$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Hotel Las Palapas by Mahekal

3 stars
Av 34 Norte Con 5a Av y Zona Federal Maritima, ZONA FEDERAL MARITIMA, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
13 reviews
Be Flexible and Enjoy This Paradise

We're so happy that we discovered this little slice of paradise. It took some time for them to get... See full review

  • D n A
  • Apr 8, 2014
playa del carmen getaway

Hotel las palapas has many good points if you re not into the huge all inclusive resort and want a... See full review

  • Suzen F
  • Jun 25, 2014
Welcome to Hotel Las Palapas, strategically located in Playa del Carmen on 5th Avenue, next to Mamitas Beach Club, and directly on a magnificent beach of white sand, turquoise sea and soft breeze among the palm trees.

Hotel Las Palapas committees in providing a unique and unrepeatable ambiance so during your vacation you can really relax and enjoy the Mexican Caribbean as never before. Enjoy the best beach in Playa del Carmen, sunbath on the soft sand, unique to this beach, enjoying the crystalline waters and the perfect weather to rest, as you have always wanted. Take some time to be in contact with nature and the exuberant vegetation in the ecological section of the hotel; fully 75% of the land is untouched and remains in its natural state, or simply head for the garden area and enjoy tropical gardens while resting in a hammock, being refreshed by the breeze from the Mexican Caribbean.

The services and facilities that Hotel Las Palapas offers you and the Mexican and cosmopolitan ambiance of 5th Avenue will make of your stay in Playa del Carmen a vacation to remember. The hotel also offers Library, Lobby & dry cleaning facilities.

Important Notes:
  • The hotel is located next to an event space hosting music festivals from November until January. Some noise disturbances are expected during this period.
  • The hotel charges compulsory gala dinner fee of $70 USD on 24 and 31 December 2014 per person, for guests 12 years old and above.
  • Hotel Map

    20.6335 -87.064
    Area served
    Playa del Carmen.
    Nearby airports
    Cancun International Airport(CUN).
    Area description
    Strategically located in Playa del Carmen on 5th Avenue, next to Mamitas Beach Club, and directly on a magnificent beach of white sand, turquoise sea and soft breeze among the palm trees.

    Hotel Las Palapas by Mahekal Rooms

    DELUXE JUNGLE VIEW
    Deluxe Jungle View Room offers King bed or 1 double beds.

    In Room Amenities:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Balcony / Terrace
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Ensuite / Private Bathroom
  • Hairdryer
  • Complimentary WiFi (Internet access)
  • Iron / Ironing Board
  • Laundry Service
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Safe in room
  • .
    Deluxe Jungle View Room features sitting area with covered Veranda and 2 Hammocks.
    GARDEN VIEW
    The Garden View Room offers King bed or 1 double beds.

    In Room Amenities:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Balcony / Terrace
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Ensuite / Private Bathroom
  • Hairdryer
  • Complimentary WiFi (Internet access)
  • Iron / Ironing Board
  • Laundry Service
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Safe in room
  • .
    . Garden View Room features sitting area with covered Veranda and 2 Hammocks.
    GARDEN VIEW PALAPA
    The Garden View Palapa Room offers King bed or 1 double beds.

    In Room Amenities:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Balcony / Terrace
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Ensuite / Private Bathroom
  • Hairdryer
  • Complimentary WiFi (Internet access)
  • Iron / Ironing Board
  • Laundry Service
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Safe in room
  • .
    . Garden View Palapa is locate in second floor, features sitting area with covered Veranda and 2 Hammocks.

    Amenities

    • Free internet
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Pet friendly
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Spa
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    Free internet

    Dining

    Acuario's Restaurant
    In the hotels main restaurant you start your day with a rich breakfast from the buffet. Dinner is a four-course meal with a selection of two to three Mexican or International dishes. Three times a week dinner is served buffet style with specialties from the Mayan, Caribbean and Mexican kitchens, always accompanied by live music. On Wednesdays, the buffet is served on the beach (weather permitting). And on Saturdays, the hotel serves most popular buffet: The Fiesta Mexicana, accompanied, of course, by a Mariachi band.
    Casa Club
    Lunch is served in Casa Club (the Club House). On the menu there are delicious international and Mexican dishes and snacks, and the little ones can choose from their own kid's menu. The bar at Casa Club serves exotic cocktails, cold beers and non-alcoholic beverages until midnight. A wide range of board games, billiards, table tennis and a library are provided for you to use.
    Beach Bar
    The beach bar is the place where people meet during the day to enjoy a drink under the swaying palm trees. Order your favorite drink, or let the hotels staff surprise you with their creations! You may also have your lunch at the beach bar while enjoying the wonderful view of the turquoise waters of the Mexican Caribbean across to Cozumel Island.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    0100

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (13)

    Ratings and reviews for Hotel Las Palapas by Mahekal

    Overall score

    3.8 / 5
    5.01.0
    13 out of 13
    Amenities:
    3.8
    Room cleanliness:
    4.2
    Hotel staff:
    4.2
    Room comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    4.8
    Value:
    3.8

    85% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Hotel Las Palapas by Mahekal

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Cecile20010
    Washington, DC, USA
    Apr 30, 2012

    Great quiet hotel by the beach

    Las Palapas is a great, quiet hotel by the beach. Staff is great, everything is clean and the food is pretty good - breakfast is excellent! The perfect place to relax, do some scuba diving in the excellent shop next door (cyan-ha). Only drawback is the music from the beach club next door (mamitas), but there is nothing hotel management can do. Luckily it is only a few hours in the afternoon, and usually the wind would blow the sound away from you at the beach.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Las Palapas by Mahekal

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Suzen F
    Clermont fl
    Jun 25, 2014

    playa del carmen getaway

    Hotel las palapas has many good points if you re not into the huge all inclusive resort and want a casual laid back atmosphere that doesn't just feel like more of what we have in the States, only different local: then Mahekal and Las Palapas may be just what you are looking for . There are plusses and minusues. Pluses----#1 the thatched roof palapas and the thicket of coconut grove jungle feel let you are definitely in an exotic locale. You have an individual hut as we had or you have either the downstairs or upstairs of a thatched roof hut. Always your own patio or balcony, equipped with hanging hammocks to rest in.All restaurants, bars, etc are all open air . The rustic charm of this place and ambiance , along with location is for me about the best in Playa Del Carmen.#2----Probably one of the biggest and best stretches of beach in Playa Del Carmen with lots of sunbeds and shade available #3----- truly incredibly wonderful staff. They go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. Also you are not just a number here to them because resort is much smaller than most.. Now the minuses: #1) Dinner is a little lack luster. I would prefer to eat in town. Waiters and staff are excellent hard workers, but dinner most nights I would rate at a 4 or 5 on a scale of 10. Breakfast and lunch are both 9 and 10's, but not dinner. #2) Our bed in the jungle view delux was very hard and I woke up sore a few nights. They need to upgrade mattress ot I will need to sleep in hammock next time! Bathroom we had though was lovely and spacious--------Overall, I would absolutely come back because the staff is the best . The stretch of beach is the best, the rustic charm makes me fell like I am really getting away to a beautiful exotic place, rather than a big hotel Breakfast and lunch were very good and we can t beat the price for what you get..Also, I know that after Dec 14' they will be doing renovation like they are to the sister property Mahekal next door. We had stayed last year at Mahekal and the beds were fine. The staff will try to accommodate you in any way they can.Hopefully replace mattress in many rooms.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    --Yal - ku lagoon. Only costs a few bucks to get in; much less than Xel Ha and 100 times less tourists. --Akumal beach if you snorkel there you will absolutely get to see and swim with the sea turtles. No need for tour. Just bring your mask out into the water. They are protected there.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Las Palapas by Mahekal

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    D n A
    Minneapolis, MN
    Apr 8, 2014

    Be Flexible and Enjoy This Paradise

    We're so happy that we discovered this little slice of paradise. It took some time for them to get us our room - it appeared that they were overbooked when we arrived, but they ended up upgrading our room for the entire week. In my mind it's inevitable to have a few bumps in the road, but the way the staff responded to those bumps was very impressive. We walked up & down the beaches of Playa, and of all the resorts THIS is the nicest beach, and it's by far the most compelling with its natural palm tree setting and hidden cabanas. The FOOD was amazing - you could be on a vegan diet, an Atkins diet, Weight Watchers, or just want to indulge in great food - and you would find that the menu has LOTS to offer. I'm gluten-free and eat a mostly paleo diet, and found that I had no problems finding plenty of wonderful options. We definitely plan on returning to Las Palapas.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Las Palapas by Mahekal

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Mcunnin777
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Jan 31, 2014

    We Will Be Back

    The Hotel Las Palapas recently merged with the hotel next to it, The Mahakel Beach Club to form one facility. THey will be closing for 3 month in May to refurbish both facilities and may open under a new name but what ever they call themselves it will be worth the stay. Great location, plenty of privacy and two meals a day included in the price of the room.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: In Hotel

    Trade one of your dinners for a lunch on the beach. Just tell them at the front desk before 12:00 noon on the day of.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Las Palapas by Mahekal

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Analye
    Gardena, california
    Sep 17, 2013

    Great vacations!!!!

    Beautiful hotel, everything you need to relax and enjoy the beach!!!! Helpful staff too..

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Las Palapas by Mahekal

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Super Guille
    San Salvador
    Aug 7, 2013

    Overrated for the price. Old hotel.

    Nice gardens but too old bedrooms and bathrooms for the price. Staff was not to friendly and took forever to get the room. Beach front is nice and location are the two things worth paying for. Photos in the web are not updated.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Great restaurants visited are Maiz del Mar for great seafood and The Glass Bar, italian, amazing wines and international food.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Las Palapas by Mahekal

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    fancy this
    new york
    May 28, 2013

    Peaceful + Relaxing

    I spent 7 days on the beach to get away from the city. The hotel is quiet with the exception of music from Mamita's. The property is lush and great. My few wishes of convenience to make my stay better: wifi in the rooms, a mini refrigerator and perhaps a phone to reception, the food at the hotel is pretty awful even though you get breakfast free. Staff was very helpful and gracious. Had a lovely quiet time on the beach enjoying the sea, breeze, massages and quiet time.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Great restaurants one block away on calle 38 away from most of the tourist spots on 5th ave.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Las Palapas by Mahekal

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    December in Mexico
    Us
    Dec 31, 2012

    Disappointed by low upkeep of hotel

    Within a 7 day stay, we had the following issues: the given key did not match the lock and no one knew why. Then the handle and lock were replaced and we were given a new key. Next day when we came to room from beach, the new key did not match again. Later we found out, they replaced it again, without telling us or providing us with the third, new key. The bathrooms are very poorly maintained. Our toillet backed up the first day, and we were told never to flush toilet paper. All paper was supposed to be thrown into a garbage basket (without a liner, really?)....in addition the toilet seat was broken, the shower door could not close, making the bathroom completely soaked with each shower. Also, in spite of the beautiful beach in front of hotel there is very little room to enjoy as the hotel allows ( I guess for extra revenue) anyone that gets a drink there to spend the day. I guess this is a known detail so families up to 20 people ( not from the hotel) would spend the day at the beach sipping a water....the hotel looks very quaint but in our view there are many other and better options to enjoy...

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Lots of great restaurants nearby -no reason to eat at hotel...

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Las Palapas by Mahekal

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Calvin12
    Texas
    Dec 5, 2012

    Great Relaxing Getaway!!

    The staff was very nice! The food was as well. You can't beat this location for the price! It doesn't feel like a huge resort and its peaceful but you are a quick walk from the shopping and restaurant district. If you are looking for fancy this is not it, but its not low quality either! I will come back to this place! One thing! Do Not Leave Personal Belongings in Front Porch Area!! My tennis Shoes were stolen overnight. But nothing inside the room. So housekeeping was great! Breakfast Buffet is a Must! Concierge was very helpful! So Was the wait staff! TIP!!!! Many people complain and complain about service but NEVER tip! I got Fantastic service! (not a coincidence) Walked over to 5th ave to shop around and eat at some of the local restaurants. Don't Stay Too Late! come back by sunset. No TV's in the rooms is really nice! Bring Books or get one from their library or Bring your laptop cause there's free wifi all rooms at hotel. If you like to drink on the beach you can order drink by drink or just order a Bottle!! Easier and cheaper. Ask for specials at the spa! Their spa people are great at their job! I've stayed in many places around that area and I will go back to this one.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    When you shop on the 5th ave market area most smaller stores will haggle!! Do not pay ridiculous prices! Get back to the hotel by sunset.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Las Palapas by Mahekal

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Cecile20010
    Washington, DC, USA
    Apr 30, 2012

    Great quiet hotel by the beach

    Las Palapas is a great, quiet hotel by the beach. Staff is great, everything is clean and the food is pretty good - breakfast is excellent! The perfect place to relax, do some scuba diving in the excellent shop next door (cyan-ha). Only drawback is the music from the beach club next door (mamitas), but there is nothing hotel management can do. Luckily it is only a few hours in the afternoon, and usually the wind would blow the sound away from you at the beach.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Las Palapas by Mahekal

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    RBMC
    New York, NY
    Mar 11, 2012

    Great location for every activity

    Great for mix of beach front and town accessibility. Breakfast serving staff was exceptional and provided us with a pleasant start to each day. Our specific room request was accommodated upon our arrival. Gardens at a lovely beach and a short stroll to town hubbub.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    To get to nearby ruins, etc. (like Tulum), ignore the tour buses (unless you want a tour guide) and take the Colectivo on 20th Ave. & 2nd Norte.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top

    Change search