$248 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clarkston,MI
Apr 12, 2011

It was a great escape

We stayed at this hotel for seven days in April 2011. Weather was wonderful. When we got there, our room was ready. Receptionist gave us a room which was very close to the beach and pool. Room was very comfortable and cleaning was good. Minibar was always full. We tried all Ala carte restaurants. Japanese was the best. There was an actual show. Main restaurants and Beach bars had enough food and drinks all the time. Beach was wonderful!!! We never stayed at the pool area. We love ocean and play with the waves. Shows at night was nice. Mexican folk dances were so interesting. If you stay there on Friday night, don't miss it. The worst thing was there was no free internet. They were charging 36 pesos for 15 minutes! The next door was Riu hotel and internet was free in the lobby in Riu. There was a Starbucks cafe in a shopping area where located ten minutes walk away, and internet was free there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xel-Ha is natural aquarium. If you like diving and snorkeling , you can spend one day there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Jan 15, 2011

Iberostar Tucan

The hotel grounds and beach were beautiful. Our children enjoyed seeing all the animals in the hotel's "jungle"- coatamundi, iguanas, agoutis, howler monkeys, flamingos, and more. The food in the buffets was fine - nothing spectacular but plenty of choices for picky children. We did not try the other restaurants because the buffet was easier with young children The rooms are okay - very clean if not luxurious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The swimming pools were on the cool side as was the weather for much of our stay. It was windy, rainy, and cooler than we expected. Overall, we had a good time, and I would recommend this hotel to others, especially if traveling with young children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pieio
Business
los angeles, CA
Jan 6, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

best food ever-and Im italian and picky- if you love nature and animals then you will fall in love with this hotel where you can watch moneys from 2 feet distance feeding on hotel trees or local "seretes" (like rabbits but with short ears)walking and playing on the hotel endless grass areas. Many more local species of wild animals and several species of birds share the trees and grass of the hotel. Entertainment group is friendly and the nite mini shows are good and sometimes very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

breakfast and lunch at the two main restaurants -Tulum and Cozumel- are the best choices: much better food selection, service and settings than the other restaurants of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston ma
Dec 26, 2010

great vacation

beautiful beach, friendly staff, food very ordinary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great to have a small shopping center within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Z
Business
McAllen, Texas
Dec 23, 2010

Jungle Paradice with a beach

I loved this resort. The natural setting was like living in a combined nature park and aviary. Eating at the buffet that had a waterfall and pond with a pair of swans and other waterfowl was delightful. The food and beverage service was outstanding!!! At 10:30 PM a live 7 piece band from Cuba with 3 singer played great Caribean-Latin-Afro dance music. The deserts were a cut above other all-inclusive resort I visited. I'm going back and highly recommend this resort. Playacar is a upscale Mexican and nice to walk around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Two one hour massages for $43 US about 1.5 miles from the resort. My wife and I had 3 massages during our 4 day stay. The massages were very good. The facility was clean and private.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
working grany
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 19, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

We had our 10 nights vacation on December 7. It was the best experience ever. Check in was done in minutes. Room was very clean and fresh with welcome fruit basket. We felt welcome there. Food was very good in the buffet restaurants us well us a la'carte which we made reservation for diner without extra charge for anything. Beach was nice, clean with lots of shadow. Jungle in the middle of resort was awesome. Weather was not so good so: very windy and temperature lower than we expected. Show was not very high quality so we didn't attend them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ACY22
Business
Sarnia, Ontario
Dec 13, 2010

Iberostar Tucan

Beautiful hotel, beautiful beach, great staff, not so good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Dec 12, 2010

Decent!

The hotel has a great location - near playa del Carmen, beautiful beach! Ambience is good at arrival and the facilities are good, not the best but decent. Rooms are average, i like a hard bed so I was ok, but friends said they felt like they were sleeping onnthe floor! In my opinion it's a 3 star experience, buffets and all inclusive foods are average. Drinks are usually low value liquors unless you specifically ask for Jack Daniels. Been to the moon palace in Cancun and it far exceeds this hotel and better value for money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

5th ave has a great atmosphere ~ dining, shopping etc. Check out some of the local food - don't be afraid to try some of the restaurants that look like dives, because the food and flavors were phenomenal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnipeg, MB Canada
Dec 10, 2010

an absolutely delightful experience

When I planned my trip I chose this hotel because of the location, resort size and brand reputation, and a pleasant bonus was the special price promotion that was being offered. I expected the hotel to be nice and have good service that I associate with the name, but my expectations were exceeded. The rainforest environment that is present on the property is simply breathtaking and all the birds and animals in the environment are so beautiful to see. I was so impressed with this and could not get enough. The resort is very clean and well maintained and the staff are happy to be there and it is obvious. I found it to be a quiet resort with no roudy behaviour which was quite pleasant. It would not be the place to go if you were looking to party day and night. The hotel was full to capacity during my stay but it was not noticable because there are so many restaurants, bars, staff, etc. I do have a few complaints, eventhough the overall stay was fantastic. There was a lack of hot water in the room and over the course of the week I did not ever have water that felt more than warm at any time of day. There also is only a shower in the room and I would have liked to have the option of taking a bath. The internet service was not free and was quite frustrating to use but that is probably more to do with the internet provider than the hotel. The Wi-Fi in the lobby (also not free) did not work on my i-Pad and a few other guests had the same problem trying to use theirs so it appears they need to upgrade their browser. These things were a bit of an irritant but will not affect my decision to stay here again in the future. I was very sad to leave and already looking forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

A la carte retaurants are really good and you need to reserve early to get a seating during the early evening if you don't want to miss the show which begins at 9:30

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edison NJ
Nov 23, 2010

Near Perfect

We had a great time at Iberostar Tucan. The Staff could not do enough for you. The grounds and beach were beautiful. The food was very good. The food quality of the food at the restaurants was the same as the buffets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the collectivo's if your traveling more than 5 mile they are cheap safe and fast. Plus you get to meet the locals

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top