$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Avenida Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
118 reviews
Awesom

I absolutely loved this resort. From the time we arrived to when we departed it was spectacular.... See full review

  • JTEZY
  • Jul 17, 2015
GREAT TIME

This resort was one of the best that I have stayed at. Staff was so nice and the place was super... See full review

  • Patrick V.
  • Jun 11, 2015
The Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal complex combines two all-inclusive resorts in one. The complex is located 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and is near Playa del Carmen. The complex boasts tropical jungle gardens, seven restaurants, including two buffets, seven bars and lounges, lake pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and an adult-only swim-up bar with waterfall. The large stretches of white sand and beautiful turquoise waters make the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal a spectacular place to soak up the sun.
Rooms

Expect brightly colored, airy rooms with traditional Mexican furnishings and fabrics at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Cool tile floors and full length sliding glass doors open out to a private balcony or terrace. Each hotel has a total of 350 rooms distributed in contemporary three-story buildings. All rooms at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal feature one king size or two double beds, fold-out sofa bed, cable TV, Internet access (fees apply), daily room service from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., stocked mini bar, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit boxes and full bathrooms.

Property features

Kids at the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal have a blast at Lucy's Mini Club where trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during daily activities and entertainment. Non-motorized water sports including kayaking and snorkeling are available in the pristine coral reefs of the Mayan Riviera. For a charge, guests at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal can take a personalized scuba tour. 

Highlights
  • Two resorts in one
  • Adults-only swim-up pool bar
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Nearby attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business
  • Convention center (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)

Top hotels

Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard room offers one king or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, internet access - at cost, room service / 11:00 am - 11:00 pm, balcony / terrace, iron / ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ceiling fan, laundry service - at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar, ensuite / private bathroom, mini refrigerator, hairdryer.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite with 2 double beds or 1 king bed, private balcony with garden or jungle view, AC, ceiling fan, mini bar stocked every other day with beer, soft drinks and bottled water. Room service from 11am to 11pm. Flat screen TV, alarm clock, digital safe, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. Bathroom with vanity sink and shower.Total area is 409 sq. ft.
Ocean Front Junior Suites
Junior Suite with 2 double beds or 1 king bed, private balcony with oceanfront view, AC, ceiling fan, mini bar stocked every other day with beer, soft drinks and bottled water. Room service from 11am to 11pm. Flat screen TV, alarm clock, digital safe, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. Bathroom with vanity sink, shower. Total area is 377 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00 Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00-Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Buffet Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Lunch: 13:00 - 15:00, Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Steak House - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30, Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Italian - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Japanese - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Mexican - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.
Tropical - A la Carte Restaurant
Hours of Operation:Dinner: 18:30 - 22:30.Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed.Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
best bady
milwaukee,wi
Jun 30, 2013

excelent famaly getaway

location,food,intertatement,staff-exelent.place-peredice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JTEZY
Business
Kansas City
Jul 17, 2015

Awesom

I absolutely loved this resort. From the time we arrived to when we departed it was spectacular. Beautiful landscaping, beach and the pool were great to hang out at. I could always find something to eat that I enjoyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vaca man
Business
AURORA
Jul 15, 2015

Great bang for your dollar

Well to start off we were really looking forward to the beach and we were very dissapointed. There was a ton of seaweed. But in the hotel's defense, this was not just where we stayed. It was throughout the Gulf due to prior storms. The resort was great for what we paid. The food was ok add the beds were not so comfy. Being close to 5th Ave in Playa Del Carmen was a huge plus. The staff was also outstanding. I could not have been happier with the team at our resort. Overall: me and my family have stayed at many resorts and this was not the greatest but for what we paid for, we were very happy. My kids had a blast and my wife and I got to go to downtown Playa very often. Kudos to the staff for a job well done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vaca man
Business
AURORA
Jul 15, 2015

Great bang for your dollar

My family and I have traveled many resorts in Mexico and even though this resort is not rated in our top reviews, we cannot rave enough of what we got for the price. Cons: beds are hard, food is ok, not a huge variety of food, drinks were ok not great, purees were kinda bad for frozen drinks. Pros: staff was excellent, pool bar was awesome, bartenders were a blast, pool was huge, location of being close to downtown Playa was great, rooms were clean, and the best feature was the mini rain forrest in the center of the resort! Lots of cool animals (peacocks, flamingos, tucans, lizards, monkeys, turtles, and some other unique animals.)Kids loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patrick V.
Business
Ferndale
Jun 11, 2015

GREAT TIME

This resort was one of the best that I have stayed at. Staff was so nice and the place was super clean. I'm heading back to this place again this December to celebrate my 50th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J G.
Business
N/A
May 31, 2015

FUN IN THE SUN

HOTEL WAS OK DID NOT LIKE THERE IDEA OF A MINIBAR, IT WAS A SMALL FRIDGE. FOOD WAS OK NOT GREAT, SWIM UP BAR WAS VERY SMALL & HIDDEN. VERY CROWDED BY POOL AT LUNCH TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevin C.
Business
N/A
May 2, 2015

our overalll experience was amazing.

overall it was amazing, from the jungle theme with the monkeys and other wild life to the great evening shows, the staff we at the top of their game from the cleaners to the entertainers, our favorite was Rosie our waitress at the loby bar. our experience with Rosie is enough to make us want to come back. we had two small issues not even worth mentioning but they were fixed very quickly with our room. My twelve year old mentioned that it would have been nice to have a taco night, other than that the food was also amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melissa A.
Business
Isle
Apr 23, 2015

Family and Friend Trip

Overall we enjoyed our stay. The beach and pool were the best part. I have to say the food was a huge disappointment, the only time we really enjoyed the food was the steakhouse restaurant. The rest were soso. Our room was really musty smelling and we asked 2 months earlier to be on the same side if not together with the 8 of us, however we were all over the place. Also not having WiFi without a charge is a big negative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt H.
Business
minneapolis
Apr 10, 2015

Vacation

The hotel entertainers were by far the best part of the hotel. The pool isn't as great as it looks in the pictures and the swim up bar is completely secluded from the main pool area. But, the entertainment the resort put on was a lot of fun and they did a lot to get everyone involved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane S.
Business
QUINCY
Mar 26, 2015

Reliable Iberostar standards

Great beach and easy walk to PDC. I ate only at the buffets and always found something good - grilled chicken and fish. I have stayed at many Iberostar resorts and this one was the same quality and style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennifer C.
Business
Caroga Lake
Feb 24, 2015

Winter Getaway

The Iberostar was a great hotel to vacation at. The staff was very friendly and everything was really clean. The food was good, but I wouldn't say great. I thought the drink quality was very good, not watered down like some places. There were a lot of different animals around the resort such as monkeys and peacocks that were fun to watch. The pool area is very nice and there are ample amounts of chairs at the pool and the beach. Unlike other places where you have to get up extremely early and "reserve" your chairs, the atmosphere at Iberostar is much more relaxed. I also had a massage and it was wonderful, probably the best I've had. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top