$272 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2015 Check-out: Jul 24, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cobbikaze
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 30, 2012

A Great Resort

Well Maintained Resort, nice rooms - get a room on the top floor for better views. Beds are hard, they let you have an umbrella where you pick up your towels. Food Good - not Great. Employees very friendly and helpful. Located in Playacar, 5 minutes by taxi from Playa de Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the Steakhouse

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael39924
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Great Place

The staff and management of this hotel makes your visit as perfect as it gets. It is well worth the extra hour trip from Cancun airport to the hotel. I can't really find anything I didn't like about the place. This was truly awesome vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Umana
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Nice family atmofphere, we had a great time

We were a family of six and had a wonderful time. We specially liked the gounds. The hotel blend very nice with the jungle and wild life. The beach was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

V isit Scarett

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
disgruntled in USA
Business
DC
Jan 3, 2012

ripoff

Stay was pretty good until checkout. Then, front desk assessed a surprise $830 surcharge for teenage child. When we tried to reason with front desk manager Alejandro, he became aggressive and wouldn't let us leave the property until we paid this exorbitant outrageous $830 surcharge. Obviously, we are disputing it via travel agency and credit card company, but it definitely soured an otherwise enjoyable vacation experience. Because of this check-out, I wouldn't go to Iberostar again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bliggityncooter
Business
Delaware
Dec 21, 2011

First time in Mexico

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at the Tucan. The beach is wonderful. Never had a problem with lines for anything. Great staff. The only issue I had with the resort was the food and the lack of AC in some of the restaurants. I guess its part of the charm but I do not like to sweat while eating. If it werent for these issues, I would go back again. Planning a trip back to area for January. I will definitely try a different resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay closer to the Lobby area if possible. Long walk to buffets which is near the lobby

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dad1011
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Great family get away

My family had a great time especially on the wonderful beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

magic show was great

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ybavrg2
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Iberostar Playa

The hotel is walking distance to Playa Del Carmen, it takes about 20 minutes using the sidewalk or 45 minutes using the beach. Very clean, staff excellent food is above average and fesh with a large variety. Drinks are weak with no name alcohol being used. Iberostar in Dominican had top shelf available but not here???? Buy your own very cheap in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fusion a small bar n grill on beach in Playa great food, drinks and live bands nightly. Great place to hang out, people watch and then listen to music.

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Janx
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Dec 10, 2011

wonderful vacation

This resort exceded my expectations The grounds are absolutly beautiful, Very good, attentive service. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable Loved seeing the monkeys and turtles , birds and all the wildlife, Beach is also spectular Jan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

enjoyed the Mexican restaurant

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dos Cabrito
Business
New Hampshire, USA
Nov 13, 2011

AMAZING!

This is the place to go if you like wildlife! The Staff was excellent in every way. We were in paradise there. the Buffet food was the same everyday but had a huge selection and was very fresh. the hotel is 5 minute cab ride or 25 minute walk to downtown Plya del carmen. The whole area is extremely safe and We are going back there ASAP. Also we talked to alot of people who have been to many of the other allinclusive resorts in the area and the TUCAN is one of the best choices. I highly reccommend this resort to people of all ages. Altough we did not really participate in any there were plenty of activities going on all day free of charge. Have fun!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

5th avenue is 19 blocks of shops and restaurants you can get ANYTHING you could possibly want except for dog collars. I reccommend buying Tequilla to bring home at Walmart 3 blocks off the strip it was 1/4 the price of what they sell downtown and bringing it back is not an issue 3 - Liters per person !!

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Burr
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Great Resort

The beach was beautiful and very calm. The staff was friendly and provided excellent service.The grounds were well kept and great jungle atmosphere with monkeys and peacocks roaming around. We mostly enjoyed the beach and had massages on the beach. The buffet and other food areas were wonderful. Only thing was we did not get to go to restaurants because we did not book early enough - so book as soon as you arrive. Rooms were very clean but beds a little hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top