$203 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
102 reviews
Wedding Anniversary

We had a great vacation at Iberostar Tucan resort. The food was excellent. The staff was very... See full review

  • Boston Steve
  • Jun 23, 2014
The Staff are Awesome!

The staff is what makes this hotel a great place to stay. Zumba on the beach with Maricio was the... See full review

  • CSI GIRL
  • Jun 11, 2014
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Hotel Map

20.6028 -87.092
Area served
Playa del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Directly on the fine-sand beach of Playacar, in Riviera Maya, Mexico. Approximately 45 minutes away from Cancun International Airport and just a few minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 102
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Perry
Louisiana
Aug 1, 2014

Great first time in Mexico!!!

This was our first time to vacation in Mexico, wow what an experience!!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Iberostar Tucan while we were there. If you are looking for a bigger kid friendly resort then you have found it. The staff was always courteous and extremely helpful. So here goes, the Pros and Cons! Pros - Wonderful service, and courteous staff. Lots of activities to do at resort, never have to leave. Water was beautiful, and great location. The adult swim up bar was nice. The Japanese restaurant was amazing, wish we could have booked one of the others. Finally, the amazing jungle with animals in the middle of the resort. Pools were always beautiful and clean. Cons - Only got Reservations for one night out of four to one of the 6 restaurants that were available other than the buffet restaurants. Beach was kind of dirty with cig butts scattered about. Would not be a good intimate setting for a couple, lots of kids while we were there. Had to pay extra for WIFI so we could use our cell phones without getting expensive text charges. Overall we had an amazing time at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Also the Tulum/Jungla Maya tour was the highlight of the trip. It is pricey but we'll worth it. This can be scheduled at the hotel and if you do the tour ask for Jose as your guide!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Tulum / Jungla Maya adventure

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Steve
Florida
Jun 23, 2014

Wedding Anniversary

We had a great vacation at Iberostar Tucan resort. The food was excellent. The staff was very accommodating and the rooms were very clean. There were plenty of activities to keep us busy all day long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

If a restaurant is fully reserved in the computer the individual restaurants will sometimes allow walk in guests

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EDP123
Rhode Island
Jun 16, 2014

Great Vacation

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed this place! The location was great and they had a lot of things to do during the day. The beach and pool areas were very well maintained. The food was decent in the buffets while the restaurants were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CSI GIRL
Texas
Jun 11, 2014

The Staff are Awesome!

The staff is what makes this hotel a great place to stay. Zumba on the beach with Maricio was the highlight of each day. The hotel is located right on the beach, but to get there you must pass through the jungle with live monkeys and peacocks! So much to see and do. The only complaints are that the lighting in the rooms could be better and the food was just OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Elizabeth Z
Chicago, IL
Jun 3, 2014

Three Day Stay

Our stay at this hotel was basically a disaster, they weren't able to honor our king bed request and told us none were available so sent us to a double bed room. The room they checked us into was actually still dirty and hadn't been cleaned. They also forgot to give us our towel cards and wrist bands at check-in so we were turned away from the pool and the restaurants when we tried to eat and then had to explain our situation multiple times to multiple staff members before it was resolved. Then all of a sudden a king room magically became availabe so we had to re-pack all of our items and move to a new room. When we asked to speak with a manager, he was late to our meeting and gave us plenty of execuses for the items. He assured us the hotel would make it up to us - their idea of this was bringing a bottle of champagne to our room at 10:30pm, waking us up. This is the same champagne that we could drink for free at any of the restaurants or bars for our "all inclusive" value. Please don't give us something that is already free to make it up to us. I was fully expecting a free spa service for my husband and I and the hotel fell flat on this - very disappointed. We will never stay at an Iberostar again. On top of this, the rooms were dated, the hotel was dated, the reservation restuarants were partial buffets and the meals had funny times (full breakfast over by 10am and the full lunch didn't start until 1pm). The only redeeming quality was the service staff at the pools and restuarants. The manager and front desk staff are in need of customer service training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Reservation restaurants are partial buffets and the meals are at odd times - full breakfast ends at 10am and full lunch doesn't start until 1pm.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clough
Aurora, CO
May 27, 2014

Amazing!!!

My husband and I just spent 5 days at Iberostar Tucan. It was our 10year anniversary and honestly it couldn't have been better. The hospitality was way above par and accommodations were fantastic! We rate this hotel a 5. The only one complaint would be that they had a little bit better mattresses. We will be returning with our son at the end of the year. It was kid friendly and I liked to see that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to La Hacienda for dinner! Extremely worth it.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drstroud
Minneapolis, Mn
May 12, 2014

Very surprised by the hotel and service!

Check in was very easy and we were accommodated with a roll-in shower and wheelchair accessible room, as requested. (We also called hotel independently to ensure this was done). The food was a 7-8 on scale of 10; there was plenty of food. Lots of activities; pool area was great; and we had assistance every day to help my husband in/out of the pool from wheelchair. Dive shop guys were the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Excellent

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frosty226
Cleveland, OH
Jan 16, 2014

Paradise

Our stay at Iberostar Tucan/Quetzal was amazing. The beach is perfect, the pool is fantastic, and there is so much beautiful wildlife wandering freely about the grounds. The staff was also very friendly. We did a free scuba lesson in the pool, got our pictures taken with toucans and parrots by their photographers, and paid only $45 per person to go snorkeling with sea turtles and stingrays, which was awesome. My only real qualm, which is pretty minor, is the food quality. The buffets were pretty similar each day, and while they had a great selection, the quality was just ok. Reservations are required for the other restaurants and we often had to eat as late as 9:00 pm to get reservations. The Japanese restaurant and steak house were really great, though. Overall, it's a really stunning resort and we had a wonderful stay. Would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The shops around 5th Avenue in Playa Del Carmen are much cheaper than the ones at the resort, and worth a visit unless you want to spend $20 on sunblock or $40 on flip flops.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vassa
Vancouver, BC
Jan 3, 2014

Great hotel for an unspoiled tourist

The hotel is truly beautiful and has a true Yucatan spirit in my view. The landscaping is amazing - there is a beautiful jungle in the centre of the resort with lots of wildlife. The Playacar beach and ocean are amazing!! do not forget your snorkels - the artificial reefs are close by. The food was great and buffet menu did vary throughout the stay, unlike others experienced before. The room looked dated and in need for a renovation, but it did not bothered us at all. I will likely come to "Tucan and Quetzal" again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't buy anything in hotel's shops. A 35 minutes walk to Playa's 5th avenue and you can find way better deals.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ivanko
Syracuse, NY, USA
Dec 18, 2013

Good, lots of room for improvement.

The hotel and resort in all is pretty good. My wife and I go to a different resort with a group of friends every year. This resort was good, the beach was awesome, very clean and there was no rocks anywhere. The rooms were ok. The restaurants were pretty good but the buffets left a lot to be desired. The buffet menu was blah and it was the same thing everyday, got pretty boring. The food tasted good but I got tired of the save thing everyday. The drinks were good. Need more bars and snack bars through the day. Overall it was good for the price. Whatever you do don't fly US air, worst airline ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Book all restaurants you can. You can even go more than if you check for room on the day of.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search