$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
123 reviews
Long overdue vacation

This whole hotel experience was exceptional. The staff was always attentive to our needs. Food was... See full review

  • Paula
  • Aug 20, 2015
Family Vacation

This hotel far exceeded our expectations. The grounds were beautiful, and the staff was overly... See full review

  • Kayla
  • Aug 19, 2015
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Rooms

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Property features

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Highlights
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Nearby attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)

Top hotels

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite with 2 double beds or 1 king bed, private balcony with garden or jungle view, AC, ceiling fan, mini bar stocked every other day with beer, soft drinks and bottled water. Room service from 11am to 11pm. Flat screen TV, alarm clock, digital safe, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. Bathroom with vanity sink and shower.Total area is 409 sq. ft.
Ocean Front Junior Suites
Junior Suite with 2 double beds or 1 king bed, private balcony with oceanfront view, AC, ceiling fan, mini bar stocked every other day with beer, soft drinks and bottled water. Room service from 11am to 11pm. Flat screen TV, alarm clock, digital safe, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. Bathroom with vanity sink, shower. Total area is 377 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 123
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rosanna
Couples
New York
Aug 24, 2015

Good for the price

We had a good stay but it was nothing special. We went there for a wedding and it was nice. Beach was nice although a little dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paula
Couples
N/A
Aug 20, 2015

Long overdue vacation

This whole hotel experience was exceptional. The staff was always attentive to our needs. Food was plentiful and very good. The amenities plentiful and accessible My favorite part was walking through the jungle viewing the animals in their habitat while walking to the pool and beach area. One complaint is the lack of wifi accessibility. This was trying for me as I have children and grandchildren here at home and felt cut off from them. This should be addressed by the hotel ASAP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JTEZY
Couples
Kansas City
Jul 17, 2015

Awesom

I absolutely loved this resort. From the time we arrived to when we departed it was spectacular. Beautiful landscaping, beach and the pool were great to hang out at. I could always find something to eat that I enjoyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J G.
Couples
N/A
May 31, 2015

FUN IN THE SUN

HOTEL WAS OK DID NOT LIKE THERE IDEA OF A MINIBAR, IT WAS A SMALL FRIDGE. FOOD WAS OK NOT GREAT, SWIM UP BAR WAS VERY SMALL & HIDDEN. VERY CROWDED BY POOL AT LUNCH TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt H.
Couples
minneapolis
Apr 10, 2015

Vacation

The hotel entertainers were by far the best part of the hotel. The pool isn't as great as it looks in the pictures and the swim up bar is completely secluded from the main pool area. But, the entertainment the resort put on was a lot of fun and they did a lot to get everyone involved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAD.386
Couples
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

First trip to Mexico

Hotel was great, beach was beautiful. Rooms were clean and staff was excellent. Very easy to book and just enjoy the vacation. Felt very safe. Only downside - food was not excellent, but definitely passable and always plentiful. Bars/drinks were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tina and J
Couples
Minnesota
Nov 21, 2014

Wonderful stay at Iberostar food is ok

The food needs improvement. .Amazing location on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JTEZY
Couples
Omaha, NE
Nov 15, 2014

Great place to stay

From the moment we arrived to our check out everything was great. Our only issue was that the safe in the room was not left open so we had to have someone reset it for us. They handled this promptly and were there in less than 10 minutes to do this. The grounds are amazing, the bartenders knew us and our drinks by the end of the first night (we do tip). The cleaning staff were great and left the room in perfect order everyday. The beach was great with plenty of open seating and it was nice that to get a drink it was only about 50 ft away. The pool looked great although we didn't use it with the ocean being right there. The buffet food was ok, I always found things that were good, decent selection. On our last night the even had a fresh dorado (mahi mahi or dolphin) that I indulged in and made fish tacos with. The Japanese restaurant was my favorite of the finer dining restaurants. I loved the tile that ran through the lobby and our rooms, it looked great!! I don't have any negative comments except about the ATM which I'm putting in the tip section.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The ATM at the hotel charges you a 10% change fee because it gives you dollars instead of pesos plus a $5.80 service charge. I would have just preferred pesos but wasn't given that option. Use a different ATM in town or somewhere else!

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Playa lady
Couples
Morgan hill
Sep 14, 2014

Excellent

Had a great trip room clean and comfy beach is best ever and food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Perry
Couples
Louisiana
Aug 1, 2014

Great first time in Mexico!!!

This was our first time to vacation in Mexico, wow what an experience!!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Iberostar Tucan while we were there. If you are looking for a bigger kid friendly resort then you have found it. The staff was always courteous and extremely helpful. So here goes, the Pros and Cons! Pros - Wonderful service, and courteous staff. Lots of activities to do at resort, never have to leave. Water was beautiful, and great location. The adult swim up bar was nice. The Japanese restaurant was amazing, wish we could have booked one of the others. Finally, the amazing jungle with animals in the middle of the resort. Pools were always beautiful and clean. Cons - Only got Reservations for one night out of four to one of the 6 restaurants that were available other than the buffet restaurants. Beach was kind of dirty with cig butts scattered about. Would not be a good intimate setting for a couple, lots of kids while we were there. Had to pay extra for WIFI so we could use our cell phones without getting expensive text charges. Overall we had an amazing time at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Also the Tulum/Jungla Maya tour was the highlight of the trip. It is pricey but we'll worth it. This can be scheduled at the hotel and if you do the tour ask for Jose as your guide!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Tulum / Jungla Maya adventure

Back to menu Return to top