$424 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
108 reviews
Honeymoon

My stay was wonderful at the iberostar! It was my honeymoon vacation, and it was the perfect spot!... See full review

  • Ashley d
  • Dec 20, 2014
AN INIMAGINABLE EXPERIENCIE

Impresive arquitechture, to start. A jungle inside, plus a turquoise and warm sea otside. A candid... See full review

  • EXIQUIO T.
  • Dec 20, 2014
All-inclusive Caribbean complex reflects beauty of its surroundings
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Highlights:
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Features:

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Apr 10, 2010

Great trip for kids from 15 years to 13m

Just back from great trip. Great staff, lots of food with good variety. La Hacienda was the best for a la carte meal. Japanese was ok, uxmal forgettable. Dive shop was awesome. Got our 15 year old certified and even the 10 yr old dove with us in Cozumel. Great babysitting service. Beds really hard!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Xel Ha. Great day

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hurand
Business
POland
Apr 5, 2010

Tucan

Everything was great. We realy enjoyed the stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papa'
Business
E.C, WI
Mar 6, 2010

Vacation Reality

Check-in & check-out staff were just matter of fact. Most of all other service staff e.g. wait staff, gardeners, bar tenders, housekeepers all very welcoming, friendly, helpful. Our housekeeper was the very best & she went out of her way to provide additional linens, towels, soft-drinks when we all became ill for 2 entire days. I discussed our illness with the hotel doctor (3 of our family are medical professionals). I had found several other guests who were also ill at the same time as we were. According to this doctor, the GI illness was probably viral, due to food handling, not the water. However, we only ate & drank at this hotel. Other than our illness, the getaway was worth the economic cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Small pueblo & shops near hotels had great merchandise & reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 28, 2010

Banana margs & guacamole in paradise!

My stay at the Iberostar Quetzal was wonderful and had all the elements of a great vacation: lots of drinks, dancing, beach time, pool time, entertainment and food! The Star Friends team (the people who are there to entertain you) are really good at their jobs; they learned our names, remembered details about us, and they sought us out to go dancing or join in the activities. The whole crew were excellent entertainers as well and the shows they put on each evening had really high production value. One of the Star Friends is the break dance champion of Mexico, so he was especially cool to watch. My friend and I found the food to be quite good, especially the guacamole (I ate it at almost every meal, including breakfast) and the papas fritas down at the beach grill. We were given just one guaranteed reservation for the a la carte restaurants for our four night stay, but we managed to charm our way into two more so we ate at the a la carte restaurants three out of four nights. We ate at the Italian, Mexican and Japanese restaurants and they were all delicious. The beach and pool were stunning! The beach has just been redone and was wide and clean. While the pool isn't heated the water temperature was still totally acceptable when the sun was shining or we'd just wrapped up playing ping pong. The swim-up bar was a lot of fun with everyone talking to everyone and enjoying the drinks. The rooms were fine and the beds were in fact quite hard. We didn't sleep late despite being at the dance club until at least 2 AM each night (it was great!) and we couldn't figure out why really. It might have been a combination of the hard beds and the birds, but we didn't mind. They really do have top shelf liquors at both the auditorium bar and the lobby bars, and the banana margaritas were fantastic, as were the banana daquiris. Mimosas a breakfast and Bailey's in your afternoon coffee--who doesn't like that?! The grounds were incredibly well kept and we saw a lot of wild life: flamingos, peacocks, swans, turtles, iguanas, etc. The whole place made you feel like you were in the rain forest. In the end the best measure of a trip is whether I would go back, and I would definitely go back again to the Tucan & Quetzal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We used Cancun Shuttle for our airport transfer and got a private car for $105 round trip for two people, which was far cheaper than what the hotel offered.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kalamazoo Michigan
Feb 13, 2010

Great service wonderful vacation

We always experienced a friendly hardworking staff. The resort is very clean, food at the buffets was good not gourmet but you are not paying for gourmet. The beach is incredible and the entertainment staff works hard to keep everyone busy if you wanted to be involved in daytime activities. The shows at night were fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great selection of souvenirs at the plaza down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brewstermania
Business
New York
Feb 10, 2010

Great family getaway

The hotel overall is great. Good food, good drinks, friendly staff. It's conveniently located. Only 45 minutes from Cancun airport. I can't think of anythig negative about this hotel. We had a great time and definitely come back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
O'Ms
Business
Chicago, USA
Jan 22, 2010

Very Nice Place

Very friendly staff. Great grounds. No lines. Little waiting for things. Low-key European travelers, seemed family-friendly. Food was diverse and plentiful, but not necessarily great. You can hang by pool or by the beach--near the activities or find a quiet spot--plenty of all types. Short, cheap cab ride to very cool town of Playa Del Carmen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you get bored there are plenty of things to do in the area. Please take advantage of the great reefs there and do some snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
There are better places than Mexico
Business
Canada
Jan 10, 2010

Iberostar Tucan

Everything was average but the food quality was very poor. There are better places to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You can take a taxi to town for 50 pesos and do some shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top