IN HISTORY AND AN INCREDIBLE FUN SITE FULL OF WONDERS (XEL HÁ). VERY RECOMMENDABLE BOTH AND IN ONE TRIP FOR THE PRICE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JTEZY
Business
Omaha, NE
Nov 15, 2014

Great place to stay

From the moment we arrived to our check out everything was great. Our only issue was that the safe in the room was not left open so we had to have someone reset it for us. They handled this promptly and were there in less than 10 minutes to do this. The grounds are amazing, the bartenders knew us and our drinks by the end of the first night (we do tip). The cleaning staff were great and left the room in perfect order everyday. The beach was great with plenty of open seating and it was nice that to get a drink it was only about 50 ft away. The pool looked great although we didn't use it with the ocean being right there. The buffet food was ok, I always found things that were good, decent selection. On our last night the even had a fresh dorado (mahi mahi or dolphin) that I indulged in and made fish tacos with. The Japanese restaurant was my favorite of the finer dining restaurants. I loved the tile that ran through the lobby and our rooms, it looked great!! I don't have any negative comments except about the ATM which I'm putting in the tip section.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The ATM at the hotel charges you a 10% change fee because it gives you dollars instead of pesos plus a $5.80 service charge. I would have just preferred pesos but wasn't given that option. Use a different ATM in town or somewhere else!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Die Traveler
Business
Salt Lake City
Oct 20, 2014

Good experiance

Wonderful time at this resort and excellent staff with good meals, easy to get around well organized. We spoke with many people that have been returning for their 2nd and 3rd times and extending their stays longer, because they enjoyed it so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

When going in town to Playa be aware that the local vendors see your wrist bands and will say I was your waiter last night at the Iberostar but that is untrue and a way to get you into their stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top