$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
123 reviews
Long overdue vacation

This whole hotel experience was exceptional. The staff was always attentive to our needs. Food was... See full review

  • Paula
  • Aug 20, 2015
Family Vacation

This hotel far exceeded our expectations. The grounds were beautiful, and the staff was overly... See full review

  • Kayla
  • Aug 19, 2015
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Rooms

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Property features

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Highlights
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Nearby attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)

Top hotels

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite with 2 double beds or 1 king bed, private balcony with garden or jungle view, AC, ceiling fan, mini bar stocked every other day with beer, soft drinks and bottled water. Room service from 11am to 11pm. Flat screen TV, alarm clock, digital safe, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. Bathroom with vanity sink and shower.Total area is 409 sq. ft.
Ocean Front Junior Suites
Junior Suite with 2 double beds or 1 king bed, private balcony with oceanfront view, AC, ceiling fan, mini bar stocked every other day with beer, soft drinks and bottled water. Room service from 11am to 11pm. Flat screen TV, alarm clock, digital safe, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. Bathroom with vanity sink, shower. Total area is 377 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JSBFamily
Family
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Very happy recent guests!

I normally HATE all inclusive resorts - but Iberostar has completely turned me around, at least when it comes to staying with them. The resort was incredible! They did a masterfully job of intertwining a five star resort with a jungle full of fascinating animals. As an avid traveler, I've never seen a place with the integration a nature jungle like this - loved it! Our only complaint was the very stiff beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Worth a night trip to Playa del Carmen for the shopping and people watching.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rosanna
Couples
New York
Aug 24, 2015

Good for the price

We had a good stay but it was nothing special. We went there for a wedding and it was nice. Beach was nice although a little dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paula
Couples
N/A
Aug 20, 2015

Long overdue vacation

This whole hotel experience was exceptional. The staff was always attentive to our needs. Food was plentiful and very good. The amenities plentiful and accessible My favorite part was walking through the jungle viewing the animals in their habitat while walking to the pool and beach area. One complaint is the lack of wifi accessibility. This was trying for me as I have children and grandchildren here at home and felt cut off from them. This should be addressed by the hotel ASAP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kayla
Family
Texarkana
Aug 19, 2015

Family Vacation

This hotel far exceeded our expectations. The grounds were beautiful, and the staff was overly helpful!! There are several restaurants to choose from including the buffet which is open until the wee hours of the morning. It was family friendly, but it still provided plenty of adult entertainment and excitement. All in all in would recommend this hotel in the future, and would even stay there again myself!! The only negative I could find would be that the beds and pillows are a little hard. I would just bring my own pillow form home next time to solve some of that, but other than that we loved the Iberostar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eatara
Family
mayfield Village
Aug 17, 2015

Family trip

Very family oriented resort. Not a party/dance place. Everything closes at 12am, except a very small sports bar. All the party is off the resort. There are plenty of activities for all children and a kids club where you can ditch your kid for a while to have a drink with the hubby. Located conveniently, easy to get a cab to town and back.( ~9$). We rented a car for a day and drove to see the pyramids and some cenotes !! GO SEE THE CENOTES!!!! One bad thing: we had ants in our room and got bit up. We didn't discover this till almost our last day so we didn't bother doing anything about it. But I think the staff would have been helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jerri
Family
N/A
Aug 7, 2015

Good family trip

Disappointed with restaurant reservations of 3 times for a 7 day stay. Had to eat at buffet 4 times. The rooms and facilities were well maintained and staff was friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JTEZY
Couples
Kansas City
Jul 17, 2015

Awesom

I absolutely loved this resort. From the time we arrived to when we departed it was spectacular. Beautiful landscaping, beach and the pool were great to hang out at. I could always find something to eat that I enjoyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vaca man
Family
AURORA
Jul 15, 2015

Great bang for your dollar

Well to start off we were really looking forward to the beach and we were very dissapointed. There was a ton of seaweed. But in the hotel's defense, this was not just where we stayed. It was throughout the Gulf due to prior storms. The resort was great for what we paid. The food was ok add the beds were not so comfy. Being close to 5th Ave in Playa Del Carmen was a huge plus. The staff was also outstanding. I could not have been happier with the team at our resort. Overall: me and my family have stayed at many resorts and this was not the greatest but for what we paid for, we were very happy. My kids had a blast and my wife and I got to go to downtown Playa very often. Kudos to the staff for a job well done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vaca man
Family
AURORA
Jul 15, 2015

Great bang for your dollar

My family and I have traveled many resorts in Mexico and even though this resort is not rated in our top reviews, we cannot rave enough of what we got for the price. Cons: beds are hard, food is ok, not a huge variety of food, drinks were ok not great, purees were kinda bad for frozen drinks. Pros: staff was excellent, pool bar was awesome, bartenders were a blast, pool was huge, location of being close to downtown Playa was great, rooms were clean, and the best feature was the mini rain forrest in the center of the resort! Lots of cool animals (peacocks, flamingos, tucans, lizards, monkeys, turtles, and some other unique animals.)Kids loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patrick V.
Friends
Ferndale
Jun 11, 2015

GREAT TIME

This resort was one of the best that I have stayed at. Staff was so nice and the place was super clean. I'm heading back to this place again this December to celebrate my 50th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J G.
Couples
N/A
May 31, 2015

FUN IN THE SUN

HOTEL WAS OK DID NOT LIKE THERE IDEA OF A MINIBAR, IT WAS A SMALL FRIDGE. FOOD WAS OK NOT GREAT, SWIM UP BAR WAS VERY SMALL & HIDDEN. VERY CROWDED BY POOL AT LUNCH TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top