$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 24, 2014 Check-out: Oct 25, 2014

Hotel Cielo

3 stars
calle 4 entre 5ta y 10ma avenida, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
7 reviews
Vacation in Playa del Carmen

The people at the front desk were bilingual and very helpful. They went out of the way to make sure... See full review

  • MingKwong
  • Jul 12, 2014
Our favourite hotel in Mexico

We had an absolutely perfect stay at Hotel Cielo, and it really spoiled us for the rest of the... See full review

  • Cayley
  • Mar 15, 2012
Forget over-sized, overpriced resorts, Hotel Cielo is a boutique-style oasis of friendly charm and comfort. All 18 rooms are beautifully influenced by traditional Mexican decor and standard amenities create a relaxing, comfortable setting for an unforgettable experience.

Hotel Cielo's bright rooms offer colourful local dcor, tiled floors and a safe. Some rooms have a balcony with sea views. Toiletries and free beach towels are provided.

Snacks and meals are served in the Carboncitos bar-restaurant, located on the ground floor. It specializes in Mexican cuisine, including fresh guacamole made to order.

A wide range of shops, restaurants and bars can be found on Fifth Avenue, less than a minute's walk from Hotel Cielo. Nuestra Senora del Carmen Church is only 300 metres away.

Free Wi-Fi and cable TV are included in each air-conditioned room at this charming small hotel. Located just 150 metres from Playa del Carmen Beach, it has authentic Mexican-style dcor.

Important Note: Hotel public areas and rooms are non smoking.

Hotel Map

20.6285 -87.0798
Area served
Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Surrounded by the 5th avenue, just a block from the Caribbean beautiful sea.

Hotel Cielo Rooms

Standard Ground floor
Standard Ground floor with one double or one king bed includes Air conditioning, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board upon request, Laundry service and Safe in room. Beautifully influenced by traditional Mexican decor and standard amenities create a relaxing, comfortable setting for an unforgettable experience. Free WiFi, Complimentary Beach Towels (deposit required), Beach Club Discounts.
Standard Upper Floor
Standard Upper Floor with two double or one king bed includes Air conditioning, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board upon reques, Laundry service and Safe in room. Beautifully influenced by traditional Mexican decor and standard amenities create a relaxing, comfortable setting for an unforgettable experience. Free WiFi, Complimentary Beach Towels (deposit required), Beach Club Discounts.
Ocean View with Balcony
Ocean View with Balcony with one king bed includes Air conditioning, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board upon reques, Laundry service and Safe in room. Beautifully influenced by traditional Mexican decor and standard amenities create a relaxing, comfortable setting for an unforgettable experience. Free WiFi, Complimentary Beach Towels (deposit required), Beach Club Discounts.
Family Ocean view Balcony
Family Ocean view Balcony with one king and two single bed includes includes Air conditioning, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board upon request, Laundry service and Safe in room. Beautifully influenced by traditional Mexican decor and standard amenities create a relaxing, comfortable setting for an unforgettable experience. Free WiFi, Complimentary Beach Towels (deposit required), Beach Club Discounts.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Dining

Carboncitos
Right on the ground floor of Hotel Cielo, Carboncitos restaurant and bar offers more than just tacos. Sit down to a cold beer, great music and very tasty Mexican fare. Service is great, beer mugs are always frosted, and the guacamole is made to order fresh everyday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (7)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cielo

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 7
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cielo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess likes to travel
Birchwood, Tennessee
Oct 14, 2012

Great stay!

Hotel Cielo is right next to quinta avenida and two blocks to the beach! Wonderful location close to shops and restaraunts. Atm right on the corner which was very convenient. Room was average size with private bathroom. VERY clean. The bed was quite comfortable. You will get 50% off at breakfast next door at carboncitos and 10% off on lunch and dinner. It was delicious! The staff is very friendly and helpful with whatever you need! Miguel helped us look up our flight info, as there is no computer for guest use, but he was so great! He even booked us a taxi at 4am! If you are ok without all the frills of a modern hotel, this authentic hotel is just the ticket for your stay in Playa del Carmen!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel staff will give you a printout of restaraunts they recommend in the area. This was quite helpful as they recommend establishments off of 5th that are less expensive but just as good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cielo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MingKwong
Business
NYC
Jul 12, 2014

Vacation in Playa del Carmen

The people at the front desk were bilingual and very helpful. They went out of the way to make sure we are ok. LOCATION is excellent if you are not going to rent a car. On the down side, there is no table in the room. Flushing system in the toilet is kinda slow. There is no gym, no swimming pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cielo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess likes to travel
Business
Birchwood, Tennessee
Oct 14, 2012

Great stay!

Hotel Cielo is right next to quinta avenida and two blocks to the beach! Wonderful location close to shops and restaraunts. Atm right on the corner which was very convenient. Room was average size with private bathroom. VERY clean. The bed was quite comfortable. You will get 50% off at breakfast next door at carboncitos and 10% off on lunch and dinner. It was delicious! The staff is very friendly and helpful with whatever you need! Miguel helped us look up our flight info, as there is no computer for guest use, but he was so great! He even booked us a taxi at 4am! If you are ok without all the frills of a modern hotel, this authentic hotel is just the ticket for your stay in Playa del Carmen!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel staff will give you a printout of restaraunts they recommend in the area. This was quite helpful as they recommend establishments off of 5th that are less expensive but just as good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cielo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patty and Tom
Business
Huntington Beach
Jul 14, 2012

Great Character

After being in cancun for a few days we went to Playa to experince a slower world. Loved it!! The hotel had great character, the two rooms we reserved were good, one better than the other but memorable. The nicer one had a lot of windows and the other was facing a roof but it was ok, the only negative thing about it was the funky smell and that the restroom was not completely enclosed which made handling your business difficult with someone else in the room. I had to step out a couple of times during our stay to give him some confort room and he did the same for me, (this was for only one of the rooms). If you eat at the restaurant attached to the hotel for breakfast you get 50% off and the rest of the day 10%, they have very good service and the foosd is the best, also there is a 10% of the ice cream store right next to it. Hotel right in the hearth of the action and 1 small block away from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

When coming out of the hotel walk to the left than a right and look for the little bars with the swing seats, besides getting a beer you'll have fun swinging while drinking. Also try the 100% natural restaurant (only the juices) very good. the bread used for the sandwishes sucked, is one of the worst I have ever tried.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cielo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin Kelly
Business
Durango, Colorado
May 31, 2012

Excellent Value

If you are looking for a five star hotel with all the ammenities, staff that speaks perfect accent-free English, a room with a view (at least the room I stayed in), and solid wi-fi look elsewhere. HOWEVER, if you are looking for a great deal; friendly, accomodating staff, and clean rooms with spotty wi-fi, you've found the best hotel! I don't need all of the fancy stuff. I just need a clean room and friendly staff, and that's what I found at Hotel el Cielo. The staff where happy to give suggestions on where to eat and play. They were more than accomodating in this area, and that's what I really needed in this trip. Oh, and don't miss the roof-top gardens. They are unbeatable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The staff @ Hotel el Cielo suggested I take the collectivo to Akumal to go snorkeling. Not only is it half the price of the bus, it's faster, too! When you get there, don't buy the tour (they didn't do it for one person in my case, anyway). Rent snorkeling gear (with life vest so that you can spend more time in the water with less effort) and just walk off of the beach. I saw MANY sea turtles and tropical fish! All for $25 round-trip including snorkel gear and locker at the palapa!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cielo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vermie
Business
Neenah WI
Apr 15, 2012

Cute and Quaint

We enjoyed the simplicity, cleanliness and convenient location of Hotel Cielo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Romeos Italian

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cielo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cayley
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Mar 15, 2012

Our favourite hotel in Mexico

We had an absolutely perfect stay at Hotel Cielo, and it really spoiled us for the rest of the trip. Mind you, we did upgrade to the Room 11 suite, and it was 100% worth it. Our stay could not have been better. We loved that it had Mexican style decor, and was in a perfect location that was in the middle of it all, yet very quiet at night for a great sleep. The best part without a doubt was the staff, which were extremely friendly and helpful, with fantastic recommendations that made our experience in Playa unforgettable. Thank you! We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Alux (it's in the Lonely Planet) a restaurant inside a cave! Short cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cielo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jennavive00
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Adorable, authentic, amazing!

Hotel Cielo is an incredible place to stay if you want somewhere that feels very "Mexican". It's not your typical resort or posh hotel. The layout is really interesting, rooms are all unique, and the staff is very helpful and friendly. And the location is unbeatable. I would stay here again in a second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top